Photo: Headerpic3.jpg

 
Jetton Park
Trail Information
Nearest City: Cornelius, NC
How to get there: I-77, exit 28. West on Catawba ave. to Jetton Rd. Mountain bike trails are on the opposite side of Jetton Road from the park entrance.
Trail Length: 1.1 miles
Trail Description: A true beginner trail, physical-challenged accessible. Beautiful, rolling trail through hardwood and pine forests. Minimal elevation change (~30').
Other Info: Trail has been built to accommodate "mountain hand cycles" for the physically challenged...A $10K grant provided by Transamerican Reinsurance Company has purchased two of the hand cycles for use by the adaptive sports community. Contact the Cycle Path in Cornelius (704)896-3331 for details.

 

Review this trail


 

Trail Reviews

Date Ridden: 07/11/2016  -  Greg of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise
Opinions: This trail is often touted as a great beginner or kid friendly trail. I'd say it's great for adult beginners as there was nothing overly technical that I saw, but for a true beginner child it's still a bit difficult. I took my son there and he had a very hard time, bailing/ falling several times which led him to lose confidence for the past five months or so. For an adult it seems like it would be a fun, if very short loop to hit. Maybe as a warmup for LNSP? I personally wouldn't make the 45 min drive there just for Jetton when I can be at LNSP (my personal favorite in the area) in an hour.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/30/2014  -  Tysonlb of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise
Opinions: As a beginner, I thought this trail had an excellent mix of technical and flowey features. Lots of leaves this time of year, but the trail was well maintained and ready for riding. For the beginners out there: there are a couple of big root sections to go up and down, but there is plenty of room to stop and check them out beforehand. I really like how the trail is short enough to allow multiple trips without ever being stuck far from your car.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/28/2014  -  Melissa of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise
Opinions: As a VERY recent beginner I found this trail very challenging. I went around four times and it was a good workout for me. I am 24 and in pretty good shape but very new to MTB. I am having issues with toe overlap on my bike and trying to train myself to peddle correctly. I also found the sharp turns very difficult to manage at times. I didn't fall at least.....

Would appreciate any suggestions on learning to take sharp turns/other places to bike to practice turns without so many trees.

I was also disappointed by people running on the trail and walking with dogs and children. This trail is clearly labeled for mountain biking.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/27/2013  -  Thom Tillis of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken: Jetton Park
Opinions: I first proposed a trail at this location in 2001. I live about a mile away. It is a great beginner trail that I am sure has hooked others into more challenging single track. It is a great warm up before you head over to North Meck Park, Fisher Farm Park (Davidson), and Lake Norman State Park (Troutman). Speed adds difficulty and multiple laps will give you a good workout (I did 10 nonstop laps on Sunday). It would be good to have one or two mini loops with a few intermediate challenges but I know space is limited. You can bring your kids and take it slow and they will love it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/29/2012  -  PScherer79 of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise (2 laps) / Counter-clockwise (2 laps)
Opinions: Stopped by this trail on my way home from another trail. For a green trail, very enjoyable. At 1 mile long, you can do many laps. Nice rock gardens and flows great. Well maintained even if not one of the top trails. As others have mentioned, to avoid the fee ($3 if park at Jetton Park), park at one of the businesses down the road and bike to the trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/10/2012  -  Paul of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise
Opinions: Pretty good beginner tail. Fast if you want. Little rooty in spots, but normal. Hard to find as other posters mentioned. It's across the street from Jetton Park via the cross walk, then slightly right into the grass field then look left. The $3 Jetton Park fee is only on weekends till 4pm otherwise free. Could park at a business up the street for free.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/17/2012  -  jeremiah of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: clock wise (left)
Opinions: Great beginner trail or test run for new & repaired equipment. Trail was fun, fast & easy but not much of a challenge. Still, I really enjoyed it. The trail is mostly flat and the view is pretty much wide open and unobstructed so can pump as fast as you want with having to worry about any surprises. That being said, I was very pleased with the lack of hiker & dog walker traffic even though the parking lot was full. Most of them seemed to stick to the park for a change. My only minor complaint is that you have to pay $3 for parking which is across the street. It would make a great place to stop off for a quick lap or two after work if not for having to pay each time you ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/04/2011  -  Tim of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken: Counter Clockwise (as marked)
Opinions: This was my first trail ride in a long time. It was very enjoyable and kept me guessing. The one mile length makes it great for beginners like myself. It was well kept and easy to get to.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/04/2011  -  Tim of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise (as marked)
Opinions: Clockwise not counter clockwise.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/12/2011  -  Lee of Maiden, NC
Route Taken: clockwise
Opinions: I haven't been on my MTB in a few years, gained a little weight, lost some endurance, etc. Convinced my 9 year old son to try the trail on his MTB. He loved it, so much that we rode it a second time, after I let him rest a bit. :) The trail was in great shape, mostly dry, even with all the rain last week. I'm 47 and not an extreme rider, so this trail was great for the both of us. We'll ride it again, SOON. I look forward to taking him to North Meck and the Itusi trails one of these days.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/18/2010  -  Daniel of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise
Opinions: For beginners only. I rode it and found myself upset by the end of the trail. The trail can be as fast as you would like but be very careful with some of the turns becuase I found there is sand in some and if you lean to much you could lose your control. Dont think I will ride this trail again mostly becuase it wasnt even a cardio workout. Perfect for your kids.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/01/2009  -  Peter of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: full loop
Opinions: Posted before and had wrong trail. This is the perfect trail to take your young kids on who are interested in getting started. A little taste of everything for them. Rock garden, little bit of technical climbing and decent, etc. Definately not for anyone with experience looking for a challenge, but a PERFECT beginner trail for someone to get a basic taste of mountain biking. Yes, the trail starts ACROSS the street from the entrance to Jetton Park. You have to walk back on the grass towards the woods and then you see the trail head. There are NO signs visible from the road.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/05/2009  -  scott of Charotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: I went out on this trail this morning with my 7 yr old son and it was a blast. This was his first MTB experience and he's hooked. There was enough switchback on the trail and roots to avoid to keep it interesting for me and the rolling single track kept it exciting for him. Also the mile loop was great because it wasn't a huge commitment if he got tired. We ended up doing 2 did 2 laps with a ride through the park afterwards.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/16/2009  -  Dave of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Great trail for a first time rider to test out mountain biking. Note there is a $3 fee to enter Jetton Park.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/09/2009  -  Margaret of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: This is a great family friendly trail. My six year old starting riding this year and loves it. We usually go in a group including my 10 year old son and 12 year old friend. They all ride at different speeds so the short trail (1 mile) is good to keep from getting too separated. We can regroup before doing another lap. My husband enjoys running the trail in addition to biking it. The trail can be difficult to find, it is NOT in Jetton Park, but directly across from it, behind a large oak tree, and bear left into the woods. There are signs marking the way at that point. This trail is a great introduction to mountain biking.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/20/2009  -  Charles of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken: clockwise from start
Opinions: This is a good trail to test new equipment on, and for a 48 year old out of shape guy getting back into riding. I am sure experienced riders would find it borning but it is a good place to get a feel for equipment and to get back into shape and into mountain biking. it is a bit difficult to find but once you do it is an eacy trail to follow.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/09/2009  -  Dave of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: accross from park
Opinions: Once I found the trail I found it to be decent. I am getting back into riding so I am a bit out of shape and found this to be easy but good to sharpen my skills. plenty of turns. It was short and not real difficult, nice for a short ride after work.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/31/2009  -  Matt of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: unknown
Opinions: While i would have loved to actually ride this trail, we were unable to find it. There was no information at the Jetton Park Kiosks about it. I assumed that the information was old. It would be really great if there was a posted sign (aside from the one that says it is Meck County property..) that indicates you are in the right area...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/01/2009  -  charles of huntersville, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: LAME, these trails are nothing more than riding a bike through some pine trees. very boring. i cant belive the tt would even list this place, great place for dog walking.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/18/2009  -  Jack van der Mark of Concord, North Carolina
Route Taken: Clockwise from the starting point
Opinions: For a very out of shape 47 year old who was on a mountain bike for the very first time, this trail was a bit tough. However, this was due to me not being in shape and not the conditions on the trail. It was a very good first trail for me. I took two laps around it and had a great time. I only wish it was nearer Concord so I could get to it more often

