Photo: Headerpic2.jpg

Sherman Branch
Nearest City: Charlotte, NC
How to get there: From Pineville: Go 485 (Outer Loop) go to Albermarle Rd. exit. turn left towards Albermarle, take fist left on to Rocky River Church Rd., go about 1 mile, turn left into field at mailboxes after you pass Camp Stewart Rd.

From Harrisburg: go 485 (Inner Loop)to Harrisburg Rd., Exit 39, turn right onto Harrisburg, go about 1 mile to Camp Stewart Rd. and turn Left, follow until road dead ends into Rocky River Church Rd, turn left, go 200 yds, turn left into field.

Trail Length: 11.6 miles
Trail Description: 11.6 miles of flowing single track. 600 feet of climbing. Recommended direction is clockwise, enter at Kiosk.
Other Info: Trail may be closed during wet periods. Gate status for this trail are posted on the front page of this website and updated when changes are made, http://www.tarheeltrailblazers.com/index.cfm Night Riding is not allowed. Park opens at 7:30, Gates are LOCKED at sunset

Address is 3824 Camp Stewart Rd. 28269 Parking Lot is NOT on Camp Stewart it is around the corner on Rocky River Church Rd.

Trail Map Sherman Branch

Reviews - Rate this trail

Date Ridden: 10/09/2014  -  John M` of Cornelius, NC
Route Taken: First Time - Roller Coaster Loop and Main Loop
Opinions: This was the first time here, mainly run North Meck, so thought I would try this out. I really liked how much of the trail is built up with berms and different options to take. Roller Coaster was kind of slow for me because I did not know what was around each of the corners, maybe next time I can take it a little better. I wasn't planning on taking the Main Loop, but decided after taking different berms and other flowing sections that I would continue on and do the whole thing. Very impressed with all of the work that has been done on this, so many berms on corners and little jumps around the downhill straights. Again as other had said, got to the "exits" and decided what the heck, I will just continue to do the whole thing. Can say I walked the different rock garden sections in the middle because I was not sure how to get through them. I did end up doing the small rock garden at the end of the main loop, but that was just a smaller section. Great Job to the trail maintenance group, really impressed with the different berms around this course. Will make this more often in the coming months.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2014  -  Steve of Salisbury, NC
Route Taken: Main loop and Roller Coaster
Opinions: First time riding here...really really liked it. I'm a fairly new rider and haven't riden a lot of trials, but this is, by far, my new favorite
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/11/2014  -  Ryan of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire main trail, no extensions
Opinions: A great trail with a lot of different terrain including rock gardens, jumps, drops, planks, and even a steel bridge. I found it challenging due to the climbs but the downhill sections are a blast! The Trailblazers really went out of their way to add variety to this trail and it paid off in spades! Thank you Trailblazers!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/01/2014  -  Adam of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise all loops
Opinions: Kudos to the tarheel trailblazers! This trail is epic fun. Twisty NC single track with well-made jumps, berms, bridges, and rock gardens. Plenty of flow with no major climbs. Great job to the trail maintenance team. Thank you!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/20/2014  -  kyle of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: all
Opinions: Sherman is a good trail with many options. When I just do the main loop I can be done in 35 minutes if I go all out, but it takes about 40 minutes for most. The roller coaster loop is an added 1.9 miles, but well worth it. It is fast and flowing with a few jumps. it ends in a long climb though. The lake loop is very rocky and I wouldn't recommend it unless you want the mileage. It does have a few jumps to make it a little better though. The main loop is a lot of fun with many jumps, drop offs, and log rides and other man made obstacles. Sherman is a great place for beginners or kids because there is an exit road you can take anytime. Overall great trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/19/2014  -  Brian Bendig of Indian trail, North Carolina
Route Taken: I did the roller coaster loop first then hit the main loop. Talked to a few riders in the trail and they suggested skipping the lake loop as it has some more difficult terrain.
Opinions: The roller coaster was very fun and had many challenges. The main loop was great I was pretty beat about 1/2 way through but met some people who have me a nice pep talk to help me through the rest of the trail. ( was thinking about hitting the emergency exit trail ) when I finished they were still loading up there bikes and gave me a nice congratulations for completing the trail not taking the short cut or exit trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/18/2013  -  James Busch of Boyertown, PA
Route Taken: clockwise all loops
Opinions: First of all thank you to everyone who makes these trials possible . I came down from PA just to mt bike. Sherman was a blast. it was fast and fun . I met up with Scott who manages another trail . Scott showed me around , its was like having a co-driver . thank you all again !!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/25/2013  -  scott m of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: entire loop
Opinions: thanks to the guy out early Saturday morning for clearing a route around the big tree that fell at the end of the Roller Coaster Loop.And all the rest that do so much to keep the loop in great riding condition
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2013  -  Ivan of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main loop at Sherman Branch
Opinions: ***** CAUTION ****** My girlfriend and me love this trail. Have ridden it several times, today we were met by two weird guys in the middle of the trail where the main loop intercepts with the lake loop. They asked us if we wanted to do the lake loop with them, not over thinking anything but they were shady and both of us immediately got a bad feeling. I just suggest to take caution of unknown people asking you to do trails with them, we believe they were up to no good. One of them had a full face helmet with green mohawk. We have come across many people riding this trail and many others, never have we been asked by strangers in the middle of trail or the beginning for that matter to go to some trail with them. ***********
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/05/2013  -  Michael Parks of Charlotte, North Carolina
Route Taken: Main Loop
Opinions: Awesome trail. Love the berms, jumps and downhill sections. First trail in Charlotte that I've busted on. Hit the landing off to the side. Overall great trail set up with small climbs.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/15/2013  -  Laura Beaver of Concord, NC
Route Taken: My husband Tom has been riding Sherman for 5 months and is hooked. I'm a jogger and keep getting injuries and am tired of getting chased by dogs in our neighborhood, so he's asked me to try mountain biking. I will try Sherman tomorrow; so if you see a girl on a Fuji bike who keeps falling, that would be me..... Wish me luck, because I will need it. We rode Lake Norman's Itusi Trail (Mambo) today and it kicked my tail but was lots of fun. Biking seems harder to me than jogging....a better workout and easier on my joints. Just need to practice more. Can't rate this trail yet but will tomorrow....
Opinions: Have walked Sherman and it is one of the nicer trails in the area. People are friendly as well, not snobbish like some other trails we've been to.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/11/2013  -  michael r of Concord, NC
Route Taken: All of the 11.6 miles
Opinions: I love this place being that it is 15 mins from my home, and that it rides so well. I am not a fan of the first group of rocks on the main trail,in a bad transition , but its just my opinion, I WISH THERE WAS RULES UP FOR THE PEOPLE THAT LIKE TO JOG THE TRAIL. "BIKES HAVE RIGHT OF WAY SO JOGGERS NEED TO GET OFF THE TRAIL COMPLETELY" sorry for yelling..lol i had to turn from hitting this guy jogging today he stayed on the BIKE path never moved off. my biggest complaint is that. I dont mind the people jogging just they need to know that when your clipped into your pedals and moving up a steep incline you kinda wanna stay true on the path your riding, not aim for a tree.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/02/2013  -  kraft of Harrisburg, nc
Route Taken: Main to rollercoaster to main to lake to main
Opinions: Ride this trail all the Time. Really fun and the new section before the first bridge is a blast.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/08/2013  -  Shaman of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Main loop to Rollercoaster, back to main loop, to lake loop, then lake loop again backwards, then main loop to parking lot. about 16mi??
Opinions: This was my 3rd trail run at Sherman Branch, excellent trail network. Great use of the space available. Very well maintained. Plenty of wooden features to mix it up.

Will try and make it out there weekly for a longer trail run!!

