Photo: Headerpic3.jpg

 
Poston Park
Trail Information
Nearest City: Lowell, N.C.
How to get there: : Take Exit 22 off of HWY85. Turn RIGHT off the HWY onto Main Street and drive thru downtown Lowell. After about 2.5 miles George Poston Park enterance is on the LEFT.
Trail Length: 6+ miles.
Trail Description: Poston Trail is built and maintained by the Piedmont Area Singletrack Alliance (www.bikepasa.com). Poston is made up of very hilly terrain making for a nice cardio workout with very little flat sections. The woods are very thick and the corridor is kept tight making for some nice singletrack trail. In addition to the singletrack there is a scattering of technical optionals along the way....from steep downhills, to drops, to jumps on the trail...Poston has a little something for everybody to enjoy. Poston trail is still under construction so new mileage is added every few months. There's also plenty of interesting natural highlights including a rocky stream that the trail crosses on several occasions, a fern forest, huge live oaks, large leaf magnolias, lots of wildlife, and much more. For the more adventurous, feel free to explore the powerline cut!
Other Info: : George Poston Park is open everyday from 6AM to 11PM. Help protect the park - If you hear or see ATV's (quads, dirt bikes, 4x4's) on the trail, the powerline cut, or riding through the park please call Gaston County Police dispatch at 704.866.3300 and report it as that's considered trespassing.

 

Review this trail


 

Trail Reviews

Date Ridden: 06/26/2017  -  Chris of Crouse, NC
Route Taken: Kids Loop,Lake Loop
Opinions: By Kids Loop, they mean little kids. Like 5 or 6. My two and I rode it and the Lake Loop, and at 8 and 10 years old they each had a couple sections they had to walk their bikes. No big deal. We also had a couple times that we weren't sure which way to go, even though the trail is fairly well marked altogether. We came upon a "shortcut" sign and our options were to turn right or left, neither of which was marked as the shortcut or trail. It's pretty tight and twisty, with roots and stumps and couple downed trees across the trail. All in all we had a great time and plan to go back to try some of the other loops. Mark the interchanges a little better and this trail would be 5 stars.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/13/2016  -  Chris of Gastonia, NC
Route Taken: Lake Loop, Laurel Hill. Haven't ridden since there was just the one original trail option many years ago. I believe that old trail is now the new parking area and maybe a portion of the kid's loop. I gave a 4 on trail difficulty based on the constant barrage of tree roots.
Opinions: Hmmm. O.K. I remembered what it was that I wasn't crazy about with this trail. It's tight and the trail has a lot of tree roots that you just can't avoid. The trails are good, narrow singletrack and overall, good to ride. But you just get jarred and beaten up with all the roots. I will go back and give the Soccer loop a try at some point and if it's o.k., I might eventually try Big Leaf and Spencer Mountain loops. Maybe.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/25/2016  -  Steven A of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Soccer, Spencer Mountain, Big Leaf, Laurel Hill, Lake loops for approximately 9.5 miles.
Opinions: I was really impressed with the layout, flow, and maintenance of the trails. There is a fun mix of tight, twisting single track through the pines with some rocky, rooty climbs and fast, bumpy descents. The trail's technical and cardio difficulty I would classify as intermediate with some more difficult portions. This is not a beginner trail. There are quite a few optional advanced jumps for the experts. The trails are well signed and blazed though I took a map to help me with the trail loop names at the intersections. The trail mileage is about 3 more miles than the posted 6.5 with a lot of elevation changes so prepare to hydrate and fuel accordingly.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/26/2016  -  Daniel of Mount Holly , Nc
Route Taken: Lake loop, big red, laurel and soccer loop.
Opinions: This trail is well maintained but needs better signage. I will say, the lake, big red and laurel loops are not for beginners. There are many technical sections uphill and downhill that do not have alternate routes. Being on the sides of a steep hills, I wouldn't take these trails if you don't know your way around a mountain bike. Soccer loop was honestly set up better and was generally more fun to ride. If you are a beginner, I recommend starting on the soccer loop witch you can access behind the baseball fields.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/08/2015  -  Katie of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Lake Loop, Laurel Loop and Big Leaf loop
Opinions: This was a fun, technical ride and a nice change from the whitewater center for not too much longer of a drive from center city Charlotte. I would love to go back and ride the Soccer Loop and Spencer Mountain loop. Trails were well marked, except for at the junction of the red Big Leaf to the Blue Soccer loop. It looked like the trail was closed and we had to carry our bikes over a knee high wire in the trail. We assumed this wire was there to prevent 4 wheelers from using the trail, but it was still a bit confusing. Other than that, it was a great ride and I would definitely ride again!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/16/2015  -  Eric of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Lake Loop - Laurel Hill Loop
Opinions: If Poston isn't part of your rotation - you might want to reconsider. When I first rode this trail 4 years ago, it was a disconnected and confusing mess of sketchy singletrack that just kind of wandered around. Half of it was impassable hike-a-bike stuff. Then I went back a year later and rode with the PASA guys and saw some definite progress.