Only Complaint: It is hard to find. Eventhough I had read this trail was across from the entrance to Jetton Park, it took me 10 minutes to find it. A sign at the road would help greatly!

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/09/2009  -  Tony of Mooresville, nc
Route Taken: Jetton Park
Opinions: Took my 10 year old son for first ride on a MTB trail and he loved it. Did 2 laps with him and one myself all out. A real blast and he cannot wait to go back.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/28/2008  -  Shane of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Previous poster was in the wrong place. The mountain bike trailhead is across Jetton Rd. from the park entrance.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/01/2008  -  Peter of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Took my two boys, age 8 and 9 because i read that this was a great beginner trail, but only found a paved path going around the park...There were a couple of short branches which were unpaved, but this was by no means a mountain bike trail...or was I in the wrong place?
Opinions: this is not a MTB trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/20/2008  -  sarah of cornelius, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: It's awsome! It i short but i just started biking anyway. It's really fun and easy.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/01/2008  -  Robert of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken: The road
Opinions: Is there even a trail here? I couldn't find it. I went here with my 9 year old sister and I was going to teach her to ride on a trail, but all I could find was the foot path.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/21/2007  -  Ken of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken: Rode trail in correct direction, clockwise
Opinions: Easy trail, takes about 6 minutes to complete 1 lap, nothing too strenuous, good for beginners, good stress release after work
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/15/2007  -  Doug of Davidson, NC
Route Taken: loop
Opinions: I took my 5- and 8-year old here to ride, and it was perfect for that. Other trails in the area are too difficult for them at this point. If you are looking for somewhere to take a real beginner, or young kids, you can do that here and still have fun.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/19/2007  -  Margaret & Logan of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken: Followed the arrows, clockwise.
Opinions: My son Logan(8) and I rode today, we are very much beginners and had an excellent time. Very friendly trail, great kid-friendly activity. Love it, will do it again and again.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/03/2007  -  Flyinelvis of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail, ridden clockwise.
Opinions: I finally got to ride the trail that was complete the previous weekend. A fun, rolling trip through hardwoods and pine forests. We utilized many techniques to make this a demonstration trail for land managers. Banked turns, whoo-dee-doos, dips some short climbs, culvert crossing, bridge, "Roman Roads", switchback climb. The trail was the first Trailblazer built trail to be totally constructed with mechanized equipment. A great benchmark for future Metro-Charlotte trail construction techniques. Acquiring a grant to purchase mountain trikes for the physically challenged is still in process.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/14/2006  -  Jaden of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise
Opinions: Nice and easy trail. Minimal root exposure.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

 
Tarheel Trailblazers | 182 Saddle Road | Mooresville, NC 28115
 
DHTML / Menu by OpenCube