Photo: Headerpic3.jpg

 
Signal Hill
Trail Information
Nearest City: Statesville, NC
How to get there: Heading North on I-77 out of Charlotte take exit 50 and turn East. Go .3 miles and turn left on Signal Hill Road. The trail head will be about .4 miles on the right and is marked by a Statesville Park and Recreation sign.
Trail Length: 4.3 miles
Trail Description: A lot of quick and moderately hilly single track. What the trail lacks in technical aspects is more than made up for in sheer fun!
Other Info: Trail map can be found here

 

Review this trail


 

Trail Reviews

Date Ridden: 05/04/2015  -  Andrew of Charlotte , north Carolina
Route Taken: Counter clockwise
Opinions: Trail is in pretty good shape. They were weeding as I rode. I don't think the new re-routes take anything away from the trail. In fact they took some rotted bridges out. Looking forward to more riding.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/15/2013  -  Pete Mahaffey of Union Grove, nc
Route Taken: Signal hill trail (trash trail)
Opinions: Ride this trail a lot but a lot of work has been put in lately rode there Friday and it was perfect clean and the jumps been redone and a new little section was built. It's a awesome technical little trail. Great job to the maintenance crew!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/06/2013  -  Silas of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: Entire loop (4 mile aprox) and City Circuit Loop (1 mile apron)
Opinions: This is a fun trail. I live locally. This trail is the most creative and interesting one any where within a hundred miles. There a lot of new features. Like banked bridges, log rides, banked turns.

