Click here to visit our Facebook Group Click here to visit our YouTube Channel Click here to vist our Twitter Account Click here to visit IMBA's website. Click here to visit our sister club the Dirt Divas' website Click here to visit SORBA's website. If you're using a mobile device, click here to visit our mobile page.

Renaissance Park
Nearest City: Charlotte, NC
How to get there: I-77 to Tyvola Rd. Tyvola to Renaissance park ball fields.
Trail Length: 6 miles
Trail Description: Renaissance has about 6 miles of tight twisty single track. The trails are a bit hard to find, around the softball field, you need to ride around the back parking lot to see them.
Other Info: 2 separate 3-mile loops that are a blast to ride.
Trail Map Renaissance Park

Reviews - Rate this trail

Date Ridden: 11/28/2020  -  jay of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Short track, then the Volleyball loop, then the Softball fields loop...
Opinions: This is a GREAT trail tucked away in the middle of the city. It's not super long, but it's so fun you can take multiple loops to rack up some miles. It's technically demanding in some areas and as you get to know the trail you can really ramp it up. This is probably the most demanding trail in Charlotte proper and definitely one of my favorites in the area.

The volleyball loop is a little more technically difficult than the softball side. The softball side has some very fast sections and only one difficult climb topped by a rock garden. This trail could use better maintenance, as there are some pretty serious ruts and lots of roots... but all in all this trail is a blast.

For a frame of reference, I consider Sherman Branch to be a "2.5" on difficulty and LNSP to be a "2" and North Mecklenburg to be "1.5".

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/26/2013  -  Amoore2668 of CLT, NC
Route Taken: Both sides
Opinions: It has been a while since I rode this trail but wanted a change of scenery from BYT and Sherman. Glad I got it! The trail was in good shape today.

Not sure how long it has been there (I may have missed it) but the Gully Loop on the Volleyball/Tennis side is a GREAT little loop! Thanks to the trail gnomes who added this one.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/20/2013  -  Robbie of Charlotte, North Carolina
Route Taken: Both 3 mile loops and Short Track
Opinions: The softball field loop is a little more flowy and speedy than the volley ball loop, but the volleyball loop offers some challenging downhill rooty drops, more climbing, and feels longer (probably because of all the climbing). The short track is a fun, quick little blast with a few small jumps, some fun embankments on the turns, and a rock garden that requires a good line, or some technical prowess. Great trail for a quick workout, a few jumps, and to hone in some technical skills. Compared to Sherman Branch or Lake Norman, it is much less diverse and much slower. This trail is suited for intermediate riders living close by that want a local spot to get in shape or have quick after work rides.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/20/2012  -  D. Richards of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: 2 mile loop & 3 mile loop starting at the volleyball courts.
Opinions: I rediscovered what a hidden gem Renni Park. I had only ridden here 2 times prior and that was back in 2002. I did not think the rpm (roots per mile)rivaled Francis Beatty or Anne Springs but they are out there. I liked how it was more exposed roots that have become small ledges to jump. Several rooty climbs to test your technical ability was a nice feature. I also enjoyed the faster sections too. Top Speed 21mph on the Cat Eye bile computer. All in all a great trail right smack dab in the middle of the city.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/10/2012  -  Russell of Marietta, GA
Route Taken: 2 laps on the 2 mile loop, 3 laps on the 3 mile loop.
Opinions: Lots of fun on first laps. Even better on subsequent laps when speed became my friend. Loved the Gully run, but didn't hit it in stride until the third go. I'm glad I kept trying. This is an excellent trail. Thank you Tarheel Trailblazers!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/10/2012  -  Russell of Marietta, GA
Route Taken: 2 laps on Softball Field loop, 3 laps on Tennis Court loop.
Opinions: See remarks in previous entry. I mislabeled "Softball Field loop" as "2 mile loop".
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/18/2012  -  Jayson of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both loops and short track
Opinions: I agree it's nice to have this smack in the middle of the city. Though little trail though I thought part of it could be better, though I'm sure others love it. FYi for those never been here (me) you need to go to the second entrance for the trails, I actually started in the middle because I parked in the wrong place. Otherwise a good trail for being smack in the city.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/08/2012  -  Chris of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: both loops
Opinions: A bit annoying how many folks use the review section to demonstrate their high sense of mtb accomplishment and "extensive" exposure. Bottom line is that this is a really fun park, a great workout and impressively technical considering that it's right in town. The trail's a 3 overall, but there are a couple 4+ spots to keep you on your toes.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/14/2011  -  Christian of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Volleyball to Softball Side
Opinions: Softball side great, Volleyball side is bone jarring with all the roots dropoffs. Enjoyed second half, did not enjoy first. Will do Softball side twice next time or get a chiropractor/dentist!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/17/2011  -  Jon Harding of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Rode from updown via the Lynx Blue Line trail, and then S. Tryon. Started from the Volleyball courts and rode the whole loop over my lunch break.