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/25/2013  -  bamadawg of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: roller coaster
Opinions: Excellent ride! A little soupy from last rain, but overall a blast.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/21/2013  -  Jeremy of Weddington, NC
Route Taken: ALL
Opinions: One of the better trails i have ridden in Charlotte. Very crowded but people look out for each other and let others pass.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/09/2013  -  TrappG of Concord, NC
Route Taken: all 3 loops
Opinions: Great trail! One of my favorites. Terrain is varied depending on which options you take. Roller coaster loop is probably the most technical but nothing is real difficiult honestly. I take my family sometimes and the trail is such that you can make an abrupt exit to the parking lot when the kids get tired. There is a main dirt road that seems to run down the middle of the property back to the parking lot. All 3 loops is just under 12 miles.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/16/2013  -  Mac of Concord, Nc
Route Taken: All 3 loops
Opinions: All
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/16/2013  -  Mac of Concord, Nc
Route Taken: All 3 loops
Opinions: Excellent trail, well maintained by trailblazers. Thank you!!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/06/2013  -  steve of cornelius, nc
Route Taken: all of them
Opinions: Love this trail and wish it was closer! Great job trailblazers. Flows great and I love all the manmade fun.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/10/2012  -  Amoore2668 of CLT, NC
Route Taken: Main Trail and Roller Coaster Loop
Opinions: First time at this trail after moving back to the area. I took a chance on this one after reading the reviews and have to say - reviewers were absolutely RIGHT! Of the trails I have ridden over the past few months, I would say this one is probably my favorite so far. Roller Coaster Loop was awesome. Lots of cars in the lot, but the layout of the trail allows for lots of uninterrupted riding without having to yield to others. Nice job of trail maintenance. Kudos to the TrailBlazers!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/07/2012  -  jm2e of Relay, NC
Route Taken: Clockwise. Full 12mile loop.
Opinions: Wow. I'm sure nobody in Char Town needs to hear me say it, but what a fantastic trail! Sure,I love the triangle trails, but I'm totally jealous of you now that I've ridden Sherman Branch. Hats off to everyone involved with securing land access, laying out a superb design, keeping it impeccably maintained, and building all those wonderful structures! Will return.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/05/2012  -  David of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main LOST GARMIN EDGE 305 found
Opinions: Awesome trail as always. Riding today I saw Garmin edge 305 (just the unit) in the weeds just off the stone path near where rollercoaster ends and the main trail begins. Shoot me an e-mail if it's yours. DavidJones246@gmail.com. Didn't want to leave it at the entrance kiosk.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/26/2012  -  Mike of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: main loop and roller coaster
Opinions: Third trip to Sherman. Took the main trail and roller coaster. 1:05 to ride those two trails. Conditions were great. not wet not dusty... I must compliment the trail markings at Sherman. They are the best I have ever seen. You always know the quickest way out... and where the main trail you are riding continues ahead. Great job! With all the spotty rain showers this summer check out weather.com and Charlotte... click the map link, click the precip last 24 hours link below the map to get a good idea of where and how much rain fell. I have found this to be quite accurate this summer.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/16/2012  -  Mike of CHARLOTTE, NC
Route Taken: MAIN TRAIL AND BIG LAKE TRAIL
Opinions: FIRST TIME AT SHERMAN BRANCH. BEAUTIUL FLOWING TRAILS WITH GORGEOUS LARGE BUILT UP BANKERS ON SEVERAL OF THE FAST FLOWS ON THE MAIN TRAIL. MANY MAN MADE LADDERS AND BRIDGES AS WELL AND ALWAYS THE OPTION OF A LESS AGRESSIVE TRACK... A COUPLE OF ROCK GARDENS ON THE MAIN TRAIL. I ROLLED ONTO THE BIG LAKE TRAIL AND RODE THAT LOOP. NICE RIDE WITH A COUPLE OF DEEP TECHNICAL CREEK CROSSINGS. CAME BACK OUT ONTO THE LAST QUARTER OF THE MAIN TRAIL TO FINISH OUT. SWEET FINISH WITH FAST SMOOTH CLIMBING OUT TO THE PARKING LOT. THERE IS A BEAUTIFUL FAST SWINGING RIGHT ON A LADDER BRIDGE JUST PRIOR TO THE END. 1:15 TO RIDE THE MAIN AND BIG LAKE TRAILS. BIG THANK YOU TO ALL INVOLVED WITH THIS BEAUTIFUL TRAIL SYSTEM.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/13/2012  -  Rob of Pinehurst, NC
Route Taken: Main trail and both loops
Opinions: Excellent trail system. Very well marked and maintained. Fast trails with banked corners. Reminds me of OVT in Wilkesboro. Loved it! I plan on riding this trail everytime I'm in the area.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/23/2012  -  YogiBear of Rock Hill, SC
Route Taken: [Main + RollerCoaster] x 2
Opinions: Great Trails! Well maintained. Nice and smooth and easy to maintain speed. Nice balance of up and down. Not alot of roots, a couple of rock gardens. Some nice man made features to make things interesting. Fun small jumps throughout the entire trail. Definately give ample time after a rain before riding bc the trail was still wet in areas a few days after rain.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/19/2012  -  Andy of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: Main - Roller Coaster - Lake Loop - Main
Opinions: Excellent trail system! Lots of fun with great single track, woods, banked curves, obstacles etc. I am an intermediate rider at best and I loved the trails. The Lake Loop was my least favorite as it had the most roots and boulders.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/07/2012  -  Austin E. of Indianapolis, Indiana
Route Taken: Entire 11 mile loop.
Opinions: Coming down from Indianapolis for a Wedding, my roommate and I packed up the bikes in search for some trails. After riding the 11 mile loop out at Uwharrie National Forest (one of my favorite sections of all time) we came across a rider who recommended we jump on the Sherman Branch trail. It is so refreshing to get so many different types of trails in North Carolina. We thoroughly enjoyed the trail as we ripped across it on our hard tails. There were enough hills to give us a workout, flat spots to let us recover, and roots/rocks to make sure we were not noobies. Overall we had a blast riding through the trails near Charlotte. We will be back again.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/02/2011  -  Jacob of Gastonia, NC