My favorite part of the trail is the 1 mile extra loop called the City Circuit which is a freaking roller coaster ride in that it is a winding heart pounding thrill ride. Some days it gets a little smelly from the treatment plant nearby but this is the ultimate in "Green trail design since it is actually built on the old solid waste landfill site and is literally a mountain of used appliances and what have you. Newbees would never know this. So come and enjoy this and please don't complain about the trash. Just enjoy the ride. O.K.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/28/2012  -  Doogie2519 of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: Main loop + Circut loop.
Opinions: I ride there 2-3 times a week. Trail is always open. Some times I get there from riding the greenway from the old movie theater by Route 40. There has been a lot of maintanence done in the last few mounths enjoyable to ride. the terrain allows for a lot of change in speed (at least for me). There is a sizable bumps corse that is being worked on and enlarged weekly.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/25/2012  -  Philip of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main loop + Circuit City loop (3 laps)
Opinions: Rode Signal Hill for the first time. Was not expecting it to be empty on a Saturday. Didn't encounter any other riders but did see a few disc golf players. Overall, Fun trail. Trail was in great condition after 4 days of no rain. Still a little damp in a few small sections of the Circuit City loop, but was definitely ride-able. Enjoyed the man-made obstacles, bridges, rock gardens, small climbs, berns, pump bumps. I did clear the trail of spiderwebs on my first lap. Quite a lot of them. Also, the overgrowth was starting to cover the trail so hopefully will be cut next time I'm there.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/19/2012  -  Patrick of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: Errything
Opinions: Good trail. I like the natural features i.e. rocks, roots, and limited clearance areas. Rode three laps out and enjoyed it. Oddly enough I kept hearing some noises out there. I finally realized it was the trail pleading "weed eat me". READ: tall socks and poison oak wash!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/02/2012  -  Paul of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Overall, I liked the trail. Though, for me it seems very narrow and slow as a result. Only because there are areas the trail is tightly between trees. Just my personal taste. On the verge of being overgrown in areas too, which is OK. May need some TLC soon to bring it up to snuff.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/27/2012  -  Robb of Troutman, NC
Route Taken: Everything
Opinions: I was so pumped to discover Signal Hill. I was surprised at the amount of mileage and features crammed into a relatively small park. Skinnys, ladders, berms, drops and gaps is the name of the game. This place is a great option for those looking for a quick technical re-fresher or those who want to build skills. The dirt jumps need a bit of grooming (workday soon?) but the pump track and other fun features are great!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/23/2012  -  Michael of Hickory, N.C.
Route Taken: All but impossible hill
Opinions: I love this trail! If its been over a month since you have been here, You Will BE Amazed!! This trail is easy if you dont ride the options and hard if can do all. Maby you will fall in love to ;)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/11/2012  -  john of mt. holly, nc
Route Taken: Started at gravel lot,followed arrows, lower muddy section roped off, counterclockwise at circuit city.
Opinions: I reviewed this trail earlier but put the wrong date. I tried to correct it through TTB but got no response. Here's the review with the correct date: The crew has dramatically improved the drainage of this otherwise fun trail. The roped off section does cut down the mileage but avoiding the mud makes the trail much more enjoyable. That section should open when the vegetation starts growing again and more work is done on the wetter sections. The new features are sturdy and fun although I've not gotten the guts to do them all as yet. The flow is great for a compact area with a great variety of terrain packed into the design. If you haven't been there in a while definitely check it out. Also disc golf back nine surrounds the trail with minimal bothersome interaction.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/22/2011  -  Jayson of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Regular route
Opinions: I like this trail, it's not real hard making it good for me with the little skill I have yet there are some challenges you can grow into. I recommend it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/25/2011  -  Andy of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Rode trail with all available black sections. Rode both loops
Opinions: I really liked the trail. It was a lot of fun. Signs were relatively easy to follow. The sign at the entrance to Circuit City Loop looked like you could go either way so I went left. Wished I had gone right so I could have done the jump and steep down the way it was intended but otherwise the trial was great. Looked like there had been a workday recently. Lots of branches down. I stopped to move a bunch of them as I rode but there were still quite few. Great trail!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/20/2011  -  Sean of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: Everthing.
Opinions: Trail gnomes have done a good job of resurrecting this trail. Built on an old dumb, this trail seems to always be challenged with wet, muddy areas. Sign at trail head always says open. Can't see that. Trail should be closed when muddy. Come on guys, don't destroy a gem.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/16/2011  -  Rodney of Orlando, FL
Route Taken: Counter-clockwise around both loops (the trail to the right each time), two laps around the main loop.
Opinions: Fun Trail, nice man-made obstacles, well maintained, and sustainable. I like the extra 3/4 mile or so loop towards the end. Especially like the jump near the beginning of that loop which made the climb towards the end well worth it. The main loop is great as well. It has many different types of obstacles and very nice single-track with good flow, switchbacks, etc. Was in the area alone for work and arrived at the trailhead the same time as another rider who I was able to ride with.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/27/2011  -  Jmiles of Troutman, NC
Route Taken: All with the "black" options where available
Opinions: The trail could be really nice, not difficult, but a good mix of stuff to keep you interested! A bit to much of the gravel for my taste and it felt like the trail isn't Maintained or used as often as it needs.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/21/2011  -  SpecEpic of Boone, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Getting bored with some of our usual rides so checked this place out today...great trail! Lots of fun trail features to keep things interesting. Overall, much more fun than I was expecting. Lots of recent work has gone into this trail system. "Good job" to the trail builders!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/11/2011  -  john of mount holly, nc
Route Taken: Started at gravel lot,followed arrows, lower muddy section roped off, counterclockwise at circuit city.