Opinions: Fun! Lots of flow, but also lots of roots, rocks, and bridges. A few technical and rooty climbs. Is a bit of a back breaker because of how rooty it is.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/13/2011  -  rmscotland of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Volleyball loop. 3.0 miles
Opinions: I am a beginner so this loop was very difficult for me to ride. I did a lot of walking, but still an awesome experience.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/31/2011  -  Ron of Lake Wyle, S.C.
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Great trail. I rode 2 and 3 times a week until someone broke into my truck. 600 dollars worth of damage to my truck and personal items stolen. I was parked right in front of the park office.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/16/2011  -  robb of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: All 6 miles. Starting with trail head past the volley ball courts.
Opinions: Fun and simple little trail system. Great option for beginners, hard tails, and a quick work out. For more advanced riders, this trail system will fall short of delivering. The single track is on the wide side, with few technical challenges, but the flow is very well designed. I'll be riding again for sure.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/08/2010  -  Alex Armendariz of CLT, NC
Route Taken: went in between the vball and disc golf gourse came out by the softball fields to tyvola back to the parking lot.
Opinions: First time riding a trail on my Walmart special. I have to admit I did some of the drops but not all and I kied the bike a lot. I also flipped good thing I bought a helmet right beforehand. I loved it though. Want to go back and be more agresive now that I know what is there and where the other track is. Looking to get some people to go with me. Thanks for the trail. It was difficult for me as I have never done that before. You all would probably laugh at me for riding the way I did but my rear brakes we gone.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/13/2010  -  Josh of Mt. Holly, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: I like this trail, rode for the second time today. My friend an myself finally found the second part to it (vollyball side). I liked it the best, seemed fast and a couple of nice drop ins. Will be ridding agian! Why does everyone complaine about the roots? It's part of mountain biking, if you don't like them then get on the road!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/30/2010  -  Bryan of Rock Hill, SC
Route Taken: All(volleyball side,softball side, and short track)
Opinions: By far the short track is the most fun. A few good jumps make it worth taking. There are some real good climbs on this trail as well, and one big downhill which is fun. Give this trail a try, its a good time.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/23/2010  -  TJ of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: whole thing
Opinions: Great trail; very few jumps but some nice downhill sections followed by super crucial uphill climbs. I personally actually liked the volleyball side better although there were tougher climbs involved. I suggest riding the whole thing in this manner... Park on the softball side and start with that trail (at the back of the parking lot) hit both the short and the main trail, then head back up the parking lot and take the trail to the right of the gravel road (there is a sign). this trail will bring you to the beginning of the other trail on the volleyball side which will take you back to the gravel road and to your car! it's kinda complicated but you will figure it out!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/23/2010  -  RobJ of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both loops
Opinions: This is my favorite trail in Charlotte. Well specifically the softball side. I don't care too much for the volleyball court side actually. It seems like a lot of climbing and not much reward. The softball side has some good technical climbs that you can celebrate conquering. It also has some tight, fast sections that I enjoy. A couple laps of the softball trail followed by the short track and you have yourself a great workout in under an hour.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/10/2010  -  Dean C of Indian trail, n.c.
Route Taken: Main, Short and Short main
Opinions: very natural, some of the drop ins made me pucker the baseball side was all so fum short track is fast as hell your getting air whether you like it or not the short main had some intence climbs
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/06/2010  -  rocky of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: other side of park.
Opinions: rode the other side of trail today where it rides along side 49. loved it. very difficult to ride due to heat and humidity, going to have to start riding in morning around 8 am. the briar needs to be cut a little though. I will do it if someone wants to help me.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/06/2010  -  Eric O of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both Loops - Tennis Court / Softball Court.