I went back for the first time in three years yesterday - holy...

Those guys really got their act (and this trail) together. Some of the best maintained and well thought out trail around here. Plenty of elevation changes but you never really feel like you're just grinding along and slogging it uphill for a cheap thrill downhill. The trail flows really well. There are climbs, but nothing exhausting, and the downhills are sweet but rarely white knuckle (there are some chances to jump though - and one or more descents that will check your gut).

I only had time to ride Lake Loop and Laurel Hill but could see how they seamlessly integrated and expanded the old trail. Can't wait to see the rest of the system.

I'm glad I went back - you will be too.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/14/2014  -  Trent of York, SC
Route Taken: All trails
Opinions: Great trail system, when I hear the term singletrack I think of Poston! This is a tight trail that requires some skill, I would not recommend this trail to beginners or someone new to clip in pedals. The trails have been newly marked and are easy to follow, especially if you spend a minute or two at the trailhead map. If your looking for a tight technical singletrack trail that has a considerable amount of climbing especially for the area, give Poston a try.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/29/2013  -  Russell of Marietta, GA
Route Taken: Lake Loop, ? Loop, Red Leaf, Soccer Loop, Spencer Mtn Loop and back.
Opinions: Great find, great time! Tight and twisty trail. Better track stand skills would have come in handy. Thanks to bikepasa and Poston Park for building this trail. I'll be coming back on my next trip to Charlotte
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/14/2013  -  Justin of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Rode all loops including Big Leaf, Laurel Hill, Lake, Soccer, and Spencer Mountain Loop.
Opinions: The trail is in very good shape. There is a bit of climbing, more than the trails that are more local to Charlotte. There are some great downhill sections and some crazy jumps including ones over creeks for those brave enough to try (not me included). The trails are marked and blazed very well. I think that it could be a easy to get a little turned around because sometimes trails are intersecting and crossing. Worst case scenario you will ride the same loop more than once. Overall this is a well thought out and maintained, technically challenging at times, trail. Another gem for our area.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/30/2013  -  Mike P. of West Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Lake Loop, Laurel Hill loop
Opinions: Great trail. Well maintained and plenty of variety. One downhill section on laurels hill you get spotted up to hit jumps, then the task just turns out of nowhere. Plan to revisit and hit the rest of it up.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/13/2013  -  JLP of Lake Wylie, SC
Route Taken: All but the soccer loop. It appeared to be closed.
Opinions: Great trails. Tight, technical, rideable. Basically flat. I will go back often. I rode it slow being the first time on it and I went early this am so the trails were slippery. There are some climbs, but they are easy. There were some small jumps in the down hills. These trails will be a blast once I get to know them. Trails are marked well too.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/30/2012  -  Eric of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop to Deja Vu to Mountain Loop and back through Deja Vu.
Opinions: Disregard my prior review (4/11) - the PASA guys tapped the untapped potential and have created one of the best trails in the region. Beautiful mountain views, terrific flow, exhilirating downhills and lung busting technical ascents make Poston well worth the trip. Don't be too intimidated by the elevation gain - the trail is well planned and the steep climbs aren't too long and the long climbs aren't too steep. Signage is no longer much of an issue, but if you find yourself getting turned around post up on the forums and a bunch of the PASA guys will show you around. I rode with an entourage when I asked for a tour lol. The trail isn't easy but that's how you get better. Head out to Poston and have some mountain with your biking.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/15/2012  -  David of Gastonia, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Directions to trails. After entering the Park turn right on the driveway to take you back to the soccer fields. When you get to the soccer fields turn left in the parking lot and park near the dumpsters and maintenance shed. To enter the trails properly you will see a trail that runs beside the right field fence of the last softball field. At the end of the fence the trail drops down and crosses the old access road. Continue acrosss the dirt road and enter the main trail straight ahead. Most of the trail is marked pretty clearly as long as you enter the trail properly.