Route Taken: (Rollercoaster)x2, main, lake loop
Opinions: Loved it, pretty smooth and fast at some points. Love the bridges and jumps.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/16/2011  -  Robert of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Roller,main,lake
Opinions: Great fast trail with a lot of manmade obstacles . Needs a lot of TLC. Ruts and washout from weather, banked corners deteriorating, wooden obstacles falling apart. Lots of fun and as hard as you want to make it, but not what it used to be.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/02/2011  -  natedawg of lincolnton, NC
Route Taken: all
Opinions: The only bad thing about this trail is it's taken this long to discover it. Yoo would think with an 11 mile trail you would get bored at some point, but it's a blast from start to finish. From the fluidity of the trail to the man made jumps and features it's pure fun. I really would like to applaude the people who made and keep this trail maintained. Thank youl
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/24/2011  -  Cameron of Matthews, Nc
Route Taken: Roller,Main,lake
Opinions: Great trail. Fun,fast.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/24/2011  -  Cameron of Matthews, Nc
Route Taken:
Opinions:
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2011  -  Sean of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: Everything.
Opinions: The Lake Loop is by far the best loop in this trail. What would make this "good" trail a "better" trail? Cut the last 3 miles of aimlessly wandering trail out. More quality trail, less quantity trail. :)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2011  -  Sean of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: Everything.
Opinions: The Lake Loop is by far the best loop in this trail. What would make this "good" trail a "better" trail? Cut the last 3 miles of aimlessly wandering trail out. More quality trail, less quantity trail. :)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/25/2011  -  thomas of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: Main, roller, lake
Opinions: Trail was great and well maintained
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/16/2011  -  Bryan of Mineral Springs, NC
Route Taken: All of it...
Opinions: Hands down...BEST trail in Charlotte. Smooth, Fast, Fun. Ride this trail. Enough said.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/24/2011  -  Mark K of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster Loop, Lake Loop, and Main trail to complete a full circuit.
Opinions: I simply love this trail. Note: The directions on this site are slightly wrong, the parking lot is off Rocky River CHURCH Road. Rocky River Rd is somewhere else. The trail conditions are great right now and the work the Trailblazers have done to maintain the trail is terrific. The new section out on the Lake Loop is fun and well laid out. Everything is well marked and it really flows. I'm already counting the minutes until I can put the knobbies in the dirt at Sherman Branch again.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/07/2011  -  Joe Haley of China Grove, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster, Main & Lake Loops
Opinions: Super fun, fast and flowy! Real smooth, nothing real technical, but you can make it what you want depending on how fast you want to go....
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/02/2011  -  Greg Allmond of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: Rollercoaster then main
Opinions: Great shape- well maintained. Love the rollercoaster section.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/25/2011  -  Les Morrison of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Roller coaster then the main loop
Opinions: Great trail for especially since it's on my doorstep - here's some videos of the trail - http://www.youtube.com/user/MrLesjmorri son?feature=mhum#p/f/2/jJWp2sWYUlU
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/14/2011  -  JoshR of Pineville, NC
Route Taken: Main > Roller Coaster > Main > Shortcut > Out
Opinions: This so far is my favorite trail system in the area although I haven't been to USNWC as of yet. Rollercoaster is amazing! A total blast! The main loop is a fast rolling, obsticle ridden, party. Didn't get to the lake loop but will return as soon as I can. Awesome trail Trailblazers!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/13/2011  -  single speed biker of Fairfax , VA
Route Taken: The entire main loop, roller coaster loop and the lake loop.
Opinions: Very nice, roller coaster loop is unlike anything I have road in Northern VA, MD and PA. I will definitly ride this trail again. Good work from the people who maintain the system. Lots of people on the trail, it was a beautiful Sunday to ride the trails!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/07/2010  -  Rossman of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster & Main, I could not do the lake loop due to the sun going down.
Opinions: FUN! Very nice flow to the trails with lots of twists and turns, ups and downs, log crossings, drops and jumps that can be taken as fast as you can or dare.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/30/2010  -  Jass of Gastonia, North Carolina
Route Taken: Lake Loop, Roller Coaster Loop, and Main Loop
Opinions: Very fun trail. Great structures. Well maintained.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/06/2010  -  Sean of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: Rode everything.
Opinions: This is a nice trail. The trail gnomes do a great job of keeping this trail up. As for other reviewers thinking this is the greatest trail in Charlotte, I have to disagree. I don't think there is any "Best" trail in the Charlotte area. All the trails have their own personality and different folks like different trails for different reasons. I do like the technical stuff in the Lake Loop! Two thumbs up on that!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/28/2010  -  Ben of Wesley Chapel, NC
Route Taken: entire roller coaster loop and part of main trail
Opinions: This trail is beautiful to ride on. Has small but good climbs and a lot of fun descents.

