Photo: Headerpic4.jpg

 
Col. Francis Beatty Park
Trail Information
Nearest City: Matthews , NC
How to get there: From I-485: Take the Providence Rd. exit, turn left back towards town. Turn right at the second light onto McKee Rd. Follow McKee Rd. approximately 4 miles to the light at Weddington Rd. (stay to the left at the fork at the Fire Station) Turn right and the Park is 3/4 of a mile on your right.

From the Arboretum: Providence Rd. (Hwy 16) out of town approximately miles from the Arboretum at Hwy. 51. Turn left onto McKee Rd. Follow McKee Rd. approximately 4 miles to the light at Weddington Rd. (stay to the left at the fork at the Fire Station) Turn right and the Park is 3/4 of a mile on your right.

Trail Length: 5.75 miles
Trail Description: Singletrack loop with little, if any, elevation gain. Mildy technical, but all levels of experience can have a great time.
Other Info: Be sure to wear your helmet!
Trail Map Col. Francis Beatty Park

 

Review this trail


 

Trail Reviews

Date Ridden: 04/10/2018  -  Rob of Concord, NC
Route Taken: Green trail around to backside of lake then blue trail over and behind dam.
Opinions: Too many roots. Not a true green trail for kids or new to the sport riders. Not a big deal but trails should be marked blue so people don’t get an idea that this is an easy ride.

To sum it up too much work with not much reward. Hopefully the new pump track/flow track will fix this.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/10/2017  -  Daniel of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken: All Trails
Opinions: This is my go to trail park, as I live about 5 minutes away. Iv'e been riding these trails for about 5 years, and they can get crowded with walkers, and dogs on leashes stretched across the trail having to lock up the brakes because people are in there on world. And then they look at you like you were going too fast. So if you're looking to catch some air on the trails and shred a little bit, be prepared to get aggravated with hikers/runners. It does have more roots than I care for, but it's close to my house. I wish this place had more table tops, drops with down ramp landings, etc...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/29/2015  -  David of Concord, NC
Route Taken: Main parking lot at kiosk to trail then followed bike direction. Rode all loops
Opinions: This is one of my favorite trails and part of my regular rotation. The main green loop around most of the park is very good for beginners or those that aren't looking for anything technical. The black sections have some technical features such as wooden jumps and logs which are a blast. The blue section has a couple of climbs that will exercise your lungs but nothing extreme. There are quite a few roots in the blue and black sections but for me that just adds to the character and challenge. Definitely makes me appreciate having a full suspension bike. The only down side is the amount of walkers and joggers you can encounter during good weather but they probably say that about the bikes. Occasionally one idiot will be jogging in the wrong direction and wearing headphones which is always fun to encounter. Still, I love this trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/25/2015  -  Matt of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: This was my fiorst ride back at Beatty in a few years. I used to ride it regularly, but then moved and fell out of mountain biking. I'm trying to come back to it, and am riding single speed now. I've always loved riding these trails, but there have been some great improvements over the last few years. Banked turns, a few jumps, and iis it possible that there are fewer roots? Maybe it's my declining memory. Either way, I hope to spend more time here in the future. because I think it's a fun ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/26/2015  -  Bob Currie of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Green trail
Opinions: I just got a used mountain and this was my first trail ride. With no prior experience or comparisons, my comments are directed at other beginners. I really enjoyed it. It was a little harder than I expected, and was glad to have decent bike control skills. Of course the challenges make it fun. Plenty o roots and ruts, a few rocks and drop-offs, a few moderately tight passages and turns, mild climbs and descents. Stayed in one gear the whole ride which lasted about 40 minutes or so. I plan to return to this green trail to get in better shape, improve my skills and confidence then move up in difficulty. I definitely recommend this for beginner mountain bikers but who have some prior bike experience. A very nice setting and park.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/30/2015  -  Greg of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: Intermediate loop
Opinions: A beginner's perspective: I've ridden the easy loop and parts of the intermediate loop several times. This trip I tried the entire intermediate loop. I found it challenging in places due to some of the hill climbs and root steps on some of the uphills. Most of the man made obstacles have outs if you aren't up to them. After riding Sherman Branch and then going back here, I was struck by how extremely rooty this trail is. Overall it can be fun but be prepared to bang over roots for nearly the entire ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/17/2014  -  Aaron of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: The entire loop with all options
Opinions: Don't be discouraged by some other reviews. This trail is lots of fun. Yes there will be hikers but with all the switchbacks you will see them coming and everyone I encountered was quite friendly stepping off the trail for me to pass. I am not sure how anyone can manage to get lost here. The trails are marked. There are a few wooden features that are fun to hit a few times and despite the flatness of the trail the short rooty climbs give you a good workout. Yes it is short, yes it is rooty, but it is also close. It is awesome to have a trail like this so close to home. Especially one that has a few decent jumps and lots of berms built in. Where I come from they would never let us build trails with bike specific features in a county park. Count your blessings.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/25/2014  -  Matthew of Charlotte , N. Carolina
Route Taken: Green and blue multiple times
Opinions: I enjoy this trail alot! It's close to me and lets you gain confidence in your riding! The people are friendly on the trail and the trails have a nice array of things to offer.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/04/2014  -  Nick of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Whatever I could find. Ended up doing 6 miles according to mapmyride but that included a lot of circling around the parking areas to find the actual trails.
Opinions: Holy Rooter McRooterson, Batman. I'm surprised my bike didn't vibrate apart into a thousand tiny pieces (and I was riding my Trek full suspension). I welcome some roots, don't get me wrong, but... holy cow. And the trails aren't marked well at all (got lost several times and rode the same sections several times). Add in the fact that a lot of "trail runners/walkers/whatever you call these wierdos" were out giving me the stink eye because I was actually riding my bike on a bike trail and.... well, I won't be going back any time soon. There are much better options in the Charlotte area.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/17/2014  -  Alex of Charlotte, Nc
Route Taken: All of it
Opinions: Great trail. More of a goof around trail. For the person that compared this to Riverwalk is crazy. Riverwalk doesnt even have real mtb. If you wanna have fun , then this is a good trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/10/2014  -  kyle of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: whole loop twice, including all the black diamonds
Opinions: The trail is relatively easy, even compared to Sherman branch. It is very flat, but has some rooty sections that can be tricky when they get wet. has a few man made obstacles and little jumps that are fun. overall, good trail, but need to do at least two loops maybe three for a workout.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/30/2013  -  Jae of Rock Hill, SC
Route Taken: Whole trail following the blue and black routes except for the rooty black loop at the beginning. Whole thing twice.
Opinions: The date may be wrong, it was last weekend sometime. I love this trail, nice mix of man made and natural obstacles. Some nice little jumps that aren't too intimidating for a beginner like myself. The only part I couldn't do was the first black loop that's all roots, gonna have to work on that one. The other black loop is a ton of fun. Overall it's a great trail that riders of any level can enjoy. I'm rating the difficulty on climbs. Compared to somewhere like Riverwalk it's not bad at all.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/18/2013  -  FU of Pineville, nc
Route Taken: green/blue/black
Opinions: Awesome!!Havent been on this trail since last year but there has definatly been some work don to it. Thanks Tarheel Trailblazers. New obstacles.very well maintained. If you go during the day there is hardly any traffic. On the weekends it can get dicey.not too technical but it can def get you HR up on some of the climbs
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/08/2012  -  Aaron of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: I have been running out here for the last 1.5 years and love it. This review is from a trail runner's point of view only.

