Photo: Headerpic2.jpg

 
Anne Springs Close Greenway
Trail Information
Nearest City: Fort Mill, SC
How to get there: I-77 South to exit 88 "Gold Hill Road, Tega Cay". Turn left off the ramp on new Fort Mill Bypass (no official name yet). Travel 5 1/2 miles to traffic light at Hwy 160. Turn right, then next right into Leroy Springs Recreation Complex. Trailhead is at the far back parking lot between the softball fields.
Trail Length: 7 - 9 miles
Trail Description: Singletrack, doubletrack, fire road trail that is very very nice. There's a couple of rock gardens in there as well.
Other Info: Pay $5.00 per bike. Stay off the equestrians trails! Check out the kiosk and trail map to get directions to the trails.

 

Review this trail


 

Trail Reviews

Date Ridden: 08/27/2017  -  FRSTMTG98 of MATTHEWS, NC
Route Taken: PARADISE LOOP TO ORIGINAL TRAIL A COUPLE OF TIMES
Opinions: THE NEW PARADISE LOOP IS FAST. GREAT FIRST COUPLE MILES WITH GREAT FLOW CONNECTING TO THE ORIGINAL TRAIL AT AVERY LAKE.OVER THE YEARS WE HAVE LOST THE DAIRY BARN WITH THE RAILROAD LINE, THE THREE KINGS AND NOW SUGAR. BUT, THEY DO A GREAT JOB ADDING NEW TRAILS AND WE LOOK FORWARD TO THINGS TO COME. THANK YOU!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/06/2017  -  Nealie of Huntersville, North Carolina
Route Taken: Prairie Loop
Opinions: First time at this greenway. WOW! What a cool place! We did the Prairie Loop with two adults and one 6-year-old. It was a great trail to up her skills and let her see what a true Intermediate trail entails. We loved riding next to the stream. We are looking forward to going back to this greenway and trying more trails. Grab a map and keep an eye out for the markings. Great place to spend a full day!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/20/2017  -  John Smith of Weddington, NC
Route Taken: Paradise Trail
Opinions: Great flow trail. Fast and fun and also a great trail for a child or a beginner (a few hills to climb)

It's a nice change in Charlotte to have a relatively smooth and flowy fun trail.

I'm glad Ann Springs stepped up and changed the trail system in order to make the trails better for the community and better for folks who can't or don't want to spend big bucks on a full suspension bridge.

I think they also need to have harder trails for those who want them. Have something for everyone.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/15/2017  -  Ted of Charlotte, Nc
Route Taken: Prairie-Mill-Paradise-Avery-Mill-
Opinions: I was really disappointed to find out the bulldozers took away Sugar and Schoolhouse. What remains is a wide single-track with little technical difficulty.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/01/2017  -  Dave B of Clover, Sc
Route Taken: School Loop East/West, Sugar Loop & Prairie Loop
Opinions: Road this trail many times recently. Great intermediate to advanced trails for any level of rider, especially for a beginner to work on there skills. School loop E & W have no set direction to ride & have some of the best signage around. I prefer to start on the E Loop and finish W loop because it seems to flow better that way. Prairie is at the end of the E loop, go past the bridge and its right around the corner. It is a nice flowy loop that adds that extra mile & what not on your School loop. Sugar loop is off the W Loop & I believe there are two ways to hop on 1 at the beginning and 1 mid way. Sugar loop was the most difficult, had many climbs & some descents. On my most recent sugar loop ride I heard rifle gunshots very close to me which was a little scary to be honest & at one point it sounded so close that I was pedaling my butt to get away from that area. But I am assuming someone lives nearby doing some target practice, still a little scary
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/03/2017  -  Norman Bonnette of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Sugar, School East, Prairie, School West
Opinions: This is my second year as a member of Springs and this also happened to be my baptismum into Mountain Biking. Over the last year I have seen a good bit of changes to the trails all to the better. I think Tarheel is doing a wonderful job keeping the trails enjoyable. This trail system is top quality with something for everyone unless you like jumps, there aren't any. I do believe a couple of opportunities to get some air would be wonderful, however the trails are great as they are. Plenty of roots, some rocks, some hills, nice down hills, beautiful trees, streams and wildlife. I have found the trail always fresh and willing to challenge me on any given day, if you get to comfortable beware, you in for a fall.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/04/2015  -  Christian of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: School Loop West to Prairie Loop to a section of School Loop East to Sugar Loop.
Opinions: I love the trails at the Greenway so much that I finally bought a yearly pass. The trails have continued to improve over the years. They recently widen the suspension trail bridge on the Prairie Loop. It makes riding the bike through there easier. It offers so much scenery: creek, mill and tunnels to name a few. Depending on which loops you take, the ride time and experience will change, so it does not get old! It really is a gem in Fort Mill.

Of course, there are things that can be improved upon. I find some of the turns too tight, especially when coming off one of the bridges. The roots are a bit more than in some places, but it just adds to the experience.

Other spots I have rode in: Renaissance Park (NC), Colonel Francis Beatty Park (NC), River Walk (SC), White Water Center (NC).