I got a chance to ride the roller coaster loop and it is great. It will definitely give you a good workout as well as a fun adrenaline rush on some parts.

These trails are great and Sherman Branch is one of the absolute best places in Charlotte to mountain biking.

Although it is usually busy and the parking lot is close to full, you don't run into too many people on the trail. Heavily used, but you're still secluded from most other riders. The entire time I rode, I believe I only ran into 2 or 3 riders, although the parking lot had 20+ cars in it.

Overall it is so much fun and anyone who likes mountain biking should try it out.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/25/2010  -  Kyle of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: All routes
Opinions: Awesome #%$%in trail!! the entire trail took me an hour and ten.. very smooth and well taken care of..perfect balance of downhills, berms, jumps, technical sections, and workout.. by the time I got back to parking lot I was jello and lovin the burn!.. I will be back shortly to visit this sick trail!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/08/2010  -  John of Kannapolis, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster, Main, Lake Loop
Opinions: Best early in the morning. Hit the trail at 7:00 am and you will not see any other riders until you get back to the parking lot. May see a few deer. First one down the trail in the morning does have to eat the spider webs, but it's worth it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/27/2010  -  Todd of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster > Main > Lake
Opinions: Let me go ahead and amend my review from 2 years ago, now 50 lbs lighter and on a very fun XC bike. Sherman has added LOTs of jumps/trail features, semi-groomed rock gardens, and the faster you go, the more fun. While I still prefer WhiteWater Center for its longer decents, trying to keep up a quick pace will keep you on guard, and sweating your @ss off... good workout, and has a little something for everyone...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/23/2010  -  John of Aberdeen, NC
Route Taken: Roller coaster and Main loop
Opinions: I had my second chance to ride this trail last Friday. I had the afternoon off and was in the mood for something fun, rather than gut busting. Sherman came to mind. I really enjoyed the fast swoopy bermed turns, the built in jumps and dips. I was surprised that with a crowded parking lot, I saw few riders on the trail. The last time I rode the log ride on the main loop was not there. Nice design, clearly marked with an easy go around. Congratulations to the trail builders and workers. A great example fo a fun trail making great use of existing terrain and appropriate building of trail obstacles.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/23/2010  -  Eric of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop.
Opinions: Fast singletrack with just the right amount of jumps and technical difficulty! Multiple loops to choose from as well. If you don't know how to ride berms coming in - you will when you leave. Easily one of the best trails in Charlotte.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/10/2010  -  Bryan of Rock HIll, SC
Route Taken: Main Loop and Roller Coaster Loop
Opinions: This trail is filled with great obstacles and fun for mountain bikers of all skill levels. Its the type of trail you want to ride over and over again. I'll be back soon!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/20/2010  -  Iceman of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Main
Opinions: Amazing trail, well marked and had some nice jumps and sweet turns. Sherman Branch is the best trail I have ridden.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/19/2010  -  Isaac of Fort Mill, South Carolina
Route Taken: Main & Lake
Opinions: Liked it it got a little exhasting for me towards the end, but it is a great ride. the trail itself gets a little fast in some places almost too fast comin into some areas. the trail was great with the challenges.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/05/2010  -  PierreD1954 of Mooresville, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster and Main trails
Opinions: First time at this trail. This is the most fun trail I have seen. Perfect for an intermediate rider due to the moderate level of difficulty. Trail was in good shape too in regard to mud, branches, marking, etc...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/04/2010  -  Ryan of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main, Lake Loop
Opinions: Very fun trail. I have now ridden all three trails (I took main and roller coaster last time) and enjoy all three. Being new to riding, just started a month or so ago, the trail is challenging but fun. Only other place Ive rode is Harrisburg Park but I certainly recommend it to riders of every level.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/15/2010  -  Jim of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail
Opinions: I really enjoy this trail. Has a little bit of everything and is well maintained. Very few roots and some new jumps. Lots of fun for everyone.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/01/2010  -  Jayson of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main
Opinions: This is a good trail for beginers like my self or even sombody with more skill. Good tricks along the way although you can go around if you are not up to it, not to tough but enough to be fun. Well Marked. I had a good time I recomend this trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/29/2010  -  GRAVES of Stanly County, NC
Route Taken: Whole trail...
Opinions: Very nice trail. With the heavy traffic this trail gets I expected a trail in pretty rough shape. What I found was the opposite. Nice! So, props to the Trailblazers and other riders who help keep this trail up. Nice job. The bridges, mini rock gardens, and technical features were sweet - thanks to all those who helped make them possible.)
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/20/2010  -  Fred Leverenz of Baldwinsville, NY
Route Taken: THE WHOLE THING
Opinions: WHAT A GREAT TRAIL RODE THE WHOLE WEEK PUT ABOUT 3 WHOLE LOOPS A DAY GREAT WORK OUT FUN FUN FUN
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/18/2010  -  rocky of Charlotte, nc
Route Taken: all of them
Opinions: go fast and be gentle to the trees, bob and weav's will happen. The best thing about this trail is everything. No complaint's at all.. killkillkill . Nice new jump in there , you'll see when you get to it. After you ride this you'll wanna ride Poplar next. so funnn
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/17/2010  -  WeekendRider of CLT, NC
Route Taken: Roller coaster, main loop, lake loop.
Opinions: I believe this is the best trail in Charlotte and better yet, the best trail that I have ever ridden. I try and ride this trail as much as possible and look forward to each ride. It is almost 12 miles if you take every option. Do yourself a favor and ride this trail if you haven't.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/16/2010  -  Emily of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Main
Opinions: The trail is in great shape, and I'm excited about the new black diamond additions, which I am going to try as soon as I get the guts to do so! Great job Trailblazers!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/15/2010  -  Kyle R. of Indian Trail, NC
Route Taken: roller coaster
Opinions: Awesome trail! I've ridden it 4 times and love it every time. Fast elevation changes, nicely designed technical areas, and great jumps. It's not the closest to me but certainly my favorite!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/30/2010  -  Dean of Indian Trail, N.C.
Route Taken: roller coster and main
Opinions: you guys have done a lot of work on it, improved the flow added more fun ,, ty guys
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/24/2010  -  Metalmok of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main trail and Lake loop.
Opinions: Trail is really fun and well maintained. The lake loop was the best part. I haven't been riding my bike for about 2 years and am really out of shape but was able to complete the entire trail in my middle chainring. I didn't shift once. It was a good trail to get back into mt. biking.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/16/2010  -  Steve of Methuen, MA
Route Taken: Roller Coaster, lake loop and main loop
Opinions: You guys know how to lay out and build trails!! Lots of fun regardless of ability. I hope to see some additional trails when I return next year.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/07/2010  -  Daniel of Denver, NC
Route Taken: Main, Roller coaster, and Lake loop
Opinions: I'm going to give it my personal "Best Of Charlotte" award. This MTB trail is fantastic! That would explain why there were about 50 vehicles in the parking lot!!! It's just too bad that the trail I like the most is the farthest from my location. I will be making the long drive for this one in the future.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/20/2010  -  MonkeyLube of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main and Roller Coaster
Opinions: Really fun trail. I had a blast. I'd say it was as fun as I have had riding. I went with my wife who is fairly new to riding and she jammed on it as well. The roller coaster proved to be more challenging than she as a beginner was expecting but afterwards said it was a great challenge for her. I found it technical enough for a fun time. I highly recommend this trail and will be riding it again I'm sure soon.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/20/2010  -  Greg of Concord, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: This trail was a blast ! ! ! I've been on North Meck, Beech Springs, and Fisher Farms. Sherman Branch is a clear winner for me. Lots of smooth and fast trails. Plenty of fun challenges for the beginner rider and long enough so that one trip through is plenty for the day.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/20/2010  -  Juice of Concord, NC
Route Taken: Main, Roller Coaster, Lake Loop
Opinions: If Greg liked it, I'm all for it!!!! One of the most enjoyabale times I've had on the bike. Fast, enough challenges to keep it interesting, the roller coaster was top notch, enjoyed the nicely placed obstacles, lots of places for cheap air, and the lake loop will add to the cardio.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/29/2010  -  Josh Mann of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop
Opinions: Although this was my first time on this trail, or any trail for that matter, it was a great, very well planned out route. There are multiple obstacles placed throughout this trail and depending on your experience level, you can make them as difficult or as easy as you'd like. I highly recommend this trail to any level rider. It's a great ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/13/2010  -  SCOTT of CHARLOTTE, NC
Route Taken: THE ENTIRE LOOP
Opinions: I've ridden here since opening.the work is always fantastic as is the trail.I guess with the cold weather and some sort of warming and sun it was the muddiest mess i've seen it in.i would check if possible before riding
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/10/2010  -  Ben of Monroe, NC
Route Taken: just the main loop
Opinions: Because of my shortage of time, I only rode the main loop. I look forward to going back and trying the roller coaster loop as well as the lake loop.

It was a beautiful trail, with varying areas of difficulty. Fun, winding trail that almost seems never ending. I really enjoyed this trail. I wish I had more time to try the other loops