The trail system here is fantastic and well built for most skill levels, easy to dial in your own distance and difficulty. For beginners, sticking to the blue and green will take you through some nice beauty and offer enough challenges to break you in. Mileage is easy to add by taking less green and more blue.

The "Main Loop" goes through enough ecological systems and has enough variation in style to keep it interesting time and time again. While your net elevation change will always be 0 on any loop, there are some hills worth noting along the way. The trail is well-maintained (but I always seem to pick up a few pieces of trash each run), fast, and the banked corners and bike obstacles add a little fun when you want to throw them in the mix too.

The "first" black diamond you get to (according to the starting point on the map) adds some short log stacks and isn't otherwise more difficult or much longer than the blue trail. It's nice to switch it up a little.

The "second" black diamond narrows significantly in places, adds more distance and some major hills. One of my favorite spots is along here when the trail finally calms down and switches back across the stream.

Keep your eyes and ears open for bikers, walkers, and other runners. It can get busy occasionally and I have witnessed a collision. I usually go in the same direction as the bikers to allow more time to react and pull off. The clinking of their derailers is usually your only clue, so please only go in the same direction as the bikers if you do not run with headphones - please.

My one quibble is that the map doesn't include the actual mileage between each junction and I think the total mileage is a little off.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/06/2012  -  New2mtnbk of Weddington, NC
Route Taken: first 1.25 miles of green
Opinions: This was my first time ever riding a trail... no big deal for the portion I did. I plan on going back to ride the whole thing. If your new to riding, this will be a good time for you, nothing too tricky on that first mile so just keep looping around till you feel like going for the blue or black.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/18/2011  -  NCITgal of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Not sure - most likely a hodge podge.
Opinions: I was trying to get my bearings as to how many trails there actually are. By reading these posts, I see 3. Has anyone clocked the mileage of the trails? I just started MTB'ing a few weeks ago and recently rode the green trail at the USNWC, which was 4 or so.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/19/2011  -  Mr X of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Green
Opinions: This trail is awesome! Traffic was lite considering it was a nice weekend. Love the roots not too hard but good enough to make you work and learn at the same time. The middle section is a blast with the rollers and the trees and switchbacks. Will be back every weekend!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/15/2011  -  Sail of Tecumseh, Ontario
Route Taken: I rode most of the single track black diamond.
Opinions: The trail was solid ice, muddy, dry, wet...all in one, which made it difficult. The roots during this ride were icy and wet. It is a great trail, and I really enjoyed it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/22/2010  -  Doug of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: It's a great trail to get some riding in after work. I have ridden there two to three times a week for five years now. I'd classify everything there as rideable for an experienced beginner. Nothing is overwhelming. It is somewhat rooty but hey, it is a trail, you find roots on trails. Keep up your speed and you'll spin right over. Any logs across the trail are either obstacles to make the trail more challenging or deterents to encourage traffic to take an alternate route to controll damage to the trail. Whether it is an obstacle to surmount or a traffic signal is reasonably obvious. At any rate, keep your eyes open, have fun and be safe.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/02/2010  -  PigDog of Weddington, NC
Route Taken: Everything.
Opinions: Ride it all, ride it fast, this is a great trail and will make the others (like sherman branch) seem easy.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/11/2010  -  Brad Long of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Entire Loop (Black, Blue, & Green)
Opinions: I ride Beatty almost everyday and compared to other area trails - Beatty is pretty simple and a great trail to build cardio. Take advantage of the roots - don't let them take advantage of you!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/04/2010  -  Chris of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: All Trails
Opinions: I love these trails. I actually run them a couple time a week in both directions. Ride them sometimes. Tough to get up speed, definitely more technical than US Whitewater Center.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/03/2010  -  rocky of rock hill, sc
Route Taken: blue diamond
Opinions: love this place a lot,, riding roots is a blast,, the idea of this place is to ride really fst and jockey your ass over the roots,, great lines all through this place,, you have to adapt to whatever and just ride and not cry about roots or how lame it is cause it ain't at all,,,pure fun...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/23/2010  -  RobJ of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: I love this trail. People who say it is too rooty need to learn to get off the seat. It has some great sections where you can go pretty fast. The roots are what make most of the hills interesting. There is not much elevation change, but throw a couple 4 inch roots in there and you have yourself a mini challenge. I will be going back frequently. Stand up and use your knees as a shock absorber.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/20/2010  -  Eric O of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Greens and Blues (more blues than greens)
Opinions: This is definitely a beginner trail - even the intermediate (blue) sections are relatively easy for anyone used to trail riding. Like every trail though, there's a spot or two that may catch you off guard so don't take the trail for granted. Trail is poorly marked in some places and there's too many offshoots. You also criss-cross and ride parallel to the road too much. Still, perfect for beginners and leisurely rides.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/05/2010  -  Taylor of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: Everything
Opinions: Roots and more roots, at least on the first black diamond section ann blue up hills
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/18/2010  -  Daniel of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All trails; main, blue, and black
Opinions: Drop in at far end of Dam on blue trail, then finish out the main loop. This will be the most enjoyable and best cardio. Many roots can be avoided with a little careful maneuvering. The black and first blue lines are miserably rooted in my opinion. I will enjoy just riding the above mentioned line.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/16/2010  -  dean of indian trail, nc
Route Taken: green blue