Opinions: Okay, so I finally found the other half of these trails (tennis court entrance). But I have to say the "front 3" weren't anywhere near as fun to ride as the "back 3". The trail wasn't very well maintained or marked and some of the roots and drops were too much for me (not necessarily bad for everyone who isn't a novice though). The other guy who rode today most likely blew right past me. I can say, that the back 3 (softball loop) are one of my favorite trails though - hopefully the tennis loop can be cleaned up and maybe redesigned a little...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/05/2010  -  Eric O of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Trail and Short Track
Opinions: Excellent - this trail is very clearly defined, well designed (the trailblazers did an amazing job utilizing the natural features of the terrain) and well maintained. A lot of roots and small obstacles, along with some fast descents make this a white knuckle ride at times.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/14/2010  -  Vin Vora of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main and Short Track
Opinions: This section is faster than the other loop on the other side of the park. The trail is well maintain, but boring compared to the trails i rode growing up outside of Atlanta GA (Atlanta Olympics). You don't really need that much cardio and a beginner should be fine, if you have any sense of balance.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/10/2010  -  Dave of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail. Started in the main parking lot. Found trail left of the volleyball courts.
Opinions: I can't believe this trail is 6 miles long. I would think more like 4. The first leg 3, the second 1. Slightly challenging picking your line through all the roots. Some fun downhill portions and moderately challenging climbs. OK for a quick ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/05/2010  -  Richard of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Started at the trail head next to the volley ball courts.
Opinions: I was either not in the right frame of mind today or I just didn't like this trail. Its very close and tight with not much space to move very rooty with lots of drops behind the roots caused by erosion. I couldn't get into a nice pace. I stopped and stepped off more times than I have ever done at any other trail for obstacles. Personally I found it very technical.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/02/2010  -  Stowe of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: I was a little faster today on a lap. Seems harder to me than it should be. I couldn't carry much speed on the front side. "Remember, Pain is just weakness leaving the body"! LoL Hope to see all there Wed.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/25/2010  -  Alexa A. of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Whole Thing
Opinions: The trail was great! Great slopes and lots of turns. It's only about 6 miles and a great workout!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/23/2010  -  rocky novellino of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: Main then short
Opinions: Road after it rained last nite, figured the ground would be wet and the soil packed, guess what, looks and thoughts are decieving, ate shit after second go around. loose dirt and crapy pedals. Had fun and can see going there more often after work. I live a mile from course. Enjoy your ride all.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/18/2010  -  Vin Vora of Charlotte, North Carolina
Route Taken: Tennis Court/Volleyball
Opinions: The trail had roots and was nice but not as technical as to what I am use to riding in college, but keep in mind that I use to race. I enjoyed the trails and it is a nice little secret. I will ride the other loop this week
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/14/2010  -  Mike of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Rode all of the available trail
Opinions: Fun Ride. Some good elevation changes, turns and bridges. Well- maintained and easy to navigate. Be careful of your car though. Had nothing but a fleece in my backseat and it was broken into today at approximately 3:30pm. The park folks said it was the first break in they had seen in about 2 years.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/07/2010  -  Bliss of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both of the tracks.
Opinions: This has been my first time back on a trail since I moved to CLT. Much thanks to the Trailblazers for the site and the trail. Both trails are a good ride, the tennis court trail is the more difficult of the two and is a root lover's dream. The softball field trail is a blast with some places to build some good speed and take some decent jumps. I would avoid both though after a rain, they seem to dry pretty slow.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/06/2010  -  daniel of denver, NC
Route Taken: the first loop you come to at the ball fields
Opinions: make sure it has not rained for some time before attempting to ride this one. Other than the crazy mud, this trail was nice! pretty dang fast with some uphill madness. next time i will try the other loop, maybe its not so muddy.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/14/2010  -  Justin of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Tennis Court (both directions), Main Track, Short Track
Opinions: First off, this is only my 3rd time riding. Secondly, the tracks were really muddy from the snowfall on Friday night/Saturday morning. These trails tested me big time, with the Tennis Court trail being the more physically wearing and technical of the trails. Very rooty. When it's wet it's VERY difficult, so I look forward to riding it when it's a little more dry. The Main track is fast, like everyone else is saying, but a blast as well. The Short Track is super fast, with nicely built up berms and jumps. Again, look forward to a slightly drier day to reconquer this. Overall a blast, albeit ass- kicking! Thanks Trailblazers!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/21/2009  -  RC of Charlotte, North Carolina
Route Taken:
Opinions: Very nice trail. fast single track. You can find the trails at either the baseball fields or near the tennis courts. Alot of leaves on the trails in some areas but definitely a good fast flowing trail with some slight climbs.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/26/2009  -  prime time of crowntown, nc
Route Taken: all of it
Opinions: i have learned the trail and it is awesome. very fast at times, not a ton a climbing but still tough enough. some great pumps out there and dips. i ride this trail several times a week now, sometimes 2 and 3 times in a row... its great, you do need a little skill to go fast and good brakes help a lot.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/24/2009  -  Mike De La Rosa of Just moved to Charlotte a week ago., NC
Route Taken: I parked by the Tennis courts and started my ride where the trailblazers sign was posted. Rode that out to that main road that I think I was supposed to follow that led me into a parking lot where the next section of trails started (main and short track). I rode about half of that trails that takes you back to the tennis court. I got lost for a bit.