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/02/2010  -  Keith of Stallings, NC
Route Taken: Roller coster, main, lake loop
Opinions: Great trail... I ride this trail bout once a week, I like to see the improvments, but I think some section should be left alone. Ex . The recent change to the main trail titled sour wood has left me sour. I used to take pride in being able to bunny hop and clear that section of routes. No it's just a ramp over them. Yeah... I guess
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/23/2009  -  speed racer of cornelius, north carolina
Route Taken: Main Loop
Opinions: The trail is outstanding. The difficulty is there for all skill levels. We are beginners and liked the option of avoiding the tricks when necessary. Highly recommend this trail! Thanks for creating a great ride. My children, 10 & 12, absolutely loved it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/14/2009  -  Gary of Satellite Beach, FL
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Super fun, a must ride for any XC rider, Great design and workmanship! Almost everyone will like this place.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/29/2009  -  Peter of Harrisburg, NC
Route Taken: From Harrisburg to trail
Opinions: Flippin awesome! smooth enough for BMX bikes, and good enough for mountain bikes too!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/26/2009  -  Scott of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: Main & Lake loop
Opinions: Great trail! This was my first time riding Sherman...my usual trails are WWC & Beech Springs, I was pleasantly suprised. Something for almost everyone on this trail (except big uphills/cardio challenges) there were "wooptie-do's", switchbacks, elevated man-made sections, plenty of jumps, bridges, etc. All obstacles had a less aggressive option, for the faint of heart. I really enjoyed this ride....my hat is off to the folks at Tarheel Trailblazers, great job!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/16/2009  -  jerry vs of fort mill, sc
Route Taken: Rode both loops twice.
Opinions: Very nice flow, jumps, very easy climbing, and well maintained. A fun ride, the post before puzzles me. The trail rolls up and down, effectively using the terrain. A great ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/15/2009  -  matt of matthews, nc
Route Taken: the whole trail including lake loop
Opinions: very well maintained trail. xc riders seem to love this place, but for me it was pretty boring. seemed like I rode uphill 80% of the time, and the few downhill sections that existed were winding in order to create a longer track, at the expense of any good downhill sections. Some small jumps here and there, and a couple of obstacles, but mainly just smooth xc. Personally not my style of trail as it seemed like after all long uphill sections, there was no reward. Great trail for the way that most people like to ride around here, and definitly a good test of endurance, just not my style.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/06/2009  -  John C of Aberdeen, NC
Route Taken: ummm... followed the leader main loop to Roler Coaster (?) to lake loop, and back to main loop... I think
Opinions: Very fun trail. Well maintained and laid out. Good use of existing terrain, climbs nearly non existent compared to flowing, mild downhills. Fun obstacles, tight and twisty, great for working on technical moves in a non risky situation. Most of all fun, flowing... brought many smiles.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/28/2009  -  Michael of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail
Opinions: As I am a beginner, I did this a couple times before posting a rating. Today was my first time running the entire trail. It started off easy and as I got past "Crooked Finger Turn" it got harder and harder. I'm still a beginner though, so don't go off my opinion alone. There are a lot of people that passed me and my buddy with ease
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/23/2009  -  Scott of Huntersville, NC
Route Taken: All loops
Opinions: Awesome trail. I rode here for the first time today because LNSP was closed and I have to say I'm kind of glad it was. Some very challenging parts especially for a beginner like me, but I did the whole thing and had a lot of fun.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2009  -  Chris G of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Route Taken: All Trails at Sherman Branch
Opinions: Whenever I am in Charlotte I tend to head to the Whitewater Center and today decided to give Sherman Branch a try. Wow am I glad I did. Nice, smooth flowing singletrack. Berms, Jumps, Drops. Nothing too technical but plenty to go fast and keep you on your toes.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2009  -  Konstantin of CLT, NC
Route Taken: took all trails
Opinions: i have been riding for a year and a half and only now started to ride sherman. i think it is one of the best trails around, very fun, not too many roots. if you need to cut it short you can easily do it via the emergency exit but all throughout this trail is great. i tend to avoid the lake loop because it is not as much fun as the rest, but it is a good option. Thanks for the trail, its features, and the proper maintenance.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/15/2009  -  Benjamin of Gastonia, NC
Route Taken: All Trails
Opinions: Great place to ride with the family. Very fast and a good workout!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/08/2009  -  Benjamin of Gastonia, N.C.
Route Taken: We rode the first five mile of the trail.
Opinions: I have been riding for about two months and out off the five trails i have rode, this is my favorate.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/04/2009  -  Cindy of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop
Opinions: My husband and I are very new to mountain biking, and this is the second trail we've ever been on. We had a blast! Lots of obstacles and turns. Well maintained by THTB! Great place to ride. Although we are very much novices, this trail was a great one to try. Will definately be back!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/28/2009  -  Dean of indain trail, nc
Route Taken: every thing but the lake loops
Opinions: after not riding for 15 yrs .i had a friend "who knew this trail" awesome trail well kept up fun to ride good stuff i am so going again
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/22/2009  -  DarrenB of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Trail
Opinions: Havent been on my bike for sometime, I thought the main trail was excellent. Not extremely difficult but you had to be paying attention. Im pretty much a novice mountain biker and I had a really great ride. Will definitely go back hopefully often to explore the other two trails. Trails are very well maintained hats off to those who take care of those trails!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/15/2009  -  Joe L. of Bess. City, NC
Route Taken: Main Trail (Red) only
Opinions: I had a blast! It was the longest one i've been on and it went fast for me. I consider myself a beginner and it was an excellent cardio workout for me. I normally ride Poston Park in Lowell (which is a bit more challenging for me but short) so this was a welcomed change. Nice jumps and many opportunities for speed! I'll will frequent this trail!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/14/2009  -  Jeep Dad of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main, roller coaster, and lake loops
Opinions: My favorite trail. it is long but with options to cut short if you don't have time for al of it, or have an emergency or just get tired, which i did the first time I rode it months ago. It flows real well and had little roots as opposed to Col Francis beatty or Ann Springs which makes it more enjoyable and easier on my lower back, especially as I ride a hard tail (Motobecane Phantom Comp). However, taking all loops provides climbs, descents, obstacles for jump or rock beds and logs.... so it is offers a variety of things. But it really flows well, espcially the main loop so it is enjoybale as a beginner or more experienced rider who can take the other two loops and go faster for more difficulties. It is also beautiful, it is nice to ride, enjoy a full body work out, cardio session and feel one with nature. lots of wild life: deers, howls, squirrels, snakes.... at 230 lbs it provides me with great exercise and cardio challenge. I usually do the main loop and roller coaster, but last time i also did the lake loop wich is nice... had a challenging spot crossing a creek then rocks and I did not have enough momemtum nor the bike placed well so i had to put my foot down... :) I am learning My opinion: 1 Sherman, 2 and 3 AnnSprings and Col Francis beatty (too rooty)... I can't wait to try the one at the Whitewater center now as I hear mixed reviews...
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/23/2009  -  George of South Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All I think.
Opinions: First time on the trail. Loved it. I will definitely go back, as well as spread the word on this trail. THTB has done an excellent job constructing and maintaining the trails in the area.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/23/2009  -  Chris of Atlanta, GA
Route Taken: All
Opinions: This trail was great! I loved all of the jumps and man made features. Kudos to the people who built and maintain this trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/15/2009  -  Rick of Charlotte, North Carolina
Route Taken: Whole trail
Opinions: I have just started riding and really loved trails. I run a lot but found out the riding a mountain bike wokrs all the muscles I don't use when running. Watch out for the snakes, saw 1 black snake and 2 copperheads on the Lake loop!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/18/2009  -  Dan of Rock Hill, South Carolina
Route Taken: roller coaster, lake loop, main loop
Opinions: I started riding for the first time this past fall. Out of the 4 trails I've been on in the area, this one by far is my favorite. Plenty of obstacles to enjoy and the trails arent as "rooty" as some of the others I ride. Great place to build stamina and confidence on a mountain bike. Watch the turns on the roller coaster. If you use too much front brake the front end will slide out from under you :') 4 thumbs up!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/09/2009  -  Duke of Midland, NC
Route Taken: Everytrail
Opinions: Great trail! lots of obstacles. If you have never rode this trail dont pick up lots of speed there is probably an obstacle waiting for you up ahead!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/05/2009  -  Michael of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main loop
Opinions: Excellent trail. Portions of this trail were tough for a beginner (only my second trail so far) but I still had a blast.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/24/2009  -  Leaux of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: Good mix of turns and strait runs. Roller Coaster is great!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/24/2009  -  Adam Hill of Statesville, North Carolina
Route Taken: Main trail
Opinions: This has been my favorite single track trail so far since beginning to ride again in January. Great trail maintenance. Very technical during the middle and second half of the nine miles. Fun trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/19/2009  -  Collin of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main loop
Opinions: Loved it. Trail is in great shape (as always). Just the right amount of technical stuff that flows so well.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/23/2008  -  Erron Mack of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop/ Roller Coaster
Opinions: Great Trail. I have been on a few of the local trails within the Charlotte area and find this the most versitile, and exciting. I'm just getting back into it and find it an excellent trail to build some stamina while having fun. The emergency exits come in handy when becoming overworked. Can't wait to try the loop around the pond.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/26/2008  -  CHRIS of Stallings, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop
Opinions: I took my son(14)and his friend(12) for their first real trail ride. They each crashed 3or4 times but nothing major.The boys said it was tough,but asking when we're again. I enjoyed the ride, good job on the obstacles. I'll have to try it without the boys so I can go faster.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/01/2008  -  Kevin of Charlotte, North Carolina
Route Taken: I ride the main loop mostly, but have tried the lake and rollercoaster loops as well. All three are fantastic.
Opinions: What a great trail! One of the best in the Charlotte area. Built primarily by single-speeders, this trail just has loads of flow. The trail is very very well thought out and can be taken very fast. Not only that, but The Trailblazers have done so well at maintaining the trail, it's just insane. Thankfully, the park closes when bad weather is about, so we're always assured clean and well-maintained trails. The fireroads that criss-cross the trails make for easy exit should you have an emergency or just need to quit early. The lake loop offers some great scenic views.

Take the main loop fast and you won't be disappointed! Not very technical or challenging, but it is a flat out blast.

Great for beginners to learn on and great for the intermediate and advanced riders to blaze on.

