Photo: Headerpic3.jpg

 
Tanglewood Park
Trail Information
Nearest City: Winston Salem, NC
How to get there: Take I-40 West from Winston-Salem and take exit #182 Tanglewood/Bermuda run. Go left. Go about 0.25 miles and turn right at the stoplight (onto NC 158). Go past the park entrance and park in the gravel lot on the left just before the bridge. Trail starts on the other side of the gate on the left side of the gravel road (singletrack).
Trail Length: 8 miles
Trail Description: This trail is awesome. It is very tight (particularly the first section) and very fast. The trail is pretty smooth for the most part and becomes fairly technical in the far loop. The far loop is on the other side of the main road into the park. This loop is about 4 miles long and has a bit more elevation change than the other loop. Ride on the doubletrack between the two loops and look out for horse poop. A great trail with lots to explore
Other Info: There are maps available at the Welcome Center.

 

Review this trail


 

Trail Reviews

Date Ridden: 09/27/2014  -  Kenneth of Harrisburg , NC
Route Taken: Hole thing
Opinions: It is now 5.6 miles long they added for

the MS bike ride did 80miles on the trail in two days it's a fun trail with cool jumps and obstacles to keep you happy when you ride it more than once

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/24/2010  -  Bob of Advance, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Rode it from the soccer fields to the river, and then turned around and came back. That totaled about 16 miles. The trail is tight single track, just a few short hills, will some roots. The trail is well maintained, but for the most part not very technical. A few log rollovers and bridges, but that's abou it. It is only a few miles from my house, so I ride there regularly in the fall and winter.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/11/2010  -  Gary of Mocksville, NC
Route Taken: several routes
Opinions: Always fun depending on what you make out of your ride. I use these for training. You can ride the whole park in single gear with ease but I like to mix it up. Spin one day and low gear another. Day 3 time yourself for speed. If you get fast and comfortable on these tight tech trails you will ride like a pro on a more wide open location. Make the most of it!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/09/2010  -  John H. of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: Several
Opinions: Trail is fun for a quick after work ride. I clocked the "outer" loop at about 5 miles. Well maintained but would not ride here if you are looking for a big mileage day. Good for an hour long ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/25/2010  -  Charlie Sink of Lexington, NC
Route Taken: All over the place as usual
Opinions: If you like riding several miles in tight little circles where you wear out your brakes in one session because there is zero flow- then this is THE trail you'll love. Not recommended for those who get dizzy.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/03/2007  -  Jim of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken: Went left after entrance. Took trail to left before soccer fields opening.
Opinions: Rehabing a knee replacement and had fun on this trail. Signs down at entrance but saw blazes and followed them in a good loop. Lots of tight singletrack with good leaf cover. Some log jumps and dips, and a couple of steep ups and downs. Had to dab once. Enjoyed cool Sat. morning after big XC meet at park and saw several others on trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/02/2007  -  Matt of Winston-Salem, NC
Route Taken: All 3 trails. We ride here every Thursday at 6pm at the Soccer Fields. You can find maps of this and other trails in the area at my website at www.bohannonhut.com These trails are worth riding weekly.
Opinions: Great and fast.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/30/2007  -  Brad of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Trail 3
Opinions: Took trail 3 unintentially...wanted trail 2...The trail was awesome. Fast little hills and tight turns with quick little dips and not too tough climbs. The little obstacles add a lot. Going back TOMORROW!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/21/2007  -  JR of Hillsdale, NC
Route Taken: main loop starting at visitor center and going counter clockwise,about 4.4 miles
Opinions: Tanglewood is an excellent trail,well maintained and nice wooded scenery,not very technical but has a few little semi-steep inclines to test your climbing,mostly just tight singletrack that has a gradual up and down flow,there are a few wooden bridges and a couple of nice log pyramids also,the main loop is about 4.4 miles with 2 other smaller loops that all total equal about 8 miles,the 4.4 mile loop is the best and is slightly more difficult if ridden counter clockwise,all in all a very good trail mostly for beginners to intermediate
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/06/2002  -  keith of lexington, nc
Route Taken: I rode all the trails that connected together
Opinions: So far this is the best trail ive riden in a while it has great sinery lots of widlife and the cleanest trail ive been on so if you want a nice ride and and not really wanting to ware your self out i would suggest tanglewoods bike trails.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/01/2002  -  James Stokes of Salisbury, NC
Route Taken: My buddy and I entered Tanglewood Park at the main entrance and took the first road on the left and then parked in the lot next to the soccer fields. We entered the trail there where there's a sign saying "Bike Trail" marking the entrance. After riding that part of the trail all morning, we had a bite of lunch then went to the lower entrance by the river to rode that part. I think liked the part by the soccer fields best.
Opinions: This trail is probably the easiest trail that I have ridden so far, but since I was recovering from an ankle injury, it was a GREAT way to enjoy a day on the trail without risking further injury to my ankle. The trail has really beautiful scenery with a well-contoured route and is *very* well kept. If you need a trail with a relaxing ride with a surprise or two, this is just what the doctor ordered. If you like something more technical with steeper hills and bigger jumps, then Hobby Park might be what you need.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/01/2002  -  James Stokes of Salisbury, NC
Route Taken: My buddy and I entered Tanglewood Park at the main entrance and took the first road on the left and then parked in the lot next to the soccer fields. We entered the trail there where there's a sign saying "Bike Trail" marking the entrance. After riding that part of the trail all morning, we had a bite of lunch then went to the lower entrance by the river to rode that part. I think liked the part by the soccer fields best.
Opinions: This trail is probably the easiest trail that I have ridden so far, but since I was recovering from an ankle injury, it was a GREAT way to enjoy a day on the trail without risking further injury to my ankle. The trail has really beautiful scenery with a well-contoured route and is *very* well kept. If you need a trail with a relaxing ride with a surprise or two, this is just what the doctor ordered. If you like something more technical with steeper hills and bigger jumps, then Hobby Park might be what you need.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/01/1993  -  Michael Brewer of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: All of it
Opinions: I rode this trail many years ago when I was in high school on my first mountain bike a 1992 Marin Muirwoods -- which is what I still ride. The trail is very fast and has a few places that allow for good jumps. It's a good trail for beginners. As I said, it's been a while but I remember it being much longer than 8 miles. Maybe some parts of it have fallen out of use. There are often downed trees over the trail which can add to the fun (they're usually relatively small diameter). They scenery is very nice.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

 
Tarheel Trailblazers | 182 Saddle Road | Mooresville, NC 28115
 
DHTML / Menu by OpenCube