Opinions: I had a lot of fun. The first part of the trails near the tennis court are a little hairy, but I'm used it and it's not really that bad. I'm just excited to be out of Florida and MTBing up here :-). There were some small climbs and challenging sections that keep you involvded. The short track was a lot of fun. You can catch some good speed and someone has built up some berms on the turns. That's probably my favorite section of the trail. There are also little jumps you can take advantage of to keep your speed up. All in all, I am very please and hope to help them maintain the trail. Charlotte is lucky to have this organization.Thanks!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/30/2009  -  burner of queen, north cockitback
Route Taken: both
Opinions: i liked them both a lot, fun, fast at times, challenging, erosion is taking its toll out there; some pretty vicious roots, potholes, ruts BUT i'm not complaining. i'll continue to ride it and try to master the line. good quick after work workout
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/29/2009  -  Erik of Pineville, NC
Route Taken: trail 1, fell down, lost my nerve rest of day, trail 2, then finished the rest of trail 1
Opinions: trail 1 from tennis courts to softball field is all roots and no fun Otherwise I liked it alot
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/17/2009  -  Jesse Moen of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Short track, then main loop then finished on the short track again.
Opinions: Short track was a lot of fun, I caught it right before it rained today. Main loop seemed like a lot of climbing without a lot of reward, but it was still a lot of fun. Saw a black snake crossing the trail and I was the only soul out at the time, because the rain clouds were hanging ominously over my the park. The temp dropped and it turned out to be a really nice ride. Tarheel Trailblazers do some fine work, I am loving all the trails in the Charlotte Area!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/16/2009  -  Nancy of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: The soccer field stuff
Opinions: Great trail, esp. so close to city. People who think it's technical haven't ridden in West Virginia's State Park system. Take a weekend trip you won't forget (suggestions: Kanawha state forest, Babcock state forest, coopers rock state forest)! But an awesome single track, great that it's maintained, Enjoyed the heck out of it, and I appreciate the work done to keep up the trail. Looking forward to looking for the tennis court loop. Wish it would stop fricking raining so I could ride it (and other trails) more often.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/27/2009  -  Skeet of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both sides.
Opinions: The 'ole girl ain't what she used to be. First they lopped off the middle third of the coliseum trail and now erosion is taking its toll. Still a convenient after-work ride, but parts of the trail have become quite challenging due to tons of exposed roots, erosion ditches and and small pits. Still fun, especially on the short track, but it'll rattle your teeth.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/07/2009  -  Jon of Mooresvill, NC
Route Taken: Both loops
Opinions: This was my first time back at Reni this year. Last year got lost with the new construction and poor signs. But this time I had a blast. Trails flowed well and were surprisingly challenging if you take it a a good pace. A good ride for inside I-485! Any plan to connect the two loops?
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/15/2009  -  Mike of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both loops
Opinions: Trail is in fair shape. Fairly soft from all the rain. Couple trees down and leaves covering some of the drainage areas. Short track is in good shape.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/02/2009  -  Ramon of Charlotte, N.C
Route Taken: The Loop behind the SoftBall Field.
Opinions: Very good, this is only my second time on a single-track besides hiking one in Virgina. My Hybrid couldn't hack it, so I got a Mongoose on the way. Great-trail near my house, I had to walk it up over some hills. But when you are in it, it is just you and the trail. You have no concept on the city, untill you enter the park again. I rode it in low-gear, but when I get my offical(Mountain-Bike) I will pick up the pace, and also will have Full- Suspicion. "Watch out on the bridges, if you miss you are eating more rocks then water". Enjoy.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/09/2008  -  Gary of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All of it
Opinions: This is one of my regular haunts since I live so close. It is fairly easy but once you learn it you can have a ton of fun. It is fast and fun
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/28/2008  -  ridingchallened of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both
Opinions: This was my FIRST single track, ever. I've since ridden several other tracks around Charlotte, but I really felt like this was a great "Welcome to mountain biking, remember not to...oh.." kind of trail for me! Aside from the track being a few difficulty levels higher than my skill level at the time, I enjoyed it! Once I overcame some apprehension and a tendency to hesitate at obstacles, I really got into the trail and had some fun. It turned out to be one of the most thrilling experiences I've had in the city limits of Charlotte. Though it is rooty and there is a lot of elevation change, its still a great ride thats close to the house! This is a do-able trail for a beginner just be prepared for some good climbs and gnarly roots, its worth the work for the reward.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/29/2008  -  gregor of charlotte, north carolina
Route Taken: both trails
Opinions: i took both trails, i took the one towards the south end. i like it alot but, challenging, good elevation gains. alot of people dont seem to know where the beginning is, but let me tell you, the trail starts with a small trail past the little construction road. the smaller trail is off of the middle of the parking lot, these are small entrances so they are easy to miss.