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/12/2015  -  Ppyo of Rock Hill, SC
Route Taken: Any possible way. I do all clock- & counterclockwise: Sugar, West School, East School, Prairie/Webb Pond Mill.
Opinions: Anne Springs, Sherman, and Lake Norman are (IMHO) the best trails in the area. I ride ASC frequently because I like it a lot and it's close by. Truly I can't understand people who complain about roots & rocks. That comes with the sport. It's mountain biking! Maybe they should stay on the road. Just my two cents. This trail is flowy and fun. It's great that this is a bidireccional trail, so you have great diversity, it never gets boring. It has everything for all tastes: Sugar Loop poses a challenge, with more technical parts. West is a great downhill(/uphill), with a nice rock garden that does not kill the joy. East is a great workout, and Prairie is awesome for beginners. Although it has a few wet spots, overall it drains well. Highly recommended. If the powers that be at ASC someday decide to increase the biking trails, it would become the perfect MTB site.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/22/2014  -  Russell of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All Clockwise
Opinions: This trail doesn't get enough credit because of it's political history and its disassociation with the trailblazers and maybe because of the fee.

However, this trail is great. There are a couple of mud bogs, especially the one on Sugar, but they've done a nice job "fixing" a few of them, but the terrain is very resilient to wear and has been great for a long time with little maintenance.

However the great part about this trail is how much fun it is. It pulls no punches. It's rooty and rocky in places, but it's never too much, never not fun and has a lot of variety. Each section has it's own flow. I like the initial downhill to the creek, the gradual climb to the first tunnel, the open air of the crossroads, the flow of the creek, the open air of the prairie loop and the technical fun of sugar. It's good either clockwise, counter and especially both.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/24/2014  -  Powerws of Matthews, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: I liked it, had my son with me and he had a difficult time due to his bike not being set up so we left early. I do like it because it is technical. Lots of climbing, but...... lot of fast decent. I like sherman and Frances. Frances is way too easy.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/14/2014  -  Amber of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Sugar Loop, School Loop East, Mill Pond, Prairie Loop, School West
Opinions: I like Sugar loop, Mill Pond and Prairie loop the most because they are for the most part, least rooty. The school loops in my opinion have a lot more rocks and roots and I just don't enjoy going over them. I like the dips, twisties, and smooth sections where you can get speed. Some people like the rocks and roots for whatever reason but I don't enjoy them. Mill pond is my favorite, and the Prairie loop is very easy for beginners.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/05/2014  -  Buzz6633 of Fort Mill, South Carolina
Route Taken: From Baseball field, School Loop West to School East
Opinions: I am a beginner, but I loved this trail even if in some points I had to get off the bike and walk, as I didn't have legs left. Roots are fine and I agree that some directions could be better exposed. Overall I think it is a nice trail to ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/22/2014  -  Mark of Ballentine, NC
Route Taken: School West / School East
Opinions: Having read the blog I was not sure about this trail, but I gave it a try because it is close (pun intended!) / easy to get to. I was pleasantly surprised. I understand the concerns about the roots, etc, but this is actually a great trail. Fun ride on declines and not too heavy on the inclide. You can get a thorough, fast, and enjoyable work out here. Met a couple of riders on the loop and they said the same. There are quite a few streams and small bridges around which makes for interesting scenary among all the trees (trails are heavily wooded). If you were discouraged by the blog comments, I strongly suggest giving it a go and hopefully you too will be pleasantly surprised.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/23/2013  -  Marcus of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: School East, Sugar, Trial (counter), School West
Opinions: Fun Trail. Rooty in spots, but overall fun ride
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/23/2013  -  Marcus of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: whole thing
Opinions: fun trail, but a bit rooty
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/23/2013  -  Bob of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: whole thing
Opinions: kinda rooty but fun!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/13/2013  -  Annonymous of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Everything
Opinions: I have ridden this trail for the past of 10 years and it is by far in the worst shape I have ever seen it. Although there have been recent efforts to fix the trail, the roots and rocks are more exposed than ever and its obvious many areas of the trail were under water during the heavy rains this past summer. Many areas are very sandy and others had significant washout. Its a shame they charge money for such a disaster. I certainly hope major work is done to cover up the ridiculous rooty areas and fix the screwed up sections of the trail so Springs will once again be a great trail as it used to be.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/27/2013  -  Brad of Tega Cay, SC
Route Taken: Sugar - Shcol - Praire - School
Opinions: This is a great trail and a great place to learn to slow it down and deal with the roots. Please Please Please don't get discouraged after your first ride, this place is a maze and takes a few to get your bearings. Once you have it figured out, it's not to bad, and it's a really convienent trail for us SC folks.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/01/2012  -  Justin of Charlotte, NORTH CAROLINA
Route Taken: All loops including Sugar Loop, School East and West, Prairie Loop
Opinions: Sugar Loop - Great intermediate trail. Starting from the baseball fields it is a nice start. It is a bit rooty, but well taken care of. There are some small to moderate drops at time.

School Loop West - My favorite trail when entering from the baseball fields. The in is fast and slightly technical. There are some spots towards the end that can get a little wet, but the trail support teams is great about re-routing around these usually.

Prairie Loop - This is a great beginner to slightly intermediate loop. It is short enough and has many open areas as well as some woods riding. If you are looking for a quick ride, park near the red trail barn (strawberry fields) and enter there for a fun, couple of laps.