Opinions: Warning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Someone is rolling big logs onto the trail! some were just in the middle. some were placed as if some one want not to take some of the little bypasses be careful gentelman and ladys
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/08/2010  -  Jayson of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Green and Blue
Opinions: Good trail, there are some decent climbs with a good bit of tree roots, nothing terrible hard but somthing to be aware of for those taking young kids. This seems good for beginers and Imediate. I feel like the trail could use a few more signs I think I somehow ended up on parts of the black diamond and didn't know it till I was there.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/04/2010  -  Richard of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Main to the black diamond, black diamond to all the following blue diamond trails.
Opinions: I ride here a lot not. I am getting used to the route and am able to get a lot of speed up. Did the black diamond for the first time today. Its actually not that hard. Its narrow tho. I feel the third blue diamond is harder. As stated below someone is putting logs and large branches over parts of the trail. It is not bad but worries me that someone is going to put a large log in the way and cause an accident. I love this place. Its great cardio and interesting enough to keep me coming back.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/30/2010  -  Kyle R. of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken: greens & blues
Opinions: I have ridden this trail with my son several times and enjoy it. It's short and not too challenging, with some nice small jumps that he can handle. The roots, however, seem to get worse over the years and after yesterday's run we both felt shaken. Is there any way to fix the roots? For someone riding a hardtail like myself it's painful and by the end of 2 laps I can't deal with them any more. I would give this a 5 rating if the roots could be covered or toned down.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/11/2010  -  Steven of Belmont, NC
Route Taken: Did two total laps and rode most of the loops. Skipped the black diamond on the second lap.
Opinions: Great, entertaining. My favorite trail complex so far, but I'm a noob. Roots were conspicuous but not a show-stopper. Nice fast sections and you stay in the woods almost the entire time.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/07/2010  -  Richard of Fort Mill , SC
Route Taken: Green trail and a couple of blue diamonds
Opinions: This is a great and fast trail. Not too hilly with some nice areas to get up some speed. Some nice twisty turny and technical areas on the blue diamonds areas. Its a little bit rooty but not as bad as Anne Springs. Not too difficult overall but a really good workout for cardio. I didn't encounter many pedestrians but can see how you could. I loved the speed of this trail. There are a couple of nice little jumps. Advanced riders may not like the ease of it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/05/2010  -  Todd Stein of Mount Holly, NC
Route Taken: everything, (oops... did miss the one black trail as there were some folks standing at the entrance and I didn't see it)
Opinions: what a blast! this trail is lots of fun! Flat and fast, great for a ride where you want to control your heartbeat. I've read lots of complaints about roots and walkers? There are roots, but most of them are quite small and can easily be ignored. I did see lots of walkers, but they were quick to get off the trail when I called out "Rider Back". I really like this place, I'll ride here regularly from now on.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/05/2010  -  Joey of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: Main Trail
Opinions: It's a great trail for families to ride on together all though there are alot of people walking on the trails and riding bikes the wrong way. I think more signs need to be put up so people will know the right way and the wrong way to go on the trail. My son (8), is just learnig to ride on trails and he loves it. I he wants to race but we have alot of training to do. Great for beginers....
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/03/2010  -  Nick of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Whole loop
Opinions: This trail is a catch 22; the trail, in and of itself, is nicely maintained and very well marked. That said, the roots WILL get on your nerves eventually if you ride anything besides a cushy full-suspension rig with a big fatty seat (which, coincidentally, I do, haha).

Time and energy was definitely put into the creation and maintenance of the trail, and it shows. Thanks to all involved!

Sadly, though, it just isn't worth the jarring ride to enjoy this trail more than once...

Overall, it's a fun, easy (flat) trail that will put a hurtin' on your butt and wrists due to the all-but-unavoidable roots. Ride it if you want, but don't think it won't rough you up a little

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/20/2010  -  Johnathan T of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: green trail once. blue trail 2 times.
Opinions: I'm new to mountain bike riding. I've been riding very fast and hard at McAlpine Greenway Park for the last 8 months, preparing for my first trail ride. It all paid off today. I had a blast!!! Alot less pedestrians than I'm used to. It reminded me of a wooded bmx trail I used to ride, when I was a child, but better. It's longer, has fun elevation changes, and the changing view of the park is great. This trail has all the things I use to dream about putting on my childhood trail. Berms, wooden bridges, and obstacles I never thought of (balance logs). I had a dusty smile, the entire time. I can't wait to see what's on the black diamond. I'm going back tomorrow morning. Thanks alot, Tarheel Trailblazers.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/17/2010  -  John H. of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: ALL
Opinions: Fun ride after work. I clocked 1 lap at about 5.5 miles. Rode two laps and enjoyed the park as a quick afterwork ride. Black diamond trail is not difficult at all so if you are new ride everything and enjoy. Well maintained.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/07/2010  -  rick of pineville, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: great work out near my house but the walkers dont move off the trail even when you call out to them they leave there dog In the trail just to slow you down then tell you to slow down last ride I hit a tree trying to miss some walkers that are there alot. I mean I see them there alot they never get off the trail But back to the trail very fun makes great uses of a little space some small up hills some jumps ,ramps ,board turns,rails and bank turns. marked with mile marker and direction signs for riding and walking PS to the guy that doing 6 laps thats about 3 hours of riding 36 miles you are the man you should try the MT Bike races they have there!!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/06/2010  -  Ben of Wesley Chapel, NC
Route Taken: ALL
Opinions: The trail is a good, quick ride. There is nothing really special about the trails, but there isn't anything bad about them either. They are very, VERY rooty so be ready for that. But other than that they are a good clean ride.