i have enjoyed these trails the most out of any that i have ridden in charlotte. not that i have ridden all of them, but this one is a top favorite.

one of the trails has more elevation than the other, both certainly are well balanced and provide a fantastic variety and work out.

Thank you for maintaining this trail!

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/23/2008  -  Mark b of CHARLOTTE, NC
Route Taken: WHOLE THING
Opinions:
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/28/2008  -  Arnie of Charlotte, nc
Route Taken: both
Opinions: This was one of the best places to ride in the area. Here lately something has gone wrong every time I have ridden out here. Today was the last straw. There were at least 3 trees across the tennis court trail and a large chunk of the ball field trail was missing due to construction work. Had to climb over a silt fence, ride across the construction site, back over the silt fence to continue the ride. I’ll ride somewhere else instead.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/15/2008  -  Jey of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Started at the tennis court entrance.
Opinions: This is a great trail to have so close to home. I am new to Charlotte and was happy to find out about this trail. Between the first and second time I rode this trail it had been marked a little more clearly. I also felt that it had a great flow and a little something for everyone (including turtles).
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/22/2008  -  Lauren of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Tennis courts
Opinions: Great trail! You can finish one trail in an hour or you can extend your trip by doing both three mile trails. The trails are connected but there are two different entrances to the park. If you are going west on Tyvola, you will pass the entrance to the tennis court trails first on the right. The baseball field trail entrance is a half a mile farther down Tyvola.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/26/2008  -  Eric of Rock Hill, SC
Route Taken: 1st by softball field then by tennis court.
Opinions: The most fun so far. I've ride the Springs weekly,once at Sherman. I realized that I am 80% of where my Cardio would last a race. I like the Tennis side a little better. You have to keep focused to stay out of trouble.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/22/2008  -  wattage of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: Lower trail behind softball fields. The one that's been re-routed due to the ongoing construction/development further down Tyvola Rd.
Opinions: It had been months since I'd ridden Renaissance, so I went yesterday to remember what it was like and to see how it had changed. Renaissance is still a root-lover's paradise. They will work your bike's suspension, your butt (padded shorts are a must), and definitely your patience if you're not careful. Just take it easy.

If you can get past the hard to avoid stop-n-go nature of roots, Renaissance has a good overall flow. Good balance of challenge and reward. This applies to the Upper trail (near the volleyball courts), too. I'll hit that trail soon and see if it's changed.

I'll give Renaissance three bright yellow helmets for difficulty and rating. Renaissance is a good straight-up trail. Brand new riders or beginners might not enjoy it so much, though. I'd say riders of medium-level experience and up will get more enjoyment out of good ole Renni. As long as you can confidently control your bike, go for it. You'll dig it.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/29/2008  -  Dan of charlotte, nc
Route Taken:
Opinions: Tricky trial if you are an experienced mountian biker this is the trial for you. Make sure you have tiers that grip on gravel cause i didnt and i ended up with a concussion. But i do recommend this trail. This is not the hardest i have been on but it is a tricky trial with all the options on it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/21/2008  -  Hawk of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both + cyclone
Opinions: This is trip #2 for me. I need to get better at going into and out of the gullies so I don't fly over the handlebars. I rode Beatty a bunch before trying Renaissance, and I like Renaissance a bunch more - less rooty, cool uphills (but difficult) and really enjoyed cyclone. I don't know enough trails to give anything higher than 4
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/09/2007  -  J.D. of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Whole Trail
Opinions: This is my most frequented train in Charlotte and I love the mixture of obstacles this track has. Great downhills, tough uphills and a decent mixture of technical spots make it a blast to ride. Tough at first but ride it a few times and you can enjoy how fun and fast it can be. Enjoy, great trail and thanks to the Trailblazers for keeping this one up!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/29/2007  -  mrwoed of Charlotte, N.C.