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/27/2008  -  Rajplt of Concord, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop and Roller Coaster
Opinions: I have been riding the trail for a couple of years. I have a bud in Waxhaw and it is a great midpoint from Concord. Trailblazers did a good job with some of the new modifications. I write this with a busted up face and sore body after falling of the rolling up and down bridge about 2/3 through the main loop. My fault completely, there is a bypass I recommend taking the first time until you see how it drops off the first rise. I didn't and paid for it. Fun trail and look forward to hitting that bridge again.. without busting my ass.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/10/2008  -  Mark M. of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: I'm just posting a few links for information about the park and trails:

Gate Status & Trail Conditions: http://shermanbranch.com

Hotline (recorded message): 704-323-8283

Pre-zoomed Weather Radar: http://www.wunderground.com/stationmaps/gmap.asp?lat=35.24495&lon=-80.64012&zoom=15&type=hyb&rad=1&rad.num=1&rad.spd=25&rad.opa=70&rad.stm=0&wxsn=1&wxsn.mode=tw&svr=0&cams=0&sat=0

Personal Weather Station 1/2 mile from the park: http://weatherathome.com

Archive of rain amounts at the park: http://tinyurl.com/meckrain

(Station NC-MK-13 - on the far right of Meck. County)

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/09/2008  -  Mark K of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop and all extra loops (roller Coaster, Lake, etc)
Opinions: I have ridden every trail in the CharMeck area and I think this one may be my favorite, followed closely by the Whitewater Center trails. I enjoyed the length of Sherman Branch. It rolls quickly and the occasional obstacle keeps it interesting. There are several tough ones that really make you pay attention, but there are bypasses to keep you safe if you're unsure. The bridges across the wetland areas are appreciated. The Trailblazers do a great job here. If you want super-technical, this is not it. However, if you want tight single- track to practice your bike handling, this is the answer. Ridden slow it is a great intro trail for the beginner. Ridden fast, it is all you will want as a seasoned rider. Logs, roots, rocks, bridges, hills, flats, well- marked, multiple exit points, great parking, port-a-potty convenience, black berries in-season, etc. Need I say more? Loved it.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/05/2008  -  Brandon of Salisbury, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop, and Lake Loop
Opinions: This trail most of the time is a 2 but there is one really deceptive part right after a access road crossing. You can move really fast then all of a sudden you find a right turn that drops off several feet with no warning. I would like to see a sign there but other than that the trail isn't too difficult. I really like the way there are paths around most obstacles to keep the pace up. Another great job by the Trailblazers but just put a caution sign up at that turn cause it really is wicked.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/29/2008  -  Tom Ferrara of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Trail closed
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/24/2008  -  Rob M. of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All loops
Opinions: Great trail, very smooth and flowing, with only a few true technical features. Would be a great trail for a new rider, or for an experienced rider (myself) looking for a longer ride. If you push your speed, the trail is very challenging. Not nearly as many roots or steep climbs as Rennaisance, which was a blessing on my rigid SS. This trail is very singlespeed friendly, even though most of the other riders I saw were on full suspensions. Trail is very easy to navigate and clearly marked, and winds around a fire road, which makes for a great emergency exit. I will ride it again soon!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/03/2008  -  MarleyMarl of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop
Opinions: Awesome - 1st time ever on any trails - still building endurance so the Main loop trail was challenging, FUN and well maintained. Keep hearing great things about the Roller Coaster so will be trying that next trip. If first impression counts - then it's safe to say that I'm "Hook" and will be coming back for many Rides!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/31/2008  -  Todd of charlotte, nc
Route Taken: roller coaster, main, lake
Opinions: Very well maintained, roller coaster is a good loop...but can't say that I'll go back. It was a little damp, so not as fast as Im sure it is usually...but other than roller coaster, it is just not enough going on....a lot of switchbacks and not a lot of terrain covered, I much prefer Anne Springs or Whitewater center. If you like fast and rolling without any difficult climbs or tough descents, (VERY well maintained and polished) than its a good workout...but I like a bit more of a challenge. Plus I also saw two black snakes...not cool.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/29/2008  -  Tommy B of Florence, SC
Route Taken: Rollercoaster and Main Loop
Opinions: I was in Charlotte on business, and had the option of going out to dinner with a bunch of boring engineers (and I include myself in that group) or riding at Sherman Branch. Wow, did I make the right decision. Years ago, I paid a lot of money to take my family to Carowinds. The Rollercoaster Loop here is much more exciting than anything at the amusement park, not to mention much cheaper and no lines. I can't wait until my next trip to Charlotte.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/19/2008  -  Able of Charlotte, NC.
Route Taken: All the loops
Opinions: These trails are great for anybody wanting to have good time, even if there is a ton of people there riding it still isn't a problem running into other riders, love these trails, only live about 2 miles from here so it is the most convent place me to ride but I'm trying to get out to more places to ride around town. See you on the trails....
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/29/2008  -  Alex of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All - main, roller coaster, lake
Opinions: Great, fun routes. Roller Coaster is one of the best stretches of single track in the area. Fast with plenty of ups and downs. The new signage on Lake really helps. Great job trailblazers!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/15/2008  -  Slowpoke of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop to Roller Coaster to Main Loop.
Opinions: Fantastic trail. Flows very nicely. Roller Coaster is the most fun I've had trailriding since I started again 3 months ago. Not a hard trail, as there aren't many roots or a lot of technical obstacles, but it was a blast. Could be more of the technical stuff, but I hate when there are lots of roots so the lack there of was air in my tires. This trail will only get funner for me as my skill improves. I can't wait to get back there.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/06/2008  -  Victor of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: main loop and roller coaster
Opinions: awesome trail, worth the drive and the heat. roller coaster was a whole lot of fun. that tail end was a bit confusion due to lack of signage but all in all great trail
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/31/2008  -  Daniel of Charlotte, North Carolina
Route Taken: Main Loop, Roller Coaster, and Lake Loop
Opinions: Awesome trails. Roller coaster is fun and challenging. The main loop and lake loop are great as well. Excellent layout. I like the 11 miles of trails and not repeating anything.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/20/2008  -  David of Kannapolis, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: All loops in great shape. Saw 2 big black snakes which allowed me to pedal like lance Armstrong for a short while.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/13/2008  -  Eric of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop and Rollercoaster
Opinions: I've got to say that the rollercoaster is one of the funnest trails I've ridden in a while. Not too tough, not too easy. Small climbs make you work a little but great flow. And I too saw that six footer. I believe it's a rat snake...nothing to worry about.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/06/2008  -  Jeff of Harrisburg, NC
Route Taken: Main Loop & Roller Coaster
Opinions: This was my first ride at Sherman Ranch with my son and we had a blast. The trail is in perfect shape now. I didn't realize it was this close to my house in Harrisburg. Much better than Poplar Tent & Fisher Farm in my opinion. The Coaster loop was a lot of fun. The whole lap is just the right length for a nice work out. Plenty of action, some nice jumps, decent obstacles, small climbs, and plenty of switchbacks to hone your skills. There is a little something for everyone at this trail. Great job by the THTB crew, we appreciate it. You will be seeing me there quite often from now on. Oh yeah...No Copperheads seen, but a 6' Black snake in the trail will still get your attention !
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/23/2008  -  Rookie of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All
Opinions: For being my first time riding on a trail I had a good experience. It wasn't too easy or too hard. The trails are in good shape. I am looking foward to do it again.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/20/2008  -  Michael Stein of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: everywhere except for Lake Loop (storm clouds were rolling in)
Opinions: Well maintained. Not too technical, but still quite fun. Parking lot was closed (Why?) so had to park in nearby neighborhood and bike over to trailhead.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/10/2008  -  RockyMtn of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All Loops
Opinions: In great shape - just a few soft spots remain. As previously posted - it was my riding that was the trouble - LOL
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/21/2007  -  jimmy of concord, NC
Route Taken: Main loop/roller coaster/lake loop
Opinions: very good roller coaster is the best trail has big up and downs and twist and turns not that much incline besept one part/ the main loop is very good has few jumps rock gardens they should have more jumps/lake loop has rock gardens 1/2 1/2 of incline and down hill
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/15/2007  -  RockyMtn of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All Loops
Opinions: Excellent - Been riding this trail quite frequently as it is in much better condition than Beech Springs. However there is a section that needs some work. I would guess it's about 1/2 mile from the Lake Loop entrance. One of the dirt mounds is getting fairly worn as I am bottoming out my BB and nearly wiping out. Maybe it's just my riding (LOL) Any dates for trail maintenance?
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 10/01/2007  -  Alan and Doug of Concord, NC
Route Taken: Main Trail
Opinions: I took my 8 year old and he did well, only one tree hit. He did need to exit his bike a few times but made most of the log jumps. It was a great time and we will be back. Great job with this trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/22/2007  -  Johnny T of Athens, GA
Route Taken: Main, Roller Coaster, Lake Loop