This is a very tight and twisty trail that offers a totally different right than most of the trails in the area.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/05/2012  -  pmagony of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Course is not fluid. A lot of up/down. Crazy hair pin turns. IMO not a speed course. Sure, you'll gain some speed on the downhill but most downs were risky. Lot's of roots, tree stumps, jagged-edged rocks... tires begging to be flattened.

Polston needs some TLC on the signage. Arrows in some cases were not readily visible and you may find yourself doubling-back. Most of the intersections require far better way finder signage.

ENTRANCE: When you come to the park entrance, go right and all the way to the end. Trail entrance is on the left near the bathroom pavilion. Sign is not noticeable at all. Note to other riders, when you first ride into the trail head, you'll feel like going straight.

You'll need to go left at the fork, otherwise you're entering the trail through the exit path.

My GPS read 6.7 total miles. Felt like 10. Grinder of a course.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/27/2012  -  Matt of Stanley, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: I haven't ridden at Poston since 2010 when the lake construction took out a lot of the old trails, so this was my first time back. I'll definitely be back again. While a few of my favorite spots are gone, the new trail system is coming together very nicely. Its a great mix of tight and twisty combined with some smooth and fast sections. The newer sections are in need of some traffic to pack them down, but all considered, it was a great ride, with some nice scenery.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/28/2012  -  Art Robinson of Maiden, NC
Route Taken: The main route and a technical option, but skipped the tree....Need a better identifying marker behind the dog park to ensure folks make the right switchback and not go slightly up Spencer Mountain, before realizing they have gone too far, otherwise inner trail markings were excellent.
Opinions: Awesome trail! Everything I would expect from a trail, very nice variety of options, climbs, descents, bridges, and some beautiful scenary......creek waterfalls. Will definitely be back. Attempted to ride at this location a couple times last year and due to the construction was unable to, great to finally see what was there to offer. Originally I am from Detroit, MI.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/08/2012  -  John of Concord, NC
Route Taken: All options
Opinions: POSTON IS OPEN PEOPLE! (ignore my previous review, since I screwed up on the date, not used to the '12 yet) Rode there for the first time and will be back soon. Lots of climbs with fun, tight, flowy downhill sections. Some technical spots with rocks, roots, and logs. Beautiful single track set along hilly ridges with a stream flowing through. There's more climbing here than my usual go-to's like Poplar Tent, Sherman Branch, and Fisher Farm, so it was a workout for me. Plenty of opportunities to hit some jumps, if that's what you're into. Poston is all-weather, too. Rode all the options after a decent rain and it was still in great shape. To find the trailhead, just drive to the very back parking lot and look for the sign that directs you to the trail. I'd recommend riding there with someone who has before, since some spots are not marked that well.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/16/2011  -  Jodee of Mt. Holly, NC
Route Taken: We walked the mountain bike trail that was open for riding a year or more ago, close to entrance. They have built a lake on what used to be the bike trail so no more trail. I think there are trails off the soccer field we did not see the trail from the car, need to get out and find the trail entrance.
Opinions: Old trail leads to new lake park but its not really a maintained trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/30/2011  -  Jimbo of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: all
Opinions: Enter by the soccer fields follow arrows. The loop (figure 8) is finished and a good ride. It might take you a few times to figure out the flow of the trail but a good ride for Gaston County. Good workout
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/30/2011  -  Eric of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Who can tell? Repeat after me - "Where the h##l did the trail go," and "which way am I expected to go?"
Opinions: Seriously UNtapped potential. With the terrain and natural features this could be one of the best trails in Charlotte - COULD be. Unfortunately, the trail is more or less undeveloped (I don't mean "difficult" either - I can do difficult) I mean not designed for Mountain Biking. Prepare to do some hike-a-bike through malarial muck while wishing they had polished the trail enough to make it fun. The trail has been "blazed?" Maybe once, but that track faded out a long time ago. I appreciate the effort and understand it's a new trail due to construction, but PASA needs some help from THTB to make this trail worth the trip to Lowell.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/08/2011  -  John of Concord, NC
Route Taken: All options.
Opinions: POSTON IS OPEN PEOPLE! Rode there for the first time and will be back soon. Lots of climbs with fun, tight, flowy downhill sections. Some technical spots with rocks, roots, and logs. Beautiful single track set along hilly ridges with a stream flowing through. There's more climbing here than my usual go-to's like Poplar Tent, Sherman Branch, and Fisher Farm, so it was a workout for me. Plenty of opportunities to hit some jumps, if that's what you're into. Poston is all-weather, too. Rode all the options after a decent rain and it was still in great shape. To find the trailhead, just drive to the very back parking lot and look for the sign that directs you to the trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/09/2009  -  Tucci of Ft. Mill, SC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Great cardo trail. Got about 5.5 miles Two bridges are out, but you can stream can be crossed. Tail is covered w/ leaves, especially on the Technical parts. Nicely marked.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/18/2009  -  Benjamin of Gastonia, NC
Route Taken: Michaux and Spencer Mountain Loop
Opinions: The trail is very technical in some places. I live close by so I ride about once a week. Great workout!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/04/2009  -  Karen of Dallas, NC
Route Taken: Michaux and Spencer Mountain Loop with a new addition to Spencer mountain. Makes trail 3X's as long.
Opinions: Love the new addition. Some parts are extreme in the new part. Great ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/22/2009  -  Joe of Bessemer City, NC
Route Taken: all but two technical trails
Opinions: I've only been riding about 3 months so this trail alway seems to challenge my stamina. IT A FUN TRAIL!! Lots of turns, many short drops, and i'm still working on the climbs which at the moment are difficult for me especially the one on the Spencer mountain loop climb parallel the the stream. Its rocky and it up hill. This is a nice wooded trail with nice down hill runs.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/18/2009  -  natalie of belwood, nc
Route Taken: Michaux and Short loop
Opinions: This was my first official mountain bike ride. I borrowed a friend's bike to see how I liked it. It was awesome. I got there at 10 am and I only saw 1 person the whole time. I got scared in some places, but it was not too bad.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/15/2008  -  greg englert of lincolnton, nc
Route Taken:
Opinions:
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/15/2008  -  greg englert of lincolnton, nc
Route Taken: i rode all the options.
Opinions: i really liked this trail. i'd consider bring a few new bikers to this trail. well marked. nothing too difficult.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/01/2008  -  Mike of Gastonia, NC
Route Taken: All routes
Opinions: I ride this quite a bit since it's close for me. I think it's a great work out with very little flat sections. You can see a pretty detailed review with pics here:

[url] http://www.tarheeltrailblazers.com/cgi- bin/yabb2/nph-YaBB.pl?num=1222879443 [/url]

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/01/2008  -  Rob1035 of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Great trail system, a lot of nice, tight single track. I'm not sure how technical it is (or perhaps I'm ignorant of the definition of "technical"), but there are a lot of nice little dirt jumps/rollovers, but all of the ones I saw had ride arounds if so desired. Way less rooty than Beatty or Renni, but a lot of up and down which kept things interesting. Great singlespeed trail!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/06/2008  -  Larry of Gastonia, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail
Opinions: The trail is a good workout with a lot of elevation change, nothing extremely steep but lots of up and down. All options on the main trail can be rolled over, the Technical options range from fairly easy to extremely difficult. I ride it two or three times a week and never get tired of it. Very nice piece of land that the trail is built on with some incredible trees. Makes a great hiking trail so if you have a non-riding partner bring them along.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/24/2008  -  JASON of GASTONIA, NC
Route Taken: MICHAUX TRAIL LOOP NOT ENOUGH TIME TO TRY THE SPENCER MT LOOP,MAYBE NEXT TIME.
Opinions: SUPER FUN. I USUALLY RIDE CATAWBA,BUT DECIDED TO TRY THIS ONE OUT. ENJOYABLE TECHNICAL SINGLETRACK AND WONDERFUL SCENERY. NOT A LOT OF CLIMBING BUT A GOOD CARDIO WORKOUT. GOING DOWN AS A GOOD LOCAL SPOT FOR MY RIDES.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

 
Tarheel Trailblazers | 182 Saddle Road | Mooresville, NC 28115
 
DHTML / Menu by OpenCube