Route Taken: I don't know(softball Fields)
Opinions: First time I rode trails and had a blast..Rode the brakes a lot but from what I have been reading so far it seems like everybody else dose to.I will ride this trail again tommorow since i only live 10 mins away.I am hooked on this sport..
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/24/2007  -  whizbyu of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: Both volleyball and softball fields
Opinions: The rip rap covered creek on the side of the softball fields can be treacherous. Great trails, rooty. A few steep & short climbs. Good for a novice.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/18/2007  -  brico of fort mill, sc
Route Taken: whole thing (whats left of it)
Opinions: the trail is now abouts 1 mile shorter than last season but still the best trail within the 485 loop. most technical areas around. having good brakes here will truly help! trail takes 48 not 24 hours to dry after a good rain unlike most others in the region. very difficult to get lost on this trail which makes it nice for the 1st timer. i prefer (unlike most) to start by the tennis courts rather than the baseball fields. that leaves the superfast downhill section for the grand finale. lots of tight spaces, sharp turns, roots, rocks, big dips, river crossings and side of hill slipperyish climbs that might diminish the experience for a newbie (try col. francis instead). trailblazers do a good job of clearing fallen debris out of this place very quickly. everyone applaud the blazers for this trail!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/01/2007  -  J of Lethbridge, Alberta Canada
Route Taken: volleyball entrance
Opinions: a forest in the middle of the city if you do the trail backwards it is a lot more challenging
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/22/2007  -  lee of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: both loops
Opinions: I love these trails. Rode them yesterday and was very disapointed that developers have bulldozed and blocked the trail behind the softball feilds. Great cardio workout with a little technical stuff.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/18/2007  -  Brandon of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both loops.
Opinions: Still a great place to ride after many years. Sorry to see the city has once again sold all riders short by selling a large part of the land. Great workout.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/15/2007  -  Tim of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Started with loop that winds around the disc golf course and ended with the other loop.
Opinions: The first loop has a climbout that, despite it being a gravel fore road, was the toughest part of the trail for me. Conserve your energy just before the end of the trail (when you hear a high-pitched whining in the woods, you're close). The other trail was a little more adventurous. Both were lots of fun.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/24/2007  -  Brian of Indian Land, SC
Route Taken: All, from every which way. No map, so just found some enterances and exits and rode it. Not hard to get around once you find an enterance.
Opinions: Lots of fun, with some great challenging spots. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a great workout as well as some awesome spots for jumping and getting technical. Defintitely for the intermediate rider and high levels of endurance. Fast with some great burmas!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/06/2007  -  Plezsnow of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Short "race" route
Opinions: Was gettin late, so we opted for short track, had a ball doing a bunch of "BMX" laps. A real good mix of mountain bike and BMX...fun
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/20/2006  -  Ramon of Charlotte, N.C
Route Taken: I took the loop that was behind the soft-ball fields and started out on a dirt path. The other loop starts out with gravel.
Opinions: This one should be called Charlotte Mountain. I got a bike about 8 monts ago, and for the most part ride greenways and McAline and McMullen parks. Be very prepared this was an individualized course and if you are new be cautious or you will get hurt. I think this trail was the toughest of the two. Trails are not wide and you will be tested by rocks and tree roots. Im in shape as a trainer and martial-artist this one whooped me good. I stayed in low gear and had to walk my bike up a couple of hills. This is not a trail for lovers on a stroll. You will be tested, I rode my brokes also. You are constantly going up and around trails. If you don't slow up around the turns going down hill you will bust. It took everyhting I had not to crash. bring your man or women-hood, as mine was checked at the beginning and end of the trail. Good luck and wear your helmet..........Good course but not for the faint, or a newbie...........
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/03/2006  -  Ben of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: GPS Route link below----> http://trail.motionbased.com/trail/episode/view.mb?episodePk.pkValue=1635395 started @ the tennis courts and went counter-clock to baseball fields, then took the bbfield trails on the other loop. then back to my apt. yeh
Opinions: Great ride, good drops and good length. some cool jumps and stuff in there too.... i usually skip the part from the baseball fields back to the tennis courts tho, its always muddy even if it hasnt rained for a long time, let me know if anyone wants to get some trailwork on that section sometime.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/23/2006  -  Brad of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Both loops. Started on softball side, back through the parking lot, then over to the tennis court loop and back. Park over by the softball fields, but not all the way back.
Opinions: Just over 6 miles when both loops are taken. The tennis court loop is more technical with more climbs, but this is some great singletrack.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/24/2006  -  TG of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: both loops?