Opinions: The crew has dramatically improved the drainage of this otherwise fun trail. The roped off section does cut down the mileage but avoiding the mud makes the trail much more enjoyable. That section should open when the vegetation starts growing again and more work is done on the bad sections. The new features are sturdy and fun although I've not gotten the guts to do them all as yet. The flow is great for a compact area with a great variety of terrain packed into the design. If you haven't been there in a while definitely check it out. Also disc golf back nine surrounds the trail with minimal bothersome interaction..
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/22/2011  -  tucker of statesville, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: great trail, all the man-made stuff is rock solid, excellently maintained, the circuit city loop is an absolute blast, I can't get enough of the ramp, I have to go back and hit it at least twice every time I ride it. My only wish is a footbridge between the greenway and the trail so I wouldn't have to ride along the side of the road to get to it, or perform a balancing act across the water pipe over the creek/river.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/21/2011  -  natedawg of lincolnton, NC
Route Taken: all
Opinions: I think this is one of the best trails I have ever rode. No matter what you like, natural terrain, man made obstacles, jumps, roots, climbs or downhill, it has it all. As far as the intergrity of the man made stuff, it's perfectly stable and rock solid as far as I'm concerned. It flows better than any 5 mile trail I've been on. It takes you up and right when you're a little gassed it takes you down, and in some spots very quick. My favorite section is the Circuit City Loop. The wooden jump and the huge drop after the 2 bridges are like being on a roller coaster. I've gone 3 time in the past week and I live in Lincolnton, which is about 45 min. to an hour. So I highly suggest you get out there now.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/09/2010  -  BrianBB of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail
Opinions: I will say that the trail bed and corridor is in good shape. There is a vast improvement from my first visit a year or so back. I’m not so sure I would say all the stunts are “well built” but rustic is accurate. The log pile has fallen apart and cannot be ridden and the ramp to the stump ride had fallen off when I made my approach. I think I missed some trail here. I got a tad over 4 miles on my computer. I rode into the trail at the sign and then the loop by the creek with the wooden jump as well. Where is the other mile? I’d like to ride it as well if someone will point me in the right direction. Will visit this trail again.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/05/2010  -  Daveareeno of Statesvegas, Insanity
Route Taken: The whole friggin thang, fumes and all.
Opinions: When it is dry there is some loose gravel. When it is wet you wonder - HEY! Can I gets me some gravel in here???? The gravel comes with a 24/7/365 trail. The stunts/features have a rustic appearance which belie their sturdiness. The short thick vertically mounted logs are not permanently affixed. However, the end ramps are secure leaving any potential wiggling of the logs as part of their charm (my perspective). It is not like they are even 2 feet off of the ground. Always bear in mind that the trail is maintained by volunteers.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/02/2010  -  MVB of Statesville, North Carolina
Route Taken: Main trail plus all technical features.
Opinions: Trail is in great shape. A lot of work done putting gravel on some wet spots to keep the trail smooth. Cool bridges, boardwalks, skinnies, tight twisty sections and fast flowing sections. I really enjoyed the options of this trail: (1) extremely steep hill climb, (2) teeter totter, (3) stump ride, (4) log ride, (5) log pyramid and (6) jump. A lot packed into this 5 mile trail. A better work out than riding trails twice its length. The stunts were well built and sturdy. I have seen kids ride them.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/30/2010  -  SB of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: from the parking lot
Opinions: I really enjoyed the trail. I had not ridden it since last summer and the trail is in great condition. If you want to ride a trail loaded with gravel then this is your place. I did not ride any of the stunts after looking at them and deciding that they were not built well.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2010  -  D.V. of Statesville, nc
Route Taken: Entire trail plus Greenway. Get more milage hopping on the Greenway
Opinions: You lose your stomach like a roller coaster on the teeter. A lot of really short steep climbs. Read:arobic
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/22/2010  -  DanP of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: Entire Trail
Opinions: Folks the trail is getting better each day. The rock garden reroute is awesome and the new optional 30 ft teeter totter has got to be the best built stunt I have ever ridden.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/21/2010  -  joe of statesville, nc
Route Taken: whole trail both directions
Opinions: the trail is only getting better i ride it 2-3 times a week because it is close to home but also i get a better workout there than on many other trails of the same length. great new fetures keep popping up and the trail is well marked and in great shape. If you ride this trail often try to change it up by going clockwise (reverse) once in a while it brings a whole new element especialy on circut city where there is a crazy climb by the steps i only seem to make it about 1 out of every 3 times i ride it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/20/2010  -  Josh of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: Main Trainl
Opinions: Great trail. Have ridden the trail several times over the past month and the people in charge of the trail have kept the trail in great shape with adding new options over a period of time. Like the local trail for endurance training.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/16/2010  -  wESd of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: main
Opinions: What a great local trail to have. Thanks to all the trail gnomes that have helped to bring back this local gem. The trail bed is more primitive and tighter than most local trails which I really enjoy.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/16/2010  -  Rob of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: Main - into the woods to the left of the kiosk.
Opinions: I've been riding Signal Hill twice a week for several months now. The locals have done a great job getting this trail back in riding shape. It is a tight trail with plenty of roots, rocks, tight areas, short climbs, and some new TTFs. Check er’ out and have fun!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/01/2010  -  Josh of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: Main Trail.
Opinions: I have riden the trail pretty recently and it seems to ride well. Good challenges if you want them, or just bypass them. Very well marked trail and a few good challenges. People seem to be upgrading it a lot lately.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/21/2009  -  tim of statesville, nc
Route Taken: main