Suburbia continues to get closer and closer to the trail; several neighborhoods are quite close to the trails, you don't always feel like you're actually in the woods. It seems every time I go there are more houses lined up along the edge of the woods.

There have been some recent improvements and additions on the trail and they are positive. I recommend this to anyone who lives right around them. They aren't worth traveling for, but they are still a fun ride.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/11/2009  -  RT of MATTHEWS, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: THIS IS A GOOD FAST WORKOUT. TWO SECTIONS WITH BACK TO BACK TO BACK SHORT CLIMBS. IT DOES HAVE ALOT OF ROOTS THAT SEEM TO CATCH YOU UP SO MAKE SURE YOU WEAR YOUR HELMUT. MANY IMPROVEMEMTS BEHIND THE SPILLWAY AND VERY WELL MAINTAINED.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/26/2009  -  jake of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: very mediocer, to many roots for hardtail,walkers think they own the place. its free but easy and the trails are to windy and packed(too many turnbacks basicly RIGHT next to the othertrail)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/12/2009  -  matt of matthews, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: Too easy for anything over beginner. No drops and TOO MANY ROOTS! Pretty flat except for a couple small climbs and small weak downhill sections. Watch out for the joggers and dog walkers too.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/04/2009  -  Fu of pINEVILLE, nc
Route Taken: NOT REALLY SURE
Opinions: I AM NEW TO THIS AND I HAD A GREAT TIME. NOT TOO HARD FOR A BEGINNER.SOME PARTS WERENT CLEARL MARKED BUT STILL MANAGED.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/01/2009  -  Matt of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Way to rooty and doesn't flow very well unless ridden hard. Roots are fine to an extent, its part of mtn biking or riding anything in the woods but when its this bad is just hard on the body, bike and not enjoyable exspecially after 6 laps or so.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/24/2009  -  Aaron of charlotte, NC
Route Taken: all routes, black, blue and green
Opinions: great quick trail - over in a flash; keep an eye on the roots.....great job tarheel trailblazers...kudos!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/20/2009  -  Scott of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Trail was decent, although very rooty. Also, it's not well marked. Couldn't find the start and got turned around a few times. I have no idea if I did the whole thing or not.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/06/2009  -  Dean of Indain Trail, nc
Route Taken: green dot black diamond blue diamond
Opinions: all the reviews i read said easy trail just a bit rooty. no elavation . well i say "wrong" maybe they are cooler then me but i found it to be very challenging i worked for it , wasnt sherman branch" which was where i was going to go this morning but it was closed due to last nights rain i founf the blue diamond to be the most fun, cedar built berms ,, log ride of death and a good work out. but lots of foot traffic since the walking trail meets up from time to time, but yes a lot of and lots of roots but the trail is made of sand,, the trail would be a lot faster if it were covered but, hey i will ride it again
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/28/2009  -  Andrew of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: all
Opinions: i really liked it. not alot of elevation chnage, but its got some nice little up-n-overs and some small burms. its a fast single track thats got stuff for everyone. the black diamond was rooty, and i ride a hardtail, but i look forward to that stuff
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/18/2009  -  Ben of Wesley Chapel, NC
Route Taken: green trail twice, black diamond once
Opinions: I'm just starting out, but found the green trail very easy. It was enjoyable though. I found the black diamond pretty challenging especially with all the roots. The trails were in good shape (it hasn't rained in a while). I will be going back
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/15/2009  -  Steve Lewis of Pineville, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: This trail has greatly improved (Thank’s to the Tarheel Trailblazers). The advanced segments on this trail were challenging and fun. This trail is a great combination of technical and speed which produces a good workout.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/12/2009  -  Jeep Dad of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: ALL
Opinions: I like the trail overall, as it is conveniently close, beautiful, long enough for a nice workout/cardio session, but not too long so it can be done after work or when you only have an hour or less available. But there are too many roots and has gotten worse with erosion it seems. 29ers probably have an easier time. Rear suspension would help. I have a hardtail and my lower back suffers on the rooty sections. I feel it takes a few times there to get used to the tough spots and learn how to just get the right momemtum to pass roots and obstacles. I am 230lbs so this trail is challenging cardio wise too. :)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/10/2009  -  Carpe of Matthews, North Carolina
Route Taken: I do believe I've tried them all.
Opinions: Francis Beaty Park is right next to my house, so I have been enjoying the trails lately. They are a little rooty, and their isn't a ton of elevation change, but all the built in obstacles are tons of fun, and it usually isn't crowded. Really nice park. The black diamond was pretty challenging.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/08/2009  -  ab9lz of Weddington, nc
Route Taken: blue / black
Opinions: Really nice, much better than anything in the midwest where I came from. The rooty rocky ride is much more technical and fun than sherman branch, which save for a few exciting bits, is pretty boring overall.