Opinions: Nice short course, well maintained, good challenges. Was surprised when I reached the end so quickly, but I may have missed a loop.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/30/2006  -  Luke Smith of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Park
Opinions: Some people would heed the "NO Trespassing" sign and peddle safely around the gravity cavity. I paused for self reflection in the presence of two pretty girls and recognized what must be done.....you guessed it. I trespassed, conquered the gravity cavity, and swallowed a spider web all in one motion. Regret it? Nope.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/01/2006  -  E of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Tennis Court Loop
Opinions: Great fun for our first day with our mountain bikes...until we got back to our car, which we parked near the tennis courts and found that one of our windows was shattered and my purse with all of my belongings was STOLEN! Just a word of caution for those who use the course - lock up any valuables in your trunk!!!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/12/2006  -  Chip of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions:
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/09/2005  -  eric of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: Renaissance Park
Opinions: Hope over at lunchtime for a quick run. First time there. Lots of quick runs but keep your finger on the brake. Some good tech climbs and options. well mantained
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/28/2005  -  Earl of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Started behind the tennis courts
Opinions: This was definitely a difficult trail if one is not in the best of shape(which I am not). Lots of climbing and techincal. Tons of roots and gulleys. One part of the trail has one of the best downhills in Charlotte that I have ridden with an awesome jump at the bottom. Great for imtermeidate skill levels and up but I would not recommend it to novices and people who smoke a pack a day.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/18/2005  -  Robert of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: rode both loops. trails in great shape. on the farmers loop there has been some tree cutting and stakes in the ground and makes me think construction is next. does anyone know anything about this. at this point the trail is not visible or rideable.
Opinions:
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/29/2004  -  Chris ikerd of Slotchinsville, Sweden
Route Taken: The funnest one ive ever taken
Opinions: Really good
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/29/2004  -  Steve of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: Both Loops, Softball Field and Tennis Courts
Opinions: First, hats off to the Trailblazers for maintaining this set of trails. Anytime there is any issue with the trail it is fixed on by the next ride. Additionally look for the trail signs, there are arrows on placards throughout the trail. If you see none, you are going the wrong way! Location: The intersection of Tyvola and Tryon is the beginning of the park’s eastern most section. Head west on Tyvola and go past the first park entrance on your right, then take the second park entrance on your right (might say welcome mtn bikers). Follow the road till you enter the main parking lot area (towards the back). The entrance to the tennis court loop will be on your right hand side (look for the sign) and the entrance to the softball field will be on the back side of the property near the back fence (near a small office building) The trails are close by to work. I ride them during lunch and in the summer before or after work. This is a blinding fast single track set of loops. It is possible to stay on the third (big ring not the small one) and ride this trail you just might not get the speed you want to get the air you need over the jumps. You can ride these loops at a slower pace and put in some serious mileage or blast our both loops for 6-8 miles and snap off a 30-40 minute ride. You will get a workout either way. If you are new to the area this park is worth checking out. Watch the corners closely and you will be rewarded with tight turns and nice uphills. Watch some of the downhills, there are some heavy ruts and tight turns at the bottom if you have too much speed you may eat some wood. You will hit the shifters more times in 6-8 miles than you may ever do on another track. So if you are having shifter issues, get them taken care of prior too. Bad place to have chain suck as well. Use synth lube for the chain. Lots of shade during the ride so even in the 80's and 90's of the summer you can still slug out a ride. Watc
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/23/2004  -  Jack MeHoff of Gollum, Nepal
Route Taken: we took the grundle grinder trail for 2.3 miles then turned let onto the hot slot trail for 3 miles, i ate it hard, and several times. then for the last mile we took the McPoosy trail to the end. great ride yall!!!!!
Opinions:
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/04/2004  -  Tiger of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Rode both sides- near tennis courts and near softball fields.
Opinions: Today was 70 degrees and a perfect day to ride the trails. No rain for the past week, and Renaissance is in great condition. I haven't ridden this trail in a long time, and the creek crossing and rock garden are my two favorites. Get out there while the riding is good!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/16/2003  -  John MacPherson of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Every single one of them, all the time!