Opinions: Fantastic! A little bit of everything for everybody. Fast and flowing with enough rock gardens and log crossings (none of which are overly difficult) to keep it interesting. No real climbs but that is not necessarily a bad thing.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/16/2007  -  tyler of matthews, nc
Route Taken: main trail, roller coaster trail and lake loop- all trails were only 9.4 miles on my GPS
Opinions: fun trail to ride, enjoyed roller coaster and lake loop best. no climbs to speak of but still a good work out if you keep a fast pace. hats off to trailblazers for all their hard work- many thanks
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/15/2007  -  Kent of Charlotte, North Carolina
Route Taken: Did the whole trail.
Opinions: Very nicely done. I would have never thought that there would have been as many miles to this trail. Fun and very fast. Has some nice little climbs. You can basically take anyone on this trail. The faster you ride it-The more fun it gets.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/07/2007  -  Blake of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire Trail - Main, Rollercoaster, Lake loops, etc.
Opinions: Back in January of this year, I rode Sherman Branch with a guy I have raced with in the past and wrote a less than stellar opinion of the trail. It has been a while since then and I decided to go out again with an open mind as I have continually heard that I rode the trail too soon and it offers much more than it did in January. The ride started with the gate to the parking lot being locked at 1:00 PM on a Friday... Hmm... WTF? But after I parked in a neighborhood about 1/2 mile away and rode the trail, I must say that my opinion has changed substantially. Even though the difficulty of the trail is not very high, there have been major improvements to give the trail some unique features and a lot of character. The fun factor for this trail has increased dramatically. I rode the entire trail in the big ring and averaged about 11.2 mph (nothing blazingly fast, but a quick pace) and got a good aerobic workout. You won't see a lot of steep climbs at this trail, but it is definitely enjoyable. So, with a big high five to the trailblazers that heard my criticisms and turned this into an opportunity for vast improvement, I salute you all. Now where is that humble pie? I need a slice!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 09/04/2007  -  Jackfrom Seattle of Seattle , Washington
Route Taken: Not defined. I think I rode most all of it.
Opinions: Nice rolling trails. Nobig hills. I single speed so it was a good rolling workout.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/30/2007  -  Justin E. of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Everything!
Opinions: This is an awesome trail and continues to bring new suprises everytime I ride! Trailblazers have done an awesome job on creating and maintaining these trails!!! But watch out for the copper head in the middle of the trail just about a mile into the ride! I hit it too!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/26/2007  -  Jason of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All(Main, Roller Coaster, & Lake Loop)
Opinions: First time out to Sherman Branch and loved it. Relatively smooth and fast trail but enough obstacles to keep it interesting. The frequent berms allow you to work up a nice flow. Thanks to the trail builders...job well done.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 08/12/2007  -  Brandon B. of Concord, NC
Route Taken: All(Main, Roller Coaster, & Lake Loop)
Opinions: Incredible trail. Not too terribly hard, but a great cardio workout (especially the lake loop). highly reccomended. Just get there early to make sure you get a parking space.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/23/2007  -  RockyMtn of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All Loops
Opinions: 1st time ride at Sherman. Was very impressed with condition and overall ride.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/18/2007  -  Bird of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main/RollerCoaster
Opinions: I've ridden once...Very smooth and fast...I wasn't expecting the copperhead laying across the main loop ~ 1 mile from the trailhead!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/16/2007  -  Jay M of Mint Hill/ Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main and Rollercoaster
Opinions: Man, My First time ever on a technical mount bike trail and I decided to "man" up to the rollercoaster loop! What a ride! Super fun but it was very challlenging for a first time rider. I will be be back great workout!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/13/2007  -  DumpTruck07 of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main & Coaster & Lake Loop
Opinions: Man that was a great ride the roller coaster loop ws great and the rest was alot to put up with. I will ride again soon.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 07/09/2007  -  Thorne Montague of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster, Main, Lake
Opinions: Great trail! Kudos to the trail builders. Fun, fast and interesting. Love all the "over easy" obstacles.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/05/2007  -  RacerX100 of Huntersville , NC
Route Taken: Main Loop, Roller Coaster, Lake Loop, and Secret Bro Brah Loop w/ Kung Fu Grip.
Opinions: I have ridden this trail a few times now since it's completion. Great Job Jerry, Rod, Sean, and all the rest! True rake and ride singletrack and you can tell that a lot of love went into this trail. The is a fast, rolling trail with no major elevation changes. Some mildly technical features are thrown in to keep it interesting and FUN. Another great local trail to spoil us all!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/26/2007  -  greg of charlott, nc
Route Taken: Roller Coaster,Main Trail, Lake Loop
Opinions: this trail was crazy some hard spots but lots of things for fun. Roller Coaster had lots of dips. Reccomended
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/26/2007  -  Linus of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster, Main Trail
Opinions: This is the most fun 'n fast trail in Charlotte. A labor of love! The Roller Coaster is where it's at if you out to have fun. If you looking for a good work out the entire trail delivers just that. My last favorite trail was Catawba, now I have a new play ground. Lots of good switchbacks. This is my first ride out on this trail and I am ready to go back on the coaster. The parking is going to be a problem soon as more new faces show up every weekend. No water but there is a portajohn. Trail entrance and exit close together. I had so much fun with the downhills and expected to hit the fire road to exit but I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was a well thought of loop. Highly recommended. Thanks to Mike on his V for the cornering tips.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/02/2007  -  jimmy G of charlotte, NC
Route Taken: main, roller coaster,lake loop all arows
Opinions: It is the bomb i live right beside it i ride it every day i like the main loop better than the roller coaster. roller coaster i think is for expert stay on main (my opinion) im 13 and it is a hole lot of fun it is relaxing and i ride it almost everyday it is good exercise and You Should Ride This 10.5 miles of trails
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 05/01/2007  -  Doug Slack of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main / Roller Coaster / Lake
Opinions: EXCELLENT. Hats off to Jerry Adams (I know there is another person who he partnered with on design and work) and THTB and all who worked on this trail. This is an excellent use of 207 acres. Where else can you go to a park with 207 acres and get 10.5 miles of trail without the appearance of trails on top of each other. The 2 alternative loops - Roller Coaster and Lake provide a great contrast to the main loop - lots of dips, logs, rocks, banks... Well done Tarheel TB's!! Great addition to the Charlotte area!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/29/2007  -  Chris Smith of Waxhaw, NC
Route Taken: Roller Coaster and Lake Loop
Opinions: The Roller Coaster loop was 18 minutes of fun followed by 60 minutes of Lake Loop. Everything flows well and is worth the drive from anywhere in Charlotte. Overall it was great fun, the trails are well marked as usual, plus you don't have to share the trail with horses or walkers.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/29/2007  -  Mark of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Main loop and Lake Trail
Opinions: Great place to get a workout, Well marked trails, Stop and look around once in a while wonderful landscape
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/28/2007  -  wendywoo of indian trail, nc
Route Taken: Rollercoaster, Main, and Lake loop
Opinions: Love all three. My favorite is the rollercoaster lots of woo hoos to be had. Hats off to Jerry. THIS TRAIL ROCKS!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/10/2007  -  Steve of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All Sections
Opinions: Some trails are an adventure and some are race tracks. This trail requires constant pedaling and the plethora of tight turns combined with a generous amount of rock gardens, logs and gully plunges require the rider to stay focused on the trail ahead. Cardio workout is guaranteed. No big hills but 10 miles on this trail will burn some carbs!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/09/2007  -  Tony of Charlotte, nc
Route Taken: follow arrows, hit all options
Opinions: this might be the best designed trail in charlotte. It does not have lung busting climbs but it is very fast with constant pedaling. The new lake option adds difficulty to the trail which in nice. Overall this is a great trail that can be riden fast, seems like it is very well suited for single speed bikes. Thanks to the trailblazers for building the trail.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/08/2007  -  David of Kannapolis, NC
Route Taken: Main, Roller Coaster, Lake Loop.
Opinions: Alot of fun overall. Good Cardio. Not too technical. Fast. Great Job Trailblazers !
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/07/2007  -  Ross of Clemmons, NC
Route Taken: Main Trail, Roller Coaster
Opinions: Great Trail with awesome speed and love the effort to do the banked turns all over the place. This is a ton of fun so you can keep motoring and not scrub off speed on roots and curves. Nice effort to the builders! It is one of the bst marked i have seen and the Emergency Exits keep you from sweating in case something goes wrong. Great Planning and Kudos to the Club!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/04/2007  -  Tim of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: I think I rode the entire trail. I followed the arrows whenever there were any
Opinions: Your Lactate Threshold will not be challenged (i.e. no gruelling uphills), but your aerobic endurance will be. A GREAT long, tight trail...leave your handlebar antlers at home, you'll thank me later. There are lots of options to shorten your ride as the trail doubles back many times across a main "insertion" trail. All the technical obstacles are smooth and rideable if you are beginner-intermediate. Give yourself lots of time to ride this one.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 04/01/2007  -  Mark M of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: I live right next to Sherman Branch Park, in the Bradfield Farms neighborhood.
Opinions: Living right next to the trails, I've watched them grow from the very beginning. They've really turned out to be something very special.