Kudos to the trailblazers, really good work.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/03/2009  -  Cary of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: blue and black diamond
Opinions: trail is awesome it is so much fun the black diamond is super bumpy on a hard tail but fun and the blue is some fast single track with some pretty good jumps, overall loads of fun for anyone
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/14/2009  -  John of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: I first rode the green circle trail right of the tennis courts. Then i rode gravity cavity and blue square. Blue square had some awesome new features thx tarheel trailblazers! i then looped back to the tennis courts by the rest of the green circle.
Opinions: The trail was very fun and sometimes challenging. I look forward to riding this trail as much i have in the past.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/10/2009  -  Bernard of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: This was my first TRUE trail and I enjoyed it. Found it hard and challenging. Lots of roots, a few jumps, sharp turns and erosion areas. Overall I'd do it again just for the challenge.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/18/2009  -  Matt Doll of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: blues/blacks where possible
Opinions: Lots of roots on the blues/blacks but still a very fun trail; some small jumps and obstacles in spots... but needs more; nice long trail... almost 6 miles - took 40 minutes
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/16/2009  -  Doug of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All of it
Opinions: Good after work local trail. Somewhat rooty but very fast. Just pedal throught the rough stuff.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/05/2009  -  Bryan of Monroe, nc
Route Taken: The whole thing.
Opinions: These used to be nice trails for all skill levels. Unfortunatley due to all the rain in the past months, and the heavy use, the trails are severely rough and washed out. Large roots and rocks abound and its difficult to maintain any speed. I dont recommend riding these trails unless you have a good rear suspension and an excellent chiropractor. Hopefully some trail work will be done this summer because these are nice trails when kept up.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/04/2009  -  Michael of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All of it
Opinions: This was literally my first time riding on any sort of trail. I just got my bike this week (two thumbs up for South Park Cycles - great people and excellent service) and I had a blast ou there. The first time around I took all the beginner trails and then the second time I took most of the intermediate options and they were loads of fun.

As everyone else has stated there are lots of roots out there but to me this added a lot of fun. I've got a Kona 29er (Kahuna) and it was easy to get over all the roots.

I'll definitely hit this trail again. Next up is Sherman Branch and then Renaissance.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/11/2009  -  Wes of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Green and Blue trails
Opinions: Trails are nice at the moment. Muddy spot just after the "Two Trees" is dry again. Haven't seen any downed trees the past few days that I've been riding there. Really wish people would keep their dogs on leashes. Took a nasty spill when someone's dog decided I looked like a nice toy to play with while trying to navigate some trees. They didn't even apologize for it, either.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/11/2008  -  Ken of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All trails, green, blue and black
Opinions: Great trails, but not for a old hardtail. My hands, arms and backside took a beating. Rocky, rooty in sections (esp. black), but plenty of smooth trails to get a breather. Watch out for runners and walkers (with dogs).
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/10/2008  -  Nick of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Black, Blue, Green
Opinions: These trails offer a little bit for everyone from easy green trails to difficult (and rooty) blacks. Enjoyed every minute.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/28/2008  -  Scooter of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Green/Black Diamond
Opinions: Very nice trail for the first time. Didn't have much time to ride today but, what we did ride was fast. Signs are easy to follow. good speed. and trail was in great shape. Lots of roots, but not as many as Anne Springs. easy uphills, if any. Overall we liked it and are going back to do the entire thing.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/12/2008  -  MarleyMarl of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Blue & Green
Opinions: ok - last entry - 3rd times a charm. Added the Blue trail to enhance my ride and definitely felt the differnece. Great job to all that worked these trails (Blue / Green)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/09/2008  -  MarleyMarl of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Green - novice
Opinions: Perfect morning for a trail ride. Finding that my skills are getting better and that the trail is getting a little easier after my 2nd ride. Will be upgrading to the blue level soon. Still enjoying the Trail layout & terrain.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/04/2008  -  MarleyMarl of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Whole Trail
Opinions: For the beginner "like me" it was perfect. Love the layout - enjoyed how nice & maintained the trail rode. Will be using this course on a weekly basis - Kudos
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/01/2008  -  Best rider in Charlotte of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: All options
Opinions: Great trail but the darn Beatty BEE's keep stinging me and make me crash
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/01/2008  -  Jason S. of Matthews, North Carolina
Route Taken: ALL GREEN AND BLUE
Opinions: Great to get back on the bike again and ride after quite a few years. Roots were a headache, but over all a lot of fun
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/25/2008  -  Bruce of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken: Have ridden all options a few times, mostly greens with daughter and wife.
Opinions: Fun, excellent trail to begin on. As a newbie myself that has tried some other trails, this one is a great way to start to build some bike-stamina and get used to being in the saddle again.

Some good challenges, roots can be a nuisance, but what can you do about that? Gramps and crew are doing a great job out there. Thank you to all of TrailBlazers for their work and commitment to make this a fun ride for all.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/24/2008  -  Victor of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: whole thing
Opinions: Great trail not to technical and uphills will give you a good work out. I was just wondering if there will be any more jumps built at the trail? The ones already there are small and not difficult and few.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/06/2008  -  Jeff of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Whole loop
Opinions: I rode the trail this morning, and there about 15 trees across the trail. I removed the first two, and then gave up. Be careful out there.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/07/2008  -  Dan of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: whole trials black diamond ext...
Opinions: Really easy! For brginner mtb bikers after riding it 6 times in the past 3 months it gets boring easiest trial i have ever been on. Its good if your looking for a well kept easy 1 hour trial to ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/26/2008  -  Jim of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken: Rode entire perimeter and one black diamond option.
Opinions: Trailblazers have done phenomenol work again in patching this trail, adding jumps, banks, bridges and logs--and rerouting washouts. Trail continues to be one of my favs. Big pine tree was down on black diamond option behind fenced park trash area. Recent winds must have toppled it and I am sure the park maintenance team, or 'Blazers, will get it out of the way soon!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/22/2008  -  Eric of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail. I have ridded this trail several times and it is brutal on the backside. I recently got a 29er and found that it absorbs almost all of the root shock. Now this trail rides smooth as glass. It always has been enjoyable, but oh so much more now.
Opinions: The trail is fairly simple with mild drops and some sand.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/27/2008  -  Dwayne of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: full route minus the black diamond
Opinions: rode the trail for the first time on 1/26, went back the next day and did two loops. very enjoyable trail. i am a complete noob to mountain biking and was looking for a different cardio workout than the usual treadmill/eliptical at the YMCA. the trail was in great shape, the first section was a bit tacky near the dam but the worst section had been roped off so that took care of that. there are many many roots but they add to the fun of the course for me. if you want a super smooth ride stick to the asphalt :) gramps and the trailblazers have done a great job maintaining this trail. hopefully my bike will hold out and not crap out on me because i'd like to continue using this trail at least once of week.

the climbs are fairly mild, even for a beginner like me. i'm not a speed demon so i took my time on the course and let the faster riders on by.