Opinions: Great trails! Very fast and some good parts to "eat it" at! Great for a short, quick ride or make it longer by taking different loops. Been riding the trail since it was developed and it just gets better every time we ride!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/19/2002  -  Rick of Mineral Springs, NC
Route Taken: Both loops: coliseum-farmers market loop (mellow & sweet as ever) and tennis court loop (still had to walk a few sections)
Opinions: Farmers market loop remains one of the nicest all-purpose trails in Clt. Great for beginners, good for XC speed work too. RIDERS PLEASE NOTE: this loop is ENDANGERED; most of it is outside the boundaries of Renaissance Park, on Coliseum land the city is planning on selling to developers. Contact the mayor and city council about this before it's too late.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/06/2002  -  Thomas Coffee of Swannanoa, NC
Route Taken: From Tennis court to the ballfeilds. I don't know the names, but the loop seems to be 8 or so miles.
Opinions: Thesr trails surprised me, and made the ride much more than I expected. The way the trail builder used the terrain and incorperating the ups and downs each hill had to offer. I liked the log pyrimids and the rock gardens.Good job
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2002  -  bob of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: back trail
Opinions: this was the first time i rode renaissance park. I thought it was great!!! The trail was just hard enough to be fun, had to slow down around corners at the bottom of hills. I didn't know where to give it the gas, so i had to walk up a few hills. I'll know next time. I'll definitely be back.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/03/2002  -  Flynn of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: the wrong one
Opinions: We went the wrong way on the trail on the right. WE took it backwards and it took 1 hour. We went the other way and it took 20 minutes. That sucked ass.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/03/2002  -  Flynn of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: the wrong one
Opinions: We went the wrong way on the trail on the right. WE took it backwards and it took 1 hour. We went the other way and it took 20 minutes. That sucked ass.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/11/2002  -  Mo of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Softball
Opinions: Many thanks to the Trailblazers for this track. I'm new to the sport and rode RP for the first time. I really liked the layout because it was fairly technical (for me at least) but you almost always had choices -- sometimes I went for it and sometimes chickened out. Don't have much to compare it to but give it a high rating.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/11/2002  -  Mo of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Softball
Opinions: Many thanks to the Trailblazers for this track. I'm new to the sport and rode RP for the first time. I really liked the layout because it was fairly technical (for me at least) but you almost always had choices -- sometimes I went for it and sometimes chickened out. Don't have much to compare it to but give it a high rating.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/08/2002  -  john of charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Has many hill, and a lot of roots. If you like fast this is not your trail. More for intermedit riders
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/11/2002  -  Deanna of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: The five mile one - the front end
Opinions: Considered it was my first time on a trail period I ran into some of the technical difficulties - walked up most of the hills - but overall the trail was fun with twists, turns and some falls. But I have to agree going on a day after a thunderstorm is not the greatest idea! Going back for more!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/09/2002  -  Eric of Concord, NC
Route Taken: Followed the designated path. Rode tennis court loop then softball field loop.
Opinions: Good trail, a little dusty today because of the lack of rain. I prefer the softball field loop since it's a little faster and longer than the tennis court loop.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/28/2002  -  MC of Knoxville,TN, TN---GO VOLS!
Route Taken: Both
Opinions: This trail is great. Watch out for the larger logs and for the damn Industrial equipment in some of the curves(Used to be a Dump). DO NOT try and jump the mounds off to the side in the parking lot.... I am still recovering, my shoulder is killing me.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/22/2001  -  BWilli of clt, nc
Route Taken: several, I used to go backwards all the time but after a few dueseys on the "Rooty Falls", I learned.
Opinions: awesome trail! its like a mtb playground. I can never get enough I have to ride it twice just to get the effect. many many fun and challenging sections. beware of the bend in the trail there will always be a tree ready to greet you with a big ol smack right on the kisser. This trail can be fast or slow and involved. Try it both ways.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/22/2001  -  BWilli of clt, nc
Route Taken: several, I used to go backwards all the time but after a few dueseys on the "Rooty Falls", I learned.
Opinions: awesome trail! its like a mtb playground. I can never get enough I have to ride it twice just to get the effect. many many fun and challenging sections. beware of the bend in the trail there will always be a tree ready to greet you with a big ol smack right on the kisser. This trail can be fast or slow and involved. Try it both ways.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/15/2001  -  carson of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: i have no clue i got lost twice..... started in lot and rode like 2 loops
Opinions: i thought it was very confusing...... but it was fun. very technical, after rain is a pain in the ass because it is all wet and even without the rain it is damp and slick but i like the technicality
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/07/2001  -  taylor of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: all trails
Opinions: good trail, good drop in and jump out sections, good log jumpimg area, it is a fast trail, don't ride on a rainy day
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/01/1900  -  good drop in and jump out sections of it is a fast trail, don't ride on a rainy day
Route Taken: all trails
Opinions: good trail
Difficulty: Trail Rating:


Having problems with the site? Contact the webmaster