The majority of the trails are suitable for beginner and intermediate level riders. There are a few sections - 20 ft here and there - where I still choose to dismount, just because I do not want to risk injury. There are many log-crossings, rock gardens, gravity pits, and tight, winding singletrack to keep you smiling. This is not a place you'll feel bored, in my opinion.

Most of the trail requires steady pedaling, so it's a great place for a cardio workout. The park itself, is scenic. Lots of big trees, creeks, lakes, etc. I've seen deer a number of times.

There are very few pedestrians to worry about running into. In fact, if you visit the trails on a weekday, you might be the only person out there. The place does get busy in the evenings, and the weekends.

The newest section of track, by the big lake, is great. There are longer sections of downhill track to get your speed built-up. You sometimes have to thread a needle to get between two trees. It's become my favorite trail in Sherman Branch.

By the way, to see current weather conditions at Sherman Branch, check out this weather site that is located right outside of the park, in Bradfield Farms: http://www.weatherathome.com/

Thanks for reading my review!

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/24/2007  -  Michael H of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: 51 and left at Albemarle Rd, right on Rocky River Church Rd. Past Camp Stewart couple hard yards and Bingo!
Opinions: Great trail... I had hoped for a new trail in my neck of the woods and I couldn't be more pleased with Sherman Branch!!!

The trail flows great, lots of fun switch backs, rolling hills, rock obstacles, climbs and downhills, changing terrain and beautiful views all make for a fun and very interesting ride. The trail is was planned out very well to make use of the best features of the terrain. I really dig how at one moment your riding along side a creek in a gully then you find yourself riding across the outer ridge overlooking the creek gully and slopes of the terrain. Jerry and his crew did a great job! Thanks to all involved in getting this trail built and thanks to the Tarheel Trailblazers!

Michael

Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/22/2007  -  Ryan of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Followed trail signs for a complete loop (I think)
Opinions: The trail isn't hard. It does require constant pedaling, so it's a great cardio workout. There are some small bumps, jumps and humps made from dirt, logs and rocks. I suck at jumps, so the small jumps here let me practice getting my 6 inches of air. A couple corners with berms was a nice feature. Will go back if I'm in the area. Only recommendation would be to keep adding obstacles! I didn't find anything advanced about the 'advanced' trail... but as long as I'm riding, I'm having fun!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/10/2007  -  Orbital of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Rode all Sections 10.5 miles
Opinions: This trail was thought out and designed very well. We ended up riding the full course which I believed to be a little over 10 miles. The Climbs were amazing and the Twisty single track was a challenge at speeds. Also, the newer Technical side to the left of the Silo was a work out and a half with the ups / downs and log pyramids. The trail is very challenging and at the same time has scenery.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 03/06/2007  -  Plezsnow of Fort Mill, SC
Route Taken: Full loop of main trail
Opinions: Tight & twisty single track with very little elevation change,lots of cool man made obstacles....... fun.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 02/18/2007  -  Tony of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken:
Opinions: Very nice trail, pretty much all single track. Very nice flow, seems like it will be fast when it is dry during the summer.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/28/2007  -  Scott of Mint Hill, NC
Route Taken: The whole Trail and then some back woods
Opinions: The trail is fun but I wish it had more challenges besides switch backs thru the woods I know there is alot of land out there to work with and I hope the Trailblazers make a more challenging course like Catawba. Nice work but needs more dificulty.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 01/20/2007  -  Blake of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: Entire trail and followed signs
Opinions: One word can describe this trail - "repetitive". The trail does not have a lot of character. Tons of switchbacks and very little opportunities to pick up speed. It reminds me of the twisty turny section of Poplar Tent which is fun for about a mile, but after 6.5 miles of the same back and forth over and over, I was looking forward to the end of the trail. There are a couple of fun obstacles that break up the monotony, but over all I was really disappointed. It just does not flow well and the trail offers little variety for the advanced rider. I doubt I will go back any time soon.
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 12/05/2006  -  steve of mint hill, n.c.
Route Taken: everything but new section
Opinions: Great ride thru the woods! Nice tight winding singletrack with plenty of obstacles which add to the fun. Nice climbs and fast decents with a couple of technical sections that i found a challenge to get through cleanly. Very good workout in a beautiful woodland enviroment. Great job Trailblazers!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 11/11/2006  -  Sean of Charlotte, NC
Route Taken: All of it as it has grown from about 2 miles on... great to see it here on our trails board...Great ride forward and backwards... 2 laps = 13+ miles
Opinions: Great flowy single track... constant pedaling required and a bunch of surprises. New trail so there are some soft spots. Trail is good after a rain normally within 24 hours. If you are looking to keep your legs turning and like tight trails, tight turns, and some obsticals along the way you will like this trail. More to come!!!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

Date Ridden: 06/17/2005  -  redrover of Matthews, NC
Route Taken: main loop, roller coaster
Opinions: I loved the main loop; the roller coaster was a great adrenaline rush for me, but I'm used to Francis Beatty Park. Wiped out on one of the hills and landed in what I think was some poison ivy. Had to adjust my handlebars as they were no longer in line with my front tire while swatting a horsefly, but no blood, so all is well. The main loop wasn't too difficult for me, but I kept thinking I was going to veer off one of the narrow bridges. At least if I had, there wasn't much of a drop-off. I'm looking forward to checking out the lake trail...great job Trailblazers, thanks!
Difficulty: Trail Rating:

 
Tarheel Trailblazers | 182 Saddle Road | Mooresville, NC 28115
 
DHTML / Menu by OpenCube