Overall Anne Springs is one of my favorite trails in the area. Pay attention to trails else you can get slightly lost. You are never too far from roads, so if you do get turned around, just find a road to re- orientate yourself.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/23/2012  -  Mimi of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: ALL
Opinions: This was my first time riding at Anne Springs. I found it to be very rooty as others have posted here. It was pretty technical, however I like that challenge. My biggest complaint is the lack of signs. Easily lost and had to ask a couple of people how to get out. Not a fan of 2-way direction. I may ride again, but not my favorite trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/25/2012  -  Mark of Bessemer City, NC
Route Taken: school west to mill pond to prairie to mill pond to school east to sugar CC
Opinions: This trail i was a bit apprehensive to ride on because of the reviews I have seen earlier. This trail is AWESOME. You get a mix of everything. Technical, Flowing, roots, rocks, bridges, open prairie, tight single track . Personally it was awesome. rooty in spots but that added to the challenge. Definitely top 3 in the charlotte area
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/08/2012  -  Jayson of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: School loop W to Sugar to School loop E
Opinions: This route is more fun than the other direction. It's much faster and more fun rolling over the roots, still with a few climbs. This just became top three trail for me.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/07/2012  -  Jon of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: I hadn't ridden Annie since they rerouted everything and it's sad what she's become. She's still a fun ride (at the end of the day any ride is a fun ride) but I miss the first half of the old routing. What used to flow like a nice, long windy ride is now chopped up into nonsensical portions and a half lap on a gravel road covered with dog waste. If you're going to pay to ride go to the wwc.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/03/2012  -  Jayson of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: School Loop East to Sugar to School Loop West
Opinions: Great trail, lots of fun and full of challenges. This trail is loaded with roots and is by directional. Despite all the roots I didn't find it real hard and think a moderately experienced rider would be fine. I think the route I took was more up hill and the other way seemed more downhill, both ways should be fun, I'll repost when I go the other way.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/04/2011  -  Bruce of Lancaster, SC
Route Taken: all of them
Opinions: I hear people talk about the roots and the rocks all the time. What roots and rocks? These trails are some of the best techincal training trails in the Charlotte area and they are fast to boot!! I've taken beginners there and watched them mature into awesome riders. If you plan to go ride the NC mountains go to the Greenway first to train. $70.00 is a little steep for a lot of students to bare and if we are to pay a membership fee I would like to see some of the old trails reopened to add a little more length to the ride. Overall a blast!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/19/2011  -  Jon Harding of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Sugar Loop, School Loop, Mill Pond, Prarie Loop, and Stumpy Pond.
Opinions: Sugar Loop has the most amount of roots and has some tough rooted inclines. Some fast sections that are fun to cruise. Some cool historical points and nice bridges, which perhaps justify the $5 trail use fee. Avoid Sugar loop if you've got back problems like me.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/17/2011  -  Dave of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail with all options- 2 loops
Opinions: EXCELLENT! I've been riding USNWC, Sherman and Poplar Tent for 3 years and I've never been to these trails b/c of bad reviews and complaints of roots. What a mistake on my part. These trails are a blast. The roots at Anne Springs are challenging unlike the annoying roots at Francis B. Far more technical than Sherman or USNWC and probably even Poplar Tent overall. $5 to ride ($70 a year for a membership). Please STOP complaining about the cost of Anne Springs and USNWC ($40 for a year). Most people spend $5 on a beer in a bar and/or $70 for a dinner for 2 that lasts one hour. Nothing is free. Money well spent.

Granted, we can't have it all on one single trail, but only 2 recommendations would be 1.) signs (I know that has been beat to death), and 2.) more jumps and/or manmade stuff.

Overall- very impressed. Too bad it took me 3 years to get out there.

Happy Trails!

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/26/2011  -  neiler of Waxhaw, nc
Route Taken: all of springs
Opinions: ok people, lets strap it on and admit that yea there are some roots and rough patches, but if you don't have the balance to be on a trail then don't! It's a fun trail and not that hard until you turn around and go back for a second turn and get tired. Fast in some places, challenging in others and plenty of side paths to keep you occupied, gravity cavity needs to be enlarged is my only opinion!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/15/2010  -  Shake-n-bake of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Treeshaker loop, Grind on the Greenway loop
Opinions: Great trail system that reminds me of a smaller version of Pisgah. Around 570 feet of climbing per lap on the clockwise direction. Trail is multi directional so be careful on certain sections. Best time to avoid is Sat-Sun mornings as the trail gets a little congested with new riders, runners and dog walkers but not nearly the volume you find at the WWC and Beatty. Trail could use some love from the trailblazers as it only seems to get trailwork just before race time. Could use a bridge in one area instead of 2 planks, another bridge has a steep entrance and exit that could use some shingles or grip tape. a few re-routs are probably in order to let the trail heal in places. Should look at expanding mileage as plenty of land available on the Sugar side. Other than that, my favorite place to ride due to low traffic and high fun.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/14/2010  -  MJD of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All?
Opinions: This was my first visit. It was a fun ride. Lots of challenging roots that will test your balance and skill. I had to clip out a couple of times. The trail splits off a number of times with no signage but I ended up back at my car after 45 minutes so I'm guessing all the trails converge or somehow lead back to the same spot.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/25/2010  -  Bryan of Rock HIll, SC
Route Taken: Main
Opinions: This trail is really tore up right now. It is in serious need of maintenance. There are certain areas that are very grown up with brush making it hard to ride through.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/14/2010  -  Matt of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Regarding signage... nobody is complaining about getting hopelessly lost in the woods. This isn't Alaska. But a poorly marked trail makes the ride less enjoyable. Most mountain bike riders are not looking to leisurely explore an unmarked system of trails.... no matter how easy it is to make your way back to the parking lot.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/07/2010  -  Garrett of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Very nice trail. Is not hard to get lost at all. there are arrows pointing you where to go. Many Challenges with the roots,rocks and tight bends.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/03/2010  -  Joe of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: School Loop West to Prairie Loop to Sugar Loop - about 10 miles.
Opinions: The trail is not marked very well. We headed toward the Prairie Loop but as near as I can tell, we never found the trail - unless it's a dirt and gravel road. The Sugar Loop was the toughest part. I'd recommend doing that first if you're not in the best shape. I'd rate that part a 4/5 in difficulty. The rest was a 2/5.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/19/2010  -  john dettelbach of mt holly, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: thought i'd post the map... http://www.leroysprings.com/resources/files/Greenway/LSC-Greenway-Map.pdf and my ride http://connect.garmin.com/activity/25238716
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/19/2010  -  JoshR of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: all
Opinions: For my first time riding this trail system, I thought it was ok. Many sections reminded me of different places throughout the US I've ridden. Trails ok to navigate, not the best. I think for the 10.5+ miles we rode, made it worth the $5. If you're just going to show up and ride a single loop, can't really see that justifying the $5 fee. So no flaming insues, I have no problem donating and even building trails as I have helped blaze some over in Wilmington, NC. Traffic wasn't bad, but I think direction needs to be established like at Beatty Park for safety reasons. Overall, trails were in good condition.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/29/2009  -  Mark of Fort Mill, South Carolina
Route Taken:
Opinions: The trail was open and surprisingly dry given the recent rain. Nice Ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/01/2009  -  Richard of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: School loop west to north tunnel and then back
Opinions: OMG this was a toughie for me. I am a newbie and out of shape! Great trail and close to my house. Lots of hills and roots and a couple of little rockie areas. THERE IS NO WAY TO GET LOST! Even if you are useless at directions you end up by a road so you can ride that back. Signs are good tho I couldnt find the short loop that is on the map. I wiped out on the rocks coz I was going too slow. Other than that this is a lot of fun and a great training ground for new riders. Make sure to take water its a nice long ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/01/2009  -  Richard of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: School Loop West
Opinions: I just wanted to add another note about signage. This is a loop single trek. Where the hell do you need signs. The trail is so obvious and its not like there is anywhere else you can go other than the track. Pleeeeese stop bitching about it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/22/2009  -  jake of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: For anyone who says it badly marked your just studid. There is no way to get lost unless you leave the obvious trail right under your nose. Its a great ride and all the options that may branch off from the main trail connect right back within 20 feet. you want a fun 1-2 hour ride, check this trail out!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/10/2009  -  The Saint of Sucksville, of denial
Route Taken: Would someone please put a sign up so I can read about something other then getting lost! How are you going to get lost, it’s not even in the mountains!! Go to Wilson’s Creek and ride something that’s not off 181 and then you can say your lost!
Opinions: why don't someone post up some info on the BEST way to take the trail? or how will the race be ran.... Any info
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/07/2009  -  Tom Ferrara of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: I have ridden these trails for the past 3 years and have become very fimiliar with them. It is true they are not very well marked, however the map available at the head of the trail at the complex is very informative. I would be happy to take anyone out who wants a tour..Email me ferrara@comporium.net
Opinions: For a local ride, this one rocks. It is not very technical, however the roots will jump up and get you if you are not careful.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/04/2009  -  Blake of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail... well... what is left of it.
Opinions: OK... More disappointment in the mountain biking community. At one point this trail was roughly 13 miles of single track once Sugar Island was completed. First thing they (Springs) did was exclude mountain bikes from the railroad trestel out to the Dairy Barn. Most recenetly, they have excluded bikes from riding any of the single track after the gravity cavity. That cuts out almost 4 miles (out and back) of trail!!! WTF? At least they sent a crew out lately for the fall cut and got rid of the growth that was overtaking the trail. I for one am disappointed and say we ride it anyway.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/27/2009  -  Ramses of Wesley Chappel, NC
Route Taken: I beleive it was clockwise, west loop, school loop, valley, climbing sugar creek loop, east loop back to entrance. All in all this is the hardest route to take.
Opinions: Its about 10 that starts off with a nice downhill then some varying terrain with nice scenery off the creek and then some grueling climbs once you enter sugar creek.

The signage is not that bad, take your time to look at the map and understand where you are going, or you can simply stay to your left. The trail

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/07/2009  -  jake arthur of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: it was great. it was my second time there and i already remebered the trails. good climes on sugar loop and the bowl is great but they marked off, i think mill pond from bikes. but i would still ride it because no one says anything and it is the best trail there.expecialy if you go up to the traintracks.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/22/2009  -  slowpoke of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: "It is easy to get lost thats for sure". This could be a great trail if it was marked better.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/18/2009  -  Bryan of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Decent trail but should be marked better, especially since you have to pay to ride it. I ride for the exercise and the fun of riding... not to "explore the wilderness" or wander through the woods.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/11/2009  -  FromRoad2Ruin of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: None yet
Opinions: Here is a URL with more info on the park itself and Mountain Bike Rules http://www.leroysprings.com/default.asp ?lsc=262
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/13/2009  -  David of Wingate, NC
Route Taken: Sugar Loop To Prairie Loop returning on East School Loop
Opinions: 1st time riding at Anne Springs. Yes I can confirm what others have written "it is easy to get lost". Excellent trails with fun technical areas. The day we road it was very muddy. I wanted to ride the school loop west but had difficulty finding my way. My 10 and 12 year old children road with me. We all enjoyed the ride and exercise.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/16/2009  -  Trailblazer of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire Trail
Opinions: We were very impressed with the entire trail system at Springs. You really get the feeling of being “In the Woods” and not the feeling of being surrounded by our urban sprawl that some of the other area trails give you, which is my next point. I’m reading some of the previous posts that read “needs better markings”, “not marked adequately”, “extremely easy to get lost”, “trails horribly marked”. A part of being outdoors is part of the adventure. I’d much rather use some of my natural senses to figure out were I’m at rather than “Signs” everywhere. We see enough of those “signs” all around us on a daily basis. Go out and figure out the trail system through trial and success and not rely so much on looking for “Signage”, because one day the “Sign” my not be there. What will you do then? I guess that all depends on the audience that is reading this. “ Stay Human” as someone else once said.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/12/2009  -  Michael of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: School loop
Opinions: Excellent trail. As others have mentioned it could benefit from better markings but in all honesty once you get around one time it's pretty easy to figure out.

I'm a beginner and this trail had lots to offer for people like me and more advanced riders. There were only a couple of spots that I elected to get off and walk and in total I probably only walked a 200 yards but I'd say half of that was to get around some really muddy areas.

This course has lots of roots and lots of fast downhill sections (over roots) which made for a lot of fun.

I'd highly recommend this trail for both beginners and more advanced riders. I'll probably make this a regular trail since I live close by.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/05/2009  -  Will of gastonia, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: The trails are in great shape and are unigue in that riders of all levels can enjoy the trail. The improvement that is needed is that the trails need to be marked better, especially since this is a fee trail. It would be a safer place with some type of trail marking system, such as color placards or shape placards. The map at the trail head is useless!!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/03/2009  -  TheKryingame of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: My issue is not really with the trails but with the park. You pay $3.00 as an entrance fee. You're given a map and sent your merry way. The problem, like most people have already stated is, the trials are not marked adequately. What's the purpose of having a map and when you get on teh trail, it's difficult pinpointing your location. It's extremely easy getting lost in this park because there are so many unmarked side trails. Before you know it, you're miles away by the red barn or the train. If you get on the trials, you'll know what I'm talking about. I don't think that I'll ever return to this park due to the inconsistent markings.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/10/2009  -  JKG of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: everything we could figure out.
Opinions: great trail love it,but there were no maps at kiosk and absolutely no trail markings.where does the money go?would be willing to put up some signs if someone has them or would make them because I love the trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/25/2008  -  Stormin of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All - I am a singlespeed rider.
Opinions: Takes a few time to get oriented. Goods maps at the kiosk @ Leroy Springs off 160. Start there, break out your map, figure it out. It's a very sweet system.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/24/2008  -  Wyatt of Tega Cay, South Carolina
Route Taken: school loops
Opinions: The trails are not marked very well. If you go study the map. The trails were lots of fun. LOTS OF VARIETY!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/20/2008  -  Gary of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: all
Opinions: Great! It is easy to learn and fun!! I havee been here several times and enjoy it every time.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/07/2008  -  Sandy of Charlotte, nc
Route Taken: Who knows
Opinions: 2nd time riding, will not go back. Trails are horribly marked. Map does not show all options. What does the $3.00 fee work for? How about put up some markers
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/29/2008  -  Tom Ferrara of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: main loop, sugar creek loop
Opinions: Floading over many of the lower level trails, at a few points the water rose so high it pushed large fallen trees on the trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/13/2008  -  Todd of Jacksonville, FL
Route Taken: Parked at the big red barn and rode around for a while looking for the trail. One I found it the trail was pretty damn cool.
Opinions: Hard to find but pleny of ups, downs, roots, bridges, tunnels. Worth riding if you are in town. They have a decent map at the kiosk.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/31/2008  -  Todd of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Dip in to the left, stay left, go up through the creek trail, down by the road, then Sugarland loop
Opinions: Ok..the map sucks and it is confusing for the first 3 times you go, BUT the trails are SWEET and easy to learn. Go get lost 2 or 3 times and youll figure it out real quick. Much prefer this to Renny or C.Fran.Beatty, even though they are good trails. Some good climbs, good descents, nothing crazy, but a good workout and a lot of fun, Im torn between liking this and whitewater more. Great trails, go ride!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/27/2008  -  Sally Springs of Charlotte, nc
Route Taken: Not sure.
Opinions: Great trails, horrible trail markings. Need more signing at intersections.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/22/2008  -  Rich of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: From "Leroy" (off of 160) at the back of the park is the trailhead. Took the easternmost trail and came back down south around the loop to where I started. Yes, it could be difilcut to find yourself around. I went with my GPS and it was helpful.
Opinions: There are other trails off where I rode, but didn't take them this time. On some portions you can ride fast, on others be cautious. Nice for Cardio.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/20/2008  -  Lauren of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: So fun! The trail was not that well marked so my husband and I were lost for a little while, but this is my favorite trail so far.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/08/2008  -  Dan of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: School loop, Suger loop
Opinions: Great trail definitely worth $3 there are some tricky switch backs, and in areas lots of mud so have the right tiers. Also mountain bikers now have to enter at the Leroy Springs Recreation Complex remember that or you will be driven all over.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/29/2008  -  brico of fort mill, sc
Route Taken: 2 main southside loops
Opinions: (lets get that less-than-readable review off the top there) the drag of this trail is not the $3. its worth it! it's the complete lack of signage! the trail maps available at the kiosk trail head are somewhat accurate while the map on the kiosk itself is a bit different! until i memorized the trail i had to stop and break out the pocket map no fewer than 7 times just to make sure i knew where i was. this is a particularly easy trail to lose yourself on because it is intertwined with horse and hiker trails. when theres no signs its easy to find yourself 1 mile off course before you know it. as for the trail itself. this is a fun very fast course. not alot of hills to work through like renaisance or catawba. a back portion follows RIGHT on the river edge with a 10 foot drop so dont get off balance or miss a turn! lots of narrow 3 plank bridges that make you mind your p's and q's as well. this trail can be likened to col. francis park in its difficulty. though this has far fewer climbs to stress over. i live right next to the park so i use this several times a week.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/19/2008  -  Diesel Dave of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: all
Opinions: To those belly aching about the lack of signs. What do you think this is, the 485 bypass? Half the fun is exploring and figuring out the trails. Besides, it's not the large and everything loops back around anyway, so you can't really get lost. So don't listen to the complainers. Shut up and ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/16/2007  -  BIGMAC of Tega Cay, SC
Route Taken: 160 / Rec. Cntr. Entered and took the trail to the right. After the tunnel it got interesting. Rode 1 hour and ran out of light.
Opinions: A great ride, but beware of creek/runoff drops. The roots and rocks provide plenty of challenges and the trees provide wake up calls along the way. Not a sleeper, that's for sure. I'll be back.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/27/2007  -  Don Watts of Goose Creek, SC
Route Taken: No Clue..was lost the whole time practically, no signs and map was useless.
Opinions: It appears this trail takes a beating and gets no maintenence. Even on full suspension the roots will jar teeth. Lots of ruts. It had rained and mud was deep and thick so go when it is dry. Was there to check out theh trail for the upcoming Tree Shaker race. This should be interesting. Need signage and the IMBA Trail Care Crew.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/09/2007  -  D-Dub of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: north tunnell-along the creek-sugar island-complex tunnel
Opinions: This is a great trail. The sugar island loop is now complete (and not a dead end)and in good shape. It comes back around to the Complex tunnel trail near the tunnel. This adds an option for more climbing which was the only thing missing (besides signs).
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/04/2007  -  Addison Berry of Fort MIll, SC
Route Taken: complex tunnel, take the climb instead of diving into the woods right after u go under the bridge, the bring u out to the bowl. did the back section and did it backwards and came back through the bowl area and then north tunnel climb out.
Opinions: great single track. its a fun trail because it a very fast paced slope. its diversity is great... sugar island is a lot of climbs but that can easily be save for last. the bowl is great if your technical.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/04/2007  -  scott j of fort mill, sc
Route Taken: Rode the whole thing took 2.5 hours the first day because the markings were confusing. We too complex tunnel to north tunnel to the rest of the northern trails then back down.
Opinions: Great trails. Its a shame its three bucks to ride but well worth it. Easier then USNWC but a little more variety...bridges, sand, creeks.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/16/2007  -  DumpTruck07 of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: I parked @ the Barn and took the trail @ the top of the gravel road to the right. I rode every loop I could find which ended up 14 miles of riding.
Opinions: This trail would be great if it had some signs up of which way to go. I pass 4 people and they was as lost as I was. This is a waste just because of some signs.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/13/2007  -  Alisa of York, SC
Route Taken: Attempted Complex and North Tunnel, don't know where I actually went though
Opinions: Seriously lacking on signage, At one point at an intersection in which you could go 3 different ways but none were marked where they went. It would be a great trail if marked.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/25/2007  -  Bo of C-Town, NC
Route Taken: Main Complex to RR Trestle
Opinions: Needs better signage & can be confusing if youre new to the trail. A few technical spots a little much for a newbie like me but otherwise a fun & beautiful ride!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/07/2007  -  Plezsnow of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: OK, 3rd day out,went out complex tunnel to Sugar Creek dead end...Complex tunnel trail was previously rated..so only rating Sugar portion
Opinions: as for Sugar...it was rarely traveled, A bit overgrown and tough to follow but some very good climbs and downhills.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/29/2007  -  Plezsnow of Fort Mill, South Carolina
Route Taken: Ridden here 3 days in a row, breaking in new bike and nice and close, today took complex tunnel, to North tunnel and through school loop back.
Opinions: Was good ride, little mud, lotsa roots and rocks.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/27/2007  -  Plezsnow of Fort Mill, South Carolina
Route Taken: North Tunnel/School loop
Opinions: Nice tight single track with some technical areas, wifes first ride and it kicked her $#%..but she did ok as a first timer. keep up the good work, fee is fair..watch pulling out of ball field parking area, seriously bottomed out the car.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/05/2007  -  Derek of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Great Trail. Is there anyway you still can pay a yearly fee instead of each time?
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/26/2006  -  Brian of Indian Land, SC
Route Taken: Today was my third trip here and each time I have started in a different location. 1st I started up at the dairy barn where the mtn. bike trail was poorly marked, but once on the trail (w/ a map) it was fast and smooth, I rode all the way to North Tunnel from up there about 1.25 hours and then back. Nothing complicated about the trail and it has been well maintained. Only a few spots is it technical, but for the most part can be a quick/speedy ride!
Opinions: Only a few spots is it technical, but for the most part can be a quick/speedy ride!

Complex Tunnel was the most difficult of all trails, followed by N. Tunnel, and Greenway was an easy ride.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/19/2006  -  Ben of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Parked at the rec center and rode in. First time, and I can say, this place is def worth it. check it out @ (GPS data) http://trail.motionbased.com/trail/episode/view.mb?episodePk.pkValue=1655145 Lots of singletrack.good bridges
Opinions: I will surely be back to have another go, i can see that the 3 dollarz is well spent on these trails, and its certainly worth it....
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/01/2006  -  Adam Heth of Matthews , NC
Route Taken: all
Opinions: Amazing. My favorite trail in the charlotte area. So much to do, never get bored. Get North Tunnel and Complex tunnel out of the way first then the rest of the trail is smooth sailin. but in order to do that you have to park on the side of the road near the tunnel.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/30/2006  -  Brian of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: 3 mile loop (through both tunnels and around the school)
Opinions: Great Trail, a lot of fun. I haven't ridden trails in about 15 years so it was a little advanced for me in places but I still had a blast. It was well maintained and other riders were very friendly. I will be heading back out this weekend.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/16/2006  -  ASF of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Parked by the complex at the ball fields paid our $3. Started on the NorthTunnel trail. Ended up back at the same place and then rode the Complex Tunnel side.
Opinions: Trail was hard, packed, fast with some technical drops but nothing too steep. Has almost everything from open meadows to tight twisting singletrack, through woods, under the roadway through tunnels, and singletrack along the river. Ther are some amazing bridges both fixed and swinging. Did the gravity cavity although not the 90 degree angle trail. No climbs to speak of, but hey, it was a very fast trail so no complaints here!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/08/2006  -  JERRY O'KEEFE of Charlotte, nc
Route Taken: Most, if not all.
Opinions: Definite 2 thumbs up, pleasant surprise. It is open to public now, $3 fee. If you don't pay no one will stop you, but your car might be 75 bucks to get back. Parking is now only at the sports complex on 160, not at Dairy Barn on 21 as stated above. Fun & Fast with several swinging bridges, several fixed bridges, and a gravity cavity with no trespassing signs (yeah right). Lots of long fast straightaways. Sugar island looks to be the only nice technical trail and really needs to be ridden.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/30/2006  -  Luke Smith of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Park
Opinions: Some people would heed the "NO Trespassing" sign and peddle safely around the gravity cavity. I paused for self reflection in the presence of two pretty girls and recognized what must be done.....you guessed it. I tresspassed, conquered the gravity cavity, and swallowed a spider web all in one motion. Regret it? Nope.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/07/2006  -  jonathan of fort mill, south carolina
Route Taken: i left from the leroy springs complex and took the north tunnel all the way to the bowl about 3 miles back
Opinions: its really a fast nice trail i like the downhills considering i just moved from south florida
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/15/2006  -  rt of charlotte, nc
Route Taken:
Opinions: awesome trail...glad us nc people have access to it again....best kept secret in mountainbiking.....only downside is im not too fond of those 5 foot copperheads
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/05/2006  -  Derek of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Great Trail. Is there anyway you still can pay a yearly fee instead of each time?
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/26/2005  -  rob of charlotte, NORTH CAROLINA
Route Taken: left side
Opinions: Best trail i have ever ridden
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/19/2005  -  reason3 of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: all routes
Opinions: there are many more routes on this trail that people wont find easily but they are great
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/01/2004  -  MoD of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: The North Loop, Dairy Farm Rd for warmup across a sweet creek crossing!!
Opinions: Anne Springs was surprisingly fast and fun! Trail markings could have been better. The Park offers a map, but sometimes you have to make an educated guess where you are - definitely don't want to take a chance if you're burning daylight! I want to go back to make a better overall opinion. The trail was winding and easy to keep speed. The suspension bridges are large and fun to cross. Appears that park mgmt is now asking bikers to NOT use the Dairy Barn lot and instead go to the south trailhead where the Main Park/Community Center is off Hwy 160 east of Ft Mill. When you turn into the Community Center, follow main drag straight back to back lot between the ball fields, look for small kiosk at trailhead.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/05/2003  -  EL of FORT MILL, SC
Route Taken: SCHOOL LOOP FROM REC CENTER TO DAIRY BARN
Opinions: ONE OF THE REASONS IT IS OVERGROWN IS THAT THE RAIN HAS EXPOSED A DUKE POWER LINE BY THE SCHOOL APPX 300 YARDS PAST THE NEW RED GRAVEL AREA. THEY ARE NOT CUTTING IT BACK BECAUSE THEY DON'T WANT PEOPLE IN THERE. DUKE POWER IS THE ONLY ONE THAT CAN WORK ON IT. LACK OF RIDERS DON'T HELP OVERALL SITUATION EITHER. IF ANYONE SEE'S RT, TELL HIM THIS FORT MILLBILLIE TOOK HIS SISTER ON A NATURE WALK LAST WEEK!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/27/2003  -  Gary Fisher of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Complex to Dairy Barn.
Opinions: Trail is overgrown. Before mtb's cleaned trail, now no one does. I'm going to hike it once a week and keep clean. Great trail when kept up.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/06/2003  -  rt of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: couldnt do it. they put up the "no tresspassing" signs. boycott the springs products..
Opinions: the 160 out of state fee is rediculous. i hope they are happy and take comfort in the fact that the fort millbillies can take there toothless dates out on a nature walk now and we wont bother them while they imbreed.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/03/2003  -  Chuck of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Didn't ride it
Opinions: The management at ASCG has seen fit to institute an unfair fee structure that makes it too expensive to ride ($160 a year for non-residents). They're running us off
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/15/2003  -  DAVID of FORT MILL, SC
Route Taken: COMPLEX TO THE RAILROAD BRIDGE, IT WAS VERY SAD TO SEE HOW BAD OF SHAPE THIS TRAIL IS IN. SAND HAS RUINED A FAST SECTION AND MUD AND OVER GROWTH HAS TAKEN MANY PARTS OF THIS TRAIL OVER.
Opinions: MAYBE SOMEONE COULD LOBBY TO REDUCE THE FEES, AND MAKE SURE THE MOUNTAIN BIKERS' FEES GO TO MAINTAINING THE TRAIL. TRAIL IS IN BAD SHAPE, PLEASE HELP.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/09/2003  -  DAveA of Raleigh, NC
Route Taken: LeeRoy spinrgs up to Diary Barn
Opinions: Effective May 1st, this is a member only trail. SC members pay $98, outside SC pays $160 I hear. Bummer. NIce trail. We took the old forms and paid $2 per bike, anyways. No want stopped us. Lots of good rides. Sand, mud, rocks, hills and thrills.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/17/2003  -  Splash of CLT, NC
Route Taken: All except Three Kings which has been blocked off by liberal Democrats.
Opinions: Stay away until it drys out. Sloppy mess.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/02/2003  -  Nathan of fort Mill, South Carolina
Route Taken: Dairy Barn
Opinions: Awesome Trail! I didn't got lost., and it was a fast one!(well, going one way)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/03/2002  -  James of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken: All available trails
Opinions: Used to be fun, until it was ruined by riders not paying for use on private land. Riders can cry about the fees, or stop the jerks who give us a bad name. As long as the fees are used for maintenance (which the office said it would be) it would be fair. $13/month for a great trail that all you have to do is ride, no work. Quit whinning...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/12/2002  -  Misty of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: from the access road down to the creek..and through all
Opinions: thats kind of my local place. im not super experienced so it's good place to practice. lots of hidden spots...a couple nice jumps..watch out for the cows though..not to nice
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/09/2002  -  taylor of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: all, i think?
Opinions: the new trails are great and lots of fun to ride there now!!! great job, to whoever worked on them!!! the trails are better marked now; sort of... watch out for other riders on the trail!!! it would be nice if the new trails had arrows on them for what direction to ride on them. it would be great if the older trails were opened back up for a more of a loop pattern idea near the dairy barns...watch out for the horse riders...don't get lost...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/29/2001  -  carson of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: started at the barn and rode through the whole trail and looped around and came back out
Opinions: it is a great trail the new section opened up oging up to the rec center is much better than what it used to be........ but it needs to have more length to it. im 15 and me and my dad ride it but it isnt long enough
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/17/2001  -  Dan Schell of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: This trail is great. Beginning section, after crossing the road by the Dairy Barn, are fairly smooth and fast rolling, with one somewhat steep decline. Trails middle sections, after crossing the swing brige, is more challenging. Overall, good trail for beginners, great for intermediates.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/02/2001  -  taylor of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: to the dairy barn
Opinions: good trail or trails, it is a nice ride, i have been there many times, but for some strange reason i seems to get lost, the trails are not arked the good and the map for the area doesn't match some of the trails posted. watch out for the horse people.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/09/2001  -  D-Dub of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: North Tunnel-Along Creek - Sugar Island- Complex Tunnel
Opinions: This is a great trail. The sugar island loop is now complete (and not a dead end)and in good shape. It comes back around to the Complex tunnel trail near the tunnel. This adds an option for more climbing which was the only thing missing (besides signs).
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/17/1991  -  David of Fort Mill, South Carolina
Route Taken: Everywhere
Opinions: I like ridding the complex trails when I dont have time to make it to one of the big 3. I think its kinda boring, but that might be because ive been riding it for 12 years or so. main complaint: the new trails are great, but id still like to be able to ride the old trails because the speed of them was my favorite part. (ps, thanks to the guys who felt the need to block off the old trails as far as a quarter mile in both directions to add to my pleasure when im walkin my bike back after my lights go dead)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

 
Tarheel Trailblazers | 182 Saddle Road | Mooresville, NC 28115
 
DHTML / Menu by OpenCube