Opinions: there is a group of riders with the guidence of First flight bikes who have put in several dozen man hours into the signal hill trail the trail is in the best shape i have ever seen it in and we are constantly making improvements. the biggest problem I have read or heard from riders is the markings and the long field area, the guys at FFB had a great rerout in mind and it should be finished by the end of the weekend. also there have been several areas with new markings pay special attention to the double blue toped poles they signal entry areas from an open field crossing. If you are in the area stop by and try the trail we feel that it is a great ride and will only be getting better
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/02/2009  -  Steve of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken: Straight into woods from gravel parking lot
Opinions: I was skeptical to ride this location due to the negative comments previously posted here. I noticed some updates were taking place on message boards so I stopped in. To my surprise this place was great! I had a blast and the trail was in good condition. Tight, twisty, ups and downs, technical features, and a few challenging short climbs. I had a little trouble finding one section of the trail when I came to a field. I turned to the right and rode across the field and found the rest of the trail fairly easy. I recommend others try Signal Hill out. I hope you enjoy as I am adding this one to my weekly rides. I DO think some better signage is needed in the field area. Thank you, Steve Mooresville, NC
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/19/2008  -  puddy of Mocksville, nc
Route Taken: Pumpkinfest Pumpkin Launching grounds
Opinions: Old landfill, lot of trash resurfacing.I was told the locals use this for night riding when the State Park changes it's hours. There is a pumkin lauch compitition there on Nov 1
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/24/2008  -  Shawn of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: I wish I could find one.
Opinions: Do not waste your time here. Trail has not been used or MAINTAINED and is too overgrown to use. There may even be homeless people living on it. What a shame!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/25/2008  -  doug of statesville, nc
Route Taken: main
Opinions: About 9 months ago their was intrest in maintaining this trail. But, like many old trails, newer trails have taken their place. This trail is city owned, but they only do upkeep if provoked to do so. Bike shop used to have a weekly ride, but I think they moved it to Lake Norman State Park. It was a fairly good trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/17/2008  -  kenneth of harrisburg, nc
Route Taken: we (my g-friend and I) rode down the gravel road to trailhead, really kind of hard to find at first. then followed all arrows (sort of)
Opinions: Trail seems to be an awesome one, but it was way overgrown, and a few trees were down, so we had to get off and hop over them. hard to see trail in various places cause of the overgrowth, and a third of the way in, a shard of glass busted my tire WARNING: there is lots and lots of debris out here: glass bottles, condoms, tires, rope, etc. So we walked the rest of the way until we hit the paved road at the disc golf course, then took the gravel road back up to the car. It would be really fun if it were cleaned up and pruned a bit, the only downside is the trail backs up to a few housing communities and there is an apartment complex across the street, so i think it's their kids or something that are littering it up.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/17/2007  -  Mike of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken: Just follow the arrows, but still keep your eyes open, there are a couple of places where the arrows are not on the posts anymore and some parts of the trail are hard to see even with the arrows.
Opinions: This trail is a little hidden gem. I work in Statesville almost everyday and never came here because I heard that it was in unridable shape. How wrong that is now. There has been alot of recent work done to the trail. There were a couple of places I had to get off the bike and climb through some brush from freshly cut trees blocking the trail. The weather must have gotten in the way of removing them after cutting them. No big deal. This trail is not a very difficult trail but very fun and there are some parts that will still give you a challenge. The manmade obsticals are pretty fun and they come up quick so you can just hit them in rythem as you see them. I really enjoyed riding this trail. I am kind of burn out on riding fisher and north meck so much so this trail will be a nice change of pace from here on out. Go there, it is worth it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/18/2007  -  Douglas of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: Full Main Route 4.5 miles
Opinions: Ignore the last comment about this trail. Boy Scouts went in a few months back and put signs up. You may have to take it slow the 1st time or go with someone who knows the trail. Then it's easy as pie. Went out and did some maimtenance the other day. Not saying the trail is perfect, but it sure is a blast to ride. Needs to be ridden a lot more. But there are some spots that are smoother then they have been. A trail that keeps you pedaling. No really hard climbs,but no flat spots either
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/22/2007  -  steve of Troutman, NC
Route Taken: Don't know.
Opinions: I was somewhat disappointed in the condition of the trail. just when i got into it I got lost.And then i got back into it and was overwhelmed by shrubs overhanging into the trial suggesting a lack of maintenance. I also felt that some folks moved the trail markers. I used to take the trail about 5 years ago with enjoyment. What happened?
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/10/2007  -  Doug of Statesville, NC
Route Taken: Main
Opinions: I moved 4 miles from this trail. I rode it last summer and could not follow it. The guys at First Flight said it had new signs. They were correct,and it's a pretty cool little trail to have close by. There were a couple man made stunts that I didn't care for,but there were bail out around them. I got just under 3 miles,when I followed an arrow near the parking lot,it was blocked by some dirt removel equipment. So there's probably more milage. They got a disc golf course there also
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/12/2006  -  Illineil of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Lots of different skill trails to choose from. Not well marked, and places were overgrown with weeds and fallen trees. The trails near the creek tended to be more technical than those upland. Overall alot of variety in the trails, but some maintenance maybe needed. Regardless, i will be back again!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/23/2001  -  James Stokes of Salisbury, NC
Route Taken: From the gravel parking area, I took the path to the left and followed the trail clockwise.
Opinions: I had a great time on this trail. There was a variety of terrains and obsticals that would keep anyone entertained. At the beginning of the trail were hilly runs with switchbacks. Later in the trail were a few manmade obsticals like a see-saw, a log bridge, and a 3-foot wheelie-drop. The third part of the trail features a line-up of four or five whoop-de-doos. This is a not a great trail for honing you technical skills, but it IS a great trail for having a lot of speedy fun! I'll be riding this trail again!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

 
Tarheel Trailblazers | 182 Saddle Road | Mooresville, NC 28115
 
DHTML / Menu by OpenCube