there were a good many people out running/walking the trail and a good many dogs, some on leashes some not but everyone i came across was polite and moved over to let me by with no fuss. now i just gotta get my wife a bike and get her started.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/14/2007  -  Jeff of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Blue and black where possible, rode the whole trail in about one hour
Opinions: Tricky in places, fun throughout. The roots will beat you up, but they add challenges and a better workout. I had the place almost to myself at 3 pm.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/20/2007  -  tyler of matthews, nc
Route Taken: complete loop with black diamond options- 5.5 miles
Opinions: well designed and maintained trails. watch for walkers and dogs- on and off leashes
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/22/2007  -  Sean of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All trails as marked green blue black
Opinions: I was only able to get in one lap due to oncomming weather. My impression is that it is a fun trail, with some tech in the trail. Not structures or gaps, jums kind of things just dips and little drops from general riding and erosion. I came there with pre- conceived notion that it would be a rooty mess. While rooty it was not as bad as it sounded. There really was not much climbing to speak of but over all it is a fun trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/11/2007  -  rider1 of matthews, nc
Route Taken: all sections black diamond
Opinions: This is a great beginner trail. Everyone complains about the roots but this is a moountain bike trail. We are riding in the woods where there are trees and roots. If you want to ride on a smooth surface go to Mcalpine greenway or the street. If you learn how to ride over the roots and by keeping your momentum then it isn't that bad at all. It takes practice and time. This is the first step of learning how to mtn bike. I love this trail and its a great work out.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/07/2007  -  jon of matthews, nc
Route Taken: all green & blue
Opinions: If you're a beginner, and looking to step up to 'real' mountain biking (from say, the street or greenways), this is the PERFECT place for you to break yourself in. Roots galore, mild drops, fast areas, some mild climbs, and sand combine for a great ride. Complaints - way too many roots, esp. on the blue section. Honestly, i'm enjoying this trail less and less because it's a good cardio workout, but it's friggin' brutal on me to constantly be beat up over all the roots. brutal. Highly recommended overall, but you'll probably want to move on to Fisher Farm or others pretty quickly.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/29/2007  -  John of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: Green Dots
Opinions: Great for a beginner but all the roots gave me a sore bumm and I dont have a whole lot of "natural padding".
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/24/2007  -  Rob of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: For a new rider (like myself), its a perfect trail. Challenging but not intimidating. Less elevation change compared to Anne Springs, and plenty of roots. The trails are well marked and you can stick to the easy Greens if you'd like, or the more challenging Blues.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/15/2007  -  brico of fort mill, SC
Route Taken: whole thing.
Opinions: great trail to keep in shape on and to hone your skills. no real difficult climbs. several options off the main loop make it nice for the casual or serious rider. not an intense trail by any means but with some speed the advanced rider is able to challenge him/herself in the technical aspects. fun and swift! ps: who takes that log jump/hop thing?
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/22/2007  -  Jeff of Matthews, North Carolina
Route Taken: All Trains Black,Blue,Green
Opinions: Great trail!!! Easy enough for a beginner or a good challenge for an experience rider.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/22/2007  -  Jeff of Matthews, North Carolina
Route Taken: All Trails Black,Blue,Green
Opinions: Great trail!!! Easy enough for a beginner or a good challenge for an experience rider.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/16/2007  -  Lyn of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All (except black trails)
Opinions: OK trail...nice for a short ride. Too many tree roots make for a rugged ride. Have ridden dozens of times and keep going back.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/26/2007  -  Abe & Sone Nick of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: Green and Blue
Opinions: Great trails, very fun(for a semi-fat guy getting back into it) and my 12 year old. Well marked, nice turns and bumps. We will be back.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/16/2007  -  Adam of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Easiest
Opinions: Great! The easy trails are a lot of fun, and the hard ones are REALLY HARD. This is a great all around park, and traffic is low.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/10/2007  -  J Buturff of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Whole loop, starting by tennis courts
Opinions: Not a very difficult trail, but great fun for everyone. I take my 4- and 6-yr old boys, and they can complete the whole loop (only stopping to push at a couple spots). My 4-yr old is convinced he's ready to try the blues. :)

Thanks to the TrailBlazers for keeping the trails in great shape.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/11/2007  -  Plezsnow of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Entire loop with black diamond options
Opinions: Mostly wide, smooth flowing, not very technical...but still a fun ride, great markings, even my beginner wife handled the black diamonds without problem.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/15/2007  -  Blake of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: entire trail
Opinions: This trail is great for the rider who is looking to work on racing skills. The trail is fast with good terrain changes and always drains quickly after a heavy rain. Your hands will take a beating with all the roots, but all in all a fun ride. Good race pace will be 25 - 28 minutes per lap including the black diamond. Beatty is a great place to get in a quick couple of laps after work and has enough elevation change to keep your legs in good shape along with fun short down hills.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/01/2007  -  Chris Smith of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: Tennis Court to Black Diamond, Blue Diamonds, Black Diamond
Opinions: Great workout...all of the black and blue diamond trails in the loop are good for 1500 k/Cals in only one hour. Plenty of room to pass the slow riders. Prepare to pass many walkers/dogs/wrong-way Mongoose riders. The trail is very well maintained by the Trailblazers and makes an excellent after-work cardio workout. Nothing technical here, although there are an endless supply of sharp and slippery roots. Since the trail surrounds a Meck County park, you have a million opportunities to drop off the trail and head back to the car. There is also plenty of things for your wife and small children if necessary.

The black diamond ratings on two of the trails are a little unnecessary. When I see black diamond, I expect something requiring expert riding ability. The black diamonds at Beatty Park are more like Blue Diamonds that can be easily traversed by average riders with good equipment.

Overall, this is a fun trail that makes a good destination in Meck/Union Counties. I ride this trail a couple times per week for the cardio. It isn't technically difficult but is so well maintained that it's worth the trip. Oh yea, it's also free.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/05/2006  -  Steve of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Start at Rec Center-All loops
Opinions: Good trail for after work workout. I am 57 and have been riding less than a year. The trail has a lot of roots and lately some small trees have fallen across the trail. Black diamond has some narrow bridges and one dropin. Not much elevation change. When in doubt walk your bike past the obsticle. Look out for joggers and dog walkers, not many though.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/21/2006  -  Doug of mooresville, nc
Route Taken:
Opinions: reading the description on this trail made me think it was flat dirt. But I had a lot of Fun. No long climbs,but climbs just the same. A lot of roots. Has this trail been built up since the description was written?
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/24/2006  -  will of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: great trail to learn on and to take the kids on, has tthe option to more and less diffuclt trails and is very clearly marked
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/03/2006  -  Travis. R of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: full loop
Opinions: Very nice trail for beginners with a couple little challenges for them to learn on. Its a flowing trail wich is pretty fast, good for quick workout
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/03/2006  -  Daniel of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Full loop.
Opinions: First time on the trail. Went with a coworker. We have a fun time. Park was well maintained and trails were in excellent riding conditions. Level of difficulty is not too hard but is a nice little work out. We will be back and will bring more guests.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/02/2006  -  David of Kannapolis, NC
Route Taken: Parked at Tennis Courts down hill entered trail to the right. full loop
Opinions: Not too technical however has it's sections that can be a little tricky. Very fun and overall easy to ride gret work Trailblazers.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/17/2006  -  rt of charlotte, nc
Route Taken:
Opinions: great for a mid week workout to prepare for one of the bigger more technical trails around town. very fast track but not to technical or advanced. good place to take a beginner.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/15/2006  -  David of Rock Hill , SC
Route Taken: ALL
Opinions: A perfect trail for a newbie such as myself. Not very taxing but technical enough to entice future enthusiasts. Hats off to the Trailblazers for a clean and well-maintained trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/14/2006  -  Scott of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken: All Routes
Opinions: Very fun trail. I love riding here. There are some difficult areas there are some easy areas. Something for all riders. Now the trails have signs to mark the difficulty of the route. Great for beginners.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/12/2005  -  Scott of Pineville, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Fun trail...will continue to be a fun trail if people will stop riding right after it rains...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/20/2005  -  Earl of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Started near the Rec. center and completed loop.
Opinions: This is a great trail for beginners and intermeidates or those who need a good 5+ miles trail for a good workout. Not as technical as Renaissance nor does it have as many tough climbs but the trail flows quite well. The Trailblazers have done an awesome job with the trail upkeep. This trail is a bit longer than some of the others so be sure to have a camel bak full of H2O.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/01/2005  -  Kristy Miller of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: I think my husband and I rode the entire trail.
Opinions: I am just about a complete beginner & my husband is probably advanced. We both loved the trail. At times I had to walk my bike. This was the most challenging ride I ever experienced & can't wait to do it again.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/26/2005  -  Rob S of Harrisburg, NC
Route Taken: Beginner trails
Opinions: Very good. I am a complete beginner never been mtn biking before. First loop was scary. 2nd less scary.. by the 3rd trip around I had a lot of fun!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/25/2004  -  MoD of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Full Loop with creek option
Opinions: Drive all the way to the back, park by the lake/community center. Unmarked double-track trail along lake(100-150 yards) leads to trail access. Fun trail that you can go fast on in many sections! Hopefully, the proposed running trail(paved?) will not interfere too much with the MTB route. As previously stated not much elevation change. There are a few very fast sections(by Soccer Fields). There are several obstacles included along the trail...nice see-saw! Several bridges. Southern part of loop is like a mini roller coaster in many sections - fast, hard packed, and lightly technical. Only a few sections are excessively rooty. Have noticed people out jogging and walking(with dogs) on the trail - keep an eye out for them. Get out and show that there is a strong MTB presence out there...just do it politely! ;-)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/05/2004  -  Tommy of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: whole trail
Opinions: I was out on the trail after heavy rains last week and the trails wer ein perfect shape. Even had dust on the forks. The trail is in excellent riding conditions. The trail is fairly easy, but it is fast. It's a fun ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/27/2004  -  drew of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: the whole trail
Opinions: i was out riding today and i saw a kid out on the trail in the back near the houses picking up trash on the trail. that shouldnt be needed b/c people should be throwing their trash out, but thanks to that kid. plus the riding out there has been great these past few weekends.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/07/2004  -  drew of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: i dunno just hit the trail off the road
Opinions: i thought this trail rocked it was a great ride. just watch out or the trees, i hit one and now i got some nice cuts and stuff on my leg. but other then that great ride not too hard or anything.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/02/2004  -  Mike of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Outer and inner loops
Opinions: This trail was far better than I was lead to believe. There is very little elevation change, however, that does not distract from the fast, tight and often technical fun. There are several "toys", including log crossing (if you have the huevos...I did not), zig-zag bridge and a see-saw. There are numerous small jumps to get a little hang time.

I would recommend it for all levels, but I think that beginner/novices will especially appreciate the ride.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/17/2003  -  Jason B. Vicks of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: The Complete Route.
Opinions: This was my first time riding a trail. It was a great experience and the course was excellent.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/25/2003  -  Jerry of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken: Don't really know.
Opinions: Lots of roots. No elevation. It's been a long time, so this is a good small trail to begin with, but I'm hoping for something a little more physically challenging from a racing perspective.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/13/2003  -  Brandon Hasson of Winston Salem, NC
Route Taken: 77-s to 485-w.
Opinions: This a fun trail that all levels of skill can enjoy. Very much a family atmosphere park and the trail encourages family enjoyment.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/13/2003  -  Brandon Hasson of Winston Salem, NC
Route Taken: 77-s to 485-w.
Opinions: This a fun trail that all levels of skill can enjoy. Very much a family atmosphere park and the trail encourages family enjoyment.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/22/2003  -  Ty Coleman of Wesley Chapel, NC
Route Taken: Outer loop
Opinions: This was a great trail. Great for kids too. I took my 12 yr/old son. And my 3 yr old(in her bike seat). They loved it. Not to hard. But fun enough to keep your interest up at all times. My 3 yr old keep reminding me to watch out for woots(roots lol). WELL maintained. Can't wait to go back without the backseat driver!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/10/2003  -  DAVID of FORT MILL, SC
Route Taken: STARTED AT THE FIRST B.B GOALS ON LEFT AND MADE TWO LOOPS, INNER LOOP INCLUDED.
Opinions: WHOEVER HAS DONE THE WORK ON THIS TRAIL DESERVES A HUGE THANK YOU! MOST OF THE TROUBLE SPOTS ARE FIXED, AND NO HUGE FEE TO RIDE. TRAIL IS FAST.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/01/2003  -  Dai of Concord, NC
Route Taken: After kind park "ranger" gave me his only extra map copy of trails, I rode entire outer loop starting from Hall at pond. Avoided inner technical loop.
Opinions: Haven't ridden bike in 3 yrs; so this was a great workout for me as a beginner; just enough of everything to keep from being monotonous: roots, tight trees, curves, dips, bridges, logs, mild climbs...yet enough to literally take my breath away...I'm out of shape!!! Trail is well maintained!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/16/2003  -  Drew of Weddington, NC
Route Taken: All available
Opinions: This is where I usually ride after school with my friends. This trail is fun and can be a good workout. When training do the long loop first and then the short for about 10.5 miles. Great for beginners to intermediate
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/03/2002  -  Tim of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Rode the loop twice from the parking lot by the tennis courts.
Opinions: I am fairly new to MTB, and found this trail to be a lot of fun. I've been out to Poplar Tent, Catawba, and Renaissance and those are great tracks, but this was definitely more manageable and a great place to hone basic skills. There were lots of recreational riders, walkers, and a few dogs on the trail, so that slowed it down a bit. But overall it's a good intro to Charlotte trails.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/03/2002  -  Tim of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Rode the loop twice from the parking lot by the tennis courts.
Opinions: I am fairly new to MTB, and found this trail to be a lot of fun. I've been out to Poplar Tent, Catawba, and Renaissance and those are great tracks, but this was definitely more manageable and a great place to hone basic skills. There were lots of recreational riders, walkers, and a few dogs on the trail, so that slowed it down a bit. But overall it's a good intro to Charlotte trails.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/28/2002  -  Joshua Smith of Charlotte, N.C.
Route Taken:
Opinions: Pretty cool for being in the city. I can ride there from my house and serve the trails for an hour, and feel like I got a good workout thanks for maintaining these trails.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/23/2002  -  JTrekker of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: I road the full loop around the park.

BTW: this park is NOT near Pineville. The nearest town is Matthews, or Weddington.

Opinions: Trail is a great quick workout. Not too difficult but challenging due to the twists and turns. Plenty of opportunity to smash into a tree (no, I didn't). The club is doing an excellent job of maintaining this trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/04/2002  -  Mike of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All- entered in by lodge at lake
Opinions: Great trail for after work (45-60 minute ride). Not to terribly difficult. In great shape. Very fun beginner to intermediate trails. Options for the tougher parts. Thanks to all who keep it up.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/29/2002  -  Stephen of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: As much of the trail as I could find
Opinions: It was pretty good, but I had a hard time figuring out where the trail started and I lost it 1nce or 2ce where it meets the road. It could be marked a little better. It is not too technical, I am kinda new to this so I had to take it kinda slow in some of the switch backs. The gravity cavity(I think thats what it was supposed to be) was a little small, but fun.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/09/2002  -  Rick of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Directions above are seemingly accurate. However, I am new to the area and not really familiar with the roads.
Opinions: Trail is marked and maintained very well. Overall, not too difficult, but some sections are quite narrow and tortuous. Easy access regarding parking etc.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/01/2002  -  John of Charlotte, nc
Route Taken:
Opinions: Very fast, a few jumps very tamed
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/16/2002  -  Bob of Rock Hill, SC
Route Taken: Have ridden all to include the optional sections
Opinions: Excellent for all skill levels. Very Fast, not too technical, but plenty of opportunity to crash.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/09/2002  -  Mike of Matthews, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: In response to Ben's post about riding Beatty after a rain: I live near this trail and ride it often. I'm dismayed at how many riders use it immediately after rain. It drains well now, but this kind of abuse will rip up this great trail that the Trail Blazers worked very hard to build. Please be consi
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/24/2001  -  Ben of Charlote, NC
Route Taken: Directions to the trail are stated above. Its pretty easy to get their and their are always other riders at this trail.
Opinions: I rode this trail recently after a heavy rain and I have to say, without a doubt, this is the best trail to ride after a rain because it doesn't get to mucked up. Most trails get really slippery and shifty, but this one is great to ride when its wet. I would recommend this trail for new riders because it doesn't really have to much technical stuff on it. It is a fast ride and you be weaving in and out of trees a lot. This is a nice loop and has plenty of parking. Watch out for the kiddies and other walkers. Please be polite. Not to difficult, but well kept and a fast ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/13/2001  -  Bike*rdr of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Full loop, including all optional trails.
Opinions: This trail is 5 minutes from my house, so I've been riding it since it was built. Hats off to the design team for the initial trail and the new sections! This trail has a great mix of terrain, is fast in most sections, and will have you weaving in and out of trees. Don't forget to play on the jumps at the dam near the lake and watch out for walkers and dogs on the trails! Great for new riders.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/23/2001  -  chuck of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: This trail can actually be 6 miles of you take the optional.
Opinions: Great for beginners. Fun, quick ride with a couple of fast downhill sections. Elevation changes are not too extreme, but you will take a pounding from the roots.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/05/2001  -  taylor of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: most of the trail
Opinions: it is a good trail and fast in places.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/01/2001  -  Jazzy Jay Cee of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: The long way.
Opinions: It was quite exhilarating with a tad of suspense. Woods smell like paparika. Supwidat? ?:~D
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

 
Tarheel Trailblazers | 182 Saddle Road | Mooresville, NC 28115
 
DHTML / Menu